We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn how to cook delicious chinese dishes”

Black Sesame Kitchen Cooking Classes Market Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Class includes a cooking demonstration, a hands-on session, and lunch; 9-12 guests max, inside a traditional hutong kitchen.
Seville, Spain
2 reviews
“Learn how to cook delicious chinese dishes”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We live in Beijing and we have assisted twice to the classes (making dumplings and imperial dishes), It's amazing to discover how different chinese people cook than western people. All the dishes are very simple about ingredients but very tasty.

The teacher introduces you all the most common chinese sesonings in every class and teach you different techniques to cut the ingredients. All the time you feel free to ask and share you oppinion. The enviroment is very relaxed due to the groups are small. We enjoy a lot the class and even more the results of them, food was delicious...

The price (300RMB) is ok for a cooking class than includes the meal.

I recommend to everyone who likes cooking (and eating) to visit Black Sesame Kitchen.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank blancaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lesson and lunch”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Looking at the last few reviews I would agree that this is a great way to spend a morning, learning cleaver skills, then about the different ingredients used in Chinese cooking, then actually preparing lunch. If there's time Chef Wang will help you to cook your own dish as well! Fresh ingredients and an interesting mix of people, with a knowledgeable host [Candice on the day we went] and experienced chef, all contribute to a fun experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun, interactive cooking lesson”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a cooking lesson for imperial story Chinese dishes. First the location - very authentic hutong building in nangouluxiang, walking distance from the drum and bell towers.

Our cooking class was great fun - learning about the classic ingredients, as well as knife skills with Chinese knives. Then there was a cooking demonstration, and we got to eat the results! I went up and made one of the dishes (sweet & sour pork) by myself in the wok. Great fun! The food was fantastic, too.

Helpful?
Thank Laurence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cooking real chinese food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a great way to spend time in Beijing. I attended the stir fry and dumpling classes. I learned a lot in a very friendly setting with lots of conversation and advice. On both occasions the group was made up of people on holiday and people based in Beijing. The classes are small and at the end the group sit together to eat what they have cooked. I think the lessons are very good value. All the recipes are provided to take away together with a Black Sesame apron to keep.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank beijingcooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was just great!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I enjoyed every minute I spent in the tiny but cosy kitchen/dining room, and learned a lot of useful techniques that can be easily used at home.
I am definitely going to sign up again for another class.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Sesame Kitchen Cooking Classes Market Tours also viewed

 

Been to Black Sesame Kitchen Cooking Classes Market Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing