We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Ranked #69 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small but clean”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location to see how I imagined china - however the room was very little but enough for myself - it's was very clean - down point: no possibility to shower if you check out and leave your bags there till you head to the airport - great spot to stay

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_EPMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, General Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Emanuel P,

Thank you for taking the time to note a somewhat enjoyable and clearly memorable stay here at Shadow Art Performance Hotel.

I am very pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and also to let you know that your feedback has already been shared with all the staff. We are all very proud of Shadow Art Performance Hotel and it is always our aim to provide an unparalleled level of service to all our guests.

One again we Thank You and I look forward to Welcoming you back to Shadow Art Performance Hotel hopefully very soon.

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    154
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
102
193
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Really surprised the first sight we saw the hotel, it's so different from the 5-star hotels we stayed before, a real Boutique Hotel. The driver took us directly to the hotel from the airport, not difficult to find. Located in the local traditional Hutong, also extremely close to the beautiful lake area. You could see the real life in Beijing here.
Very impressive on the nice staff and interior design, the staff are always willing to help you, and they helped us book the train tickets and got us a taxi to the station, really friendly and helpful!
The shadow puppet show is amazing, it's just like the old Chinese movie, very interesting! You shouldn't miss it.The room is clean and well-organized, bed is comfortable.They provide the breakfast buffet, which is quite adequate.
We would definitely stay here again next time we are in Beijing,and we highly recommend it to the tripadvisor fellows.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Lisa,
Thank you very much for writing to trip advisor and to give the hotel a 5 star review informing fellow travellers. It's tremendously important for us to have your highest comments via tripadvisor for the comprehensive service we've been striking and the utmost satisfaction from our clients we are seeking to.

We'd also appreciate your positive feedbacks for our location. We can tell that the local taxi drivers are improving their services at the same time when we strive.

In addition, to stimulate our butlers, I will place your review on our staff notice board as your review is very much read by all our team and when we receive good reviews like this we only aim higher.....

In the end, I'd for sure take your invitation seriously to visit you in your stunning beautiful country and to see my old friend who I've been expecting since the minute she checked out ....

In all, all best regards back home! And please inform us when you are planning your next travel agenda in the near future. We'd offer our loyalty guests the best discount as to us, your are our most honourable friends.

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We chose this quaint hotel to be in the thick of the hutong area and that it is. Our driver was calling for reassurance he was in the right place and my husbands comment, was "Where did you find this place". It is perfectly located close to the lakes 1 min walk, the restaurant and shopping area also on the lake approx 15 mins. Our room whilst not large was clean and comfortable, the bed especially after the night flight from Sydney. Our room was tucked away in a corner, but very quiet. The lounge area was lovely with elements of chinese design, but very chic and tasteful. The plum juice was very refreshing after being out in the heat and the air conditioning greatfully appreciated. We ordered in pizza, then ate out by the lakes. Breakfast buffet well done for a small hotel. Little english spoken in the hutongs as one might expect. Hotel staff wonderfuly attentive and helpful. A big thank you for my herbal tea required to quell my travel sickness. This shopping area was very reasonable with better quality than seen elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear vagabondsydney,

We are profoundly grateful for your generous review about the location, room facility, service, and breakfast. Your satisfaction will always be the ultimate motivation of our dedication.

Since you've brought up in the review, I hope the herbal tea worked well in healing the pain. We were extremely worried when your husband came to us a prescription. Though we couldn't provide any aid for pain killing pills, we'd cater you as family with some 'home healing tricks'. It's also very considerate of you for being such supportive and all the understanding and cooperation.

Please do take good care of yourself when you travel around next time and also pay more attention after you got home. We'll at the same time stay in Beijing expecting you come to visit us again and give us another chance to take care of you as your personal butler in the near future. Just as you know, we'll never forget the priceless and irreplaceable experience with you.

In all, all best regards back home! And please inform us when you are planning your next travel agenda in the near future. We'd offer our loyalty guests the best discount as to us, you are our most honourable friends.

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Located deep within the hutong near the lakes, we spent two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Good points: we live here but they do hotel/airport transfers, perfectly located to explore the lakes and central Beijing, English speaking staff(!), western or Chinese Breakfast. Short walk to two Metro stations and the bus routes. Rooms have A/C bath, safe, mini bar, kettle, TV, wireless and a very comfortable bed. Lovely furniture and decoration and scrupulously clean. The Shadow show is just marvelous if too short. Down sides, tricky to find if you don't know the area well, no refrigerator in the rooms, no bar though you can buy wine at reception (spirits and beer in the mini bar but EXPENSIVE), the red wine is excellent, and no restaurant, there are innumerable excellent restaurants around the lakes, and they will send out for food for you, the pizza from Hutong pizza is superb, ask for the gourmet. Overall I'd give it a very high recommendation and we will be going there again, if only to enjoy the nightingale floors.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for a room overlooking the foyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Ray,
Thank you very much for taking time sharing your pleasant experience and well taken photos on tripadvisor.com with other travelling fellows. We are so much honoured to receive such a positive view on our butler service. I will place your review on our staff notice board as your review is very much read by all our team and when we receive good reviews like this we only aim higher.....

To be your most loyalty and helpful butler team, we'd recommend you the exquisite restaurants near by after you check in. In addition, we appreciate that you led such a high comment on our French and Australian fine wine. Please do honour us and come to visit when you start to miss the tastes in the near future.

On the other hand, we fixed a quite reasonable price of other beverages around 8-10 RMB/tin comparing with other 5 star hotels. :)

To sum up, all the best regards to you and your family, and please do inform us before your next visit so that we'll be expecting you in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiangkhouang Province, Laos
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in this hotel after taking the train from moscow. The room was not that big, but very nicely organised, good bed & shower (which was welcome after the train experience!) the location near the lakes is excellent, the subway is not far away. Very helpful staff, most of the staff speak good english and even some French! They helped us to book train tickets and gave advice on things to visit. Next time we go to beijing we will surely go back here!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijn-steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Marijn-steph,
Thank you for your great review about our boutique hotel. We're so pleasant to know that you had a wonderful staying here.
There are different types of room in our hotel, all of them are delicate and nicely organized. And our hotel is quite closed to the lake area, it's just 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. And as you mentioned, most of our staff can speak English, even our housekeepers are learning English. All of our staff are always willing to help the guests.
Thank you again for your lovely compliments to our hotel. We sincerely hope to see you in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team,
From Shichahai Shadow art performance hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

On first impressions the approach to this hotel can be of concern wondering where you are going. However the friendly reception and lovely ambience soon reassures you . We loved it here as able to walk to the lakes where there are several nice restaurants. The first night we made a mistake and went to the local restaurant area - not easy with little English on menus.
We found some nice local tourist shops on the other side of the lake - so explore over the bridge.
Room was comfortable and quiet in spite of overlooking the entrance lobby. Had a nice area for sitting and large bathroom with walk in shower and bath(small). Bed linen was rather strange as didn't fit - was too small
A few minor problems of maintenance - hooks falling off bathroom wall and bedside light switch kept switching itself on.
We needed help with the safe and air conditioning - excellent response to problems. This hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff were all very friendly. Very pleasant lounge area for breakfast and relaxing. Breakfast adequate. Decoration with local culture a feature
A welcome addition to the hotel would be a restaurant facility for snacks/lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend for something different.

Room Tip: We liked 20 with large bathroom and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Worcestershire,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate it. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed your staying with us and like the environment.

First of all, we are sorry for the problems of the room, we already informed the engineering department and fixed them as soon as we knew it. We also changed the size of the sheets. And we'll check the room more carefully during the daily work. Thank you for your suggestions, we would definitely do better and better. Hope you could witness our improvement next time you visit our hotel. And we really appreciate you recommend our hotel to tripadvisor fellows.

Wish all the best to you and your family. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team,
From Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I chose this hotel after the fabulous reviews! Many people had written its hard to find for taxi drivers. When we got to the airport we went straight to the taxi quiet and I showed the driver the address in Chinese. He called the hotel and we had no problem getting here! So much cheaper too than the private cabs approx 86cny. Our room was small but very comfortable. Friendly staff that are always willing to help and speak excellent English!
Great location, close to station and so lovely walking through the Hutongs! Breakfast is good!
Overall wonderful and would stay again! Beds are traditional but I've slept well so far!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Sam Tuddy,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write such a good review about our boutique hotel.
It does cast a profound and positive effect on the impression of Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel.

It is wise that you went to the official taxi directly and ignore the private cabs, because for the private cabs, normally they ask for very high price, but the official taxis use the meter to charge. And it's bright that you showed the address and the phone number of the hotel to the driver so that they can call us, and then get to know the way more clearly. This just make things much more easier, and it seems that it's not hard to find the hotel : )

Like you mentioned, the room is comfortable, and it is also characteristic. The staff can speak good English and are always willing to help all the guests. As you already become our VIP member, we would provide a complimentary rickshaw tour in the Hutong area next time you visit our boutique hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your positive experiences with other tripadvisor readers - we look forward welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,448 in Beijing
550 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#72 of 6,448 in Beijing
250 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#21 of 6,448 in Beijing
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 6,448 in Beijing
412 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,248 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Property: Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Address: No.24 Songshujie, Xicheng District | Beijing, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shichihai Shadow Art Performance Hotel hold a cultural conviction that we believe the true cultural beauty of chinese heritage should be preserved and we found a modern way for the world to appreciate the true beauty again.Bustling lives mask us from the beauty of nature. Through travels, we refresh our senses about culture and nature. We strive to inject life and cultural forces into our tourist sites.This is the first stop of your cultural expedition; the next one is to explore nature and the Beijing old city from Shichahai for new pulses.We are situated in the dragon pulse of Beijing, the most sacred site of Fengshui.Shadow Art Performace Hotel is located in the hutong district of Houhai. Here, its design brings you to a lakeside, over the waterfront, into hutongs, and this dwelling in a city district with waterscape and nature puts us back on the path to nature and reshape our heart to value respect and tranquility that go for natural environment and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing