We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, excellent staff, good show” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Ranked #69 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent staff, good show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Located deep within the hutong near the lakes, we spent two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Good points: we live here but they do hotel/airport transfers, perfectly located to explore the lakes and central Beijing, English speaking staff(!), western or Chinese Breakfast. Short walk to two Metro stations and the bus routes. Rooms have A/C bath, safe, mini bar, kettle, TV, wireless and a very comfortable bed. Lovely furniture and decoration and scrupulously clean. The Shadow show is just marvelous if too short. Down sides, tricky to find if you don't know the area well, no refrigerator in the rooms, no bar though you can buy wine at reception (spirits and beer in the mini bar but EXPENSIVE), the red wine is excellent, and no restaurant, there are innumerable excellent restaurants around the lakes, and they will send out for food for you, the pizza from Hutong pizza is superb, ask for the gourmet. Overall I'd give it a very high recommendation and we will be going there again, if only to enjoy the nightingale floors.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for a room overlooking the foyer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Ray,
Thank you very much for taking time sharing your pleasant experience and well taken photos on tripadvisor.com with other travelling fellows. We are so much honoured to receive such a positive view on our butler service. I will place your review on our staff notice board as your review is very much read by all our team and when we receive good reviews like this we only aim higher.....

To be your most loyalty and helpful butler team, we'd recommend you the exquisite restaurants near by after you check in. In addition, we appreciate that you led such a high comment on our French and Australian fine wine. Please do honour us and come to visit when you start to miss the tastes in the near future.

On the other hand, we fixed a quite reasonable price of other beverages around 8-10 RMB/tin comparing with other 5 star hotels. :)

To sum up, all the best regards to you and your family, and please do inform us before your next visit so that we'll be expecting you in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    151
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
97
190
32
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Xiangkhouang Province, Laos
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in this hotel after taking the train from moscow. The room was not that big, but very nicely organised, good bed & shower (which was welcome after the train experience!) the location near the lakes is excellent, the subway is not far away. Very helpful staff, most of the staff speak good english and even some French! They helped us to book train tickets and gave advice on things to visit. Next time we go to beijing we will surely go back here!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marijn-steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Marijn-steph,
Thank you for your great review about our boutique hotel. We're so pleasant to know that you had a wonderful staying here.
There are different types of room in our hotel, all of them are delicate and nicely organized. And our hotel is quite closed to the lake area, it's just 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. And as you mentioned, most of our staff can speak English, even our housekeepers are learning English. All of our staff are always willing to help the guests.
Thank you again for your lovely compliments to our hotel. We sincerely hope to see you in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team,
From Shichahai Shadow art performance hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

On first impressions the approach to this hotel can be of concern wondering where you are going. However the friendly reception and lovely ambience soon reassures you . We loved it here as able to walk to the lakes where there are several nice restaurants. The first night we made a mistake and went to the local restaurant area - not easy with little English on menus.
We found some nice local tourist shops on the other side of the lake - so explore over the bridge.
Room was comfortable and quiet in spite of overlooking the entrance lobby. Had a nice area for sitting and large bathroom with walk in shower and bath(small). Bed linen was rather strange as didn't fit - was too small
A few minor problems of maintenance - hooks falling off bathroom wall and bedside light switch kept switching itself on.
We needed help with the safe and air conditioning - excellent response to problems. This hotel has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the staff were all very friendly. Very pleasant lounge area for breakfast and relaxing. Breakfast adequate. Decoration with local culture a feature
A welcome addition to the hotel would be a restaurant facility for snacks/lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend for something different.

Room Tip: We liked 20 with large bathroom and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyfromOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Worcestershire,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate it. I'm glad to know that you enjoyed your staying with us and like the environment.

First of all, we are sorry for the problems of the room, we already informed the engineering department and fixed them as soon as we knew it. We also changed the size of the sheets. And we'll check the room more carefully during the daily work. Thank you for your suggestions, we would definitely do better and better. Hope you could witness our improvement next time you visit our hotel. And we really appreciate you recommend our hotel to tripadvisor fellows.

Wish all the best to you and your family. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team,
From Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I chose this hotel after the fabulous reviews! Many people had written its hard to find for taxi drivers. When we got to the airport we went straight to the taxi quiet and I showed the driver the address in Chinese. He called the hotel and we had no problem getting here! So much cheaper too than the private cabs approx 86cny. Our room was small but very comfortable. Friendly staff that are always willing to help and speak excellent English!
Great location, close to station and so lovely walking through the Hutongs! Breakfast is good!
Overall wonderful and would stay again! Beds are traditional but I've slept well so far!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Sam Tuddy,

Thank you very much for taking the time and write such a good review about our boutique hotel.
It does cast a profound and positive effect on the impression of Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel.

It is wise that you went to the official taxi directly and ignore the private cabs, because for the private cabs, normally they ask for very high price, but the official taxis use the meter to charge. And it's bright that you showed the address and the phone number of the hotel to the driver so that they can call us, and then get to know the way more clearly. This just make things much more easier, and it seems that it's not hard to find the hotel : )

Like you mentioned, the room is comfortable, and it is also characteristic. The staff can speak good English and are always willing to help all the guests. As you already become our VIP member, we would provide a complimentary rickshaw tour in the Hutong area next time you visit our boutique hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your positive experiences with other tripadvisor readers - we look forward welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. You are in a traditional Chinese neighborhood and can walk around the narrow streets, watching people play mahjong, people on bicycles delivering large amounts of materials to a small business that purchases the materials, children going to school, guys drinking beer in front of their houses, etc. We had fun getting lost one evening but eventually found the place. We always felt very safe, no one paid any attention to us. We really liked room 210 on the second floor because we could watch the shadow puppet show from behind the screen. We could see how much work it was for the different puppeteers to control the puppets. I would definitely highly recommend the hotel and stay there again but my complaint is that the air conditioning was too cold which gives me a headache. Reception said it could not be turned off. The breakfast was just ok, white bread for toast, no non-animal protein for this vegan, but adequate. I usually prefer a hotel with a restaurant for dinner but reception was very kind to order take-out which was very cheap and delicious. I congratulate the hotel owners for putting their hotel in this lovely hutong neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaAnn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear LisaAnn,

Thank you very much for your appreciation of our unique location.
As you've mentioned, located in a peaceful hutong surrounded by local residence, our hotel is the best access for you to have a close contact with true Beijingers. One best benefit of living in these narrow alleys is that it will never be necessary to worry about safety issue when you walk down those streets even in mid night. According to some of our former guests, people even without any English background knowledge are eager to show their hospitality and friendliness on the street by saying 'Hello' to you.

Although we do not accommodate an interior restaurant except for the breakfast buffet, our professional butlers are always ready to recommend you those exquisite cuisines near by. You will be able to enjoy the harmonious environment and soft breeze on the way exploring the traditional local gourmet or snacks.

In the end, please honour us and have us informed in advance next time when you are planning your trip in Beijing. All the best regards to you and your family!

Yours loyal butler team
from Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel and its facilities/rooms are very clean and comfortable, the area is very quiet, and we think that we got a spectacular value out of our stay. The service was also excellent, and they have 24-hour staff on hand.

We also enjoyed the convenience of the breakfast, though the food itself was nothing special. It usually includes eggs (be sure to eat hard-boiled), little hot dogs, cereal, breads, various confections, and varying kinds of steamed buns.

Our main issue with this hotel is its location. It's centrally located but it's tucked into the hutongs, which are traditional, narrow streets. They can be a great cultural experience, but it's very tough for cabs to get in. We had to walk a couple blocks through the hutongs around midnight in the rain because our cabbie refused to go into the narrow streets. Be sure to plan around this if you choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room, ideally one that overlooks the performance hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DXLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Elunah,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write the feedback to us. We appreciate your compliments for our hotel, and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Shadow Art Performance Hotel.

We provide buffet breakfast for our guests, both in Chinese and western kinds. Also as you mentioned, we got varied kinds of options, and we would try to improve the diversity of the breakfast, hope you could witness our improvement next time you visit our hotel.

As the location, like you said, it could be a great cultural experience, actually it is one of our specification as a culture based boutique hotel. And we did received some complains of the taxi drivers, sometimes their attitude is really bad. You could call the reception if you meet this kind of situation next time, we would talk to the driver or arrange a rickshaw to pick you up then. As you are one of our VIP member, we would provide you a complimentary rickshaw around the lake area next time you visit our boutique hotel.

Thank you again for your kind review, and we sincerely hope in the near future, we'll have you visit us again!

Yours loyal butler team,
from Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Perfectly serviceable hotel in the Hutong in Beijing.

Be sure to ask to see different rooms as they vary in size and layout. The ones facing the courtyard seemed to be bigger.

The hotel was clean and the beds okay but what really made our stay worthwhile was the incredible service given to us by Sara at the front desk. She arranged for train tickets to be booked, reservations and taxis. Her English is very good and I really don't know what we would have done without her. Also, Lisa was particularly helpful and even stayed outside after her shift was over to ensure our taxi arrived.

Good service in China is hard to find but we were very impressed with Shichahai.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomSansalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Guest Relations Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Dom Sansalone,

Thank you for sharing such a positive review with Tripadvisor community. And we are so honored that you are satisfied with our service and highly recommend our hotel to Tripadvisor fellows.

Our aim is to provide the best service to our loyal guests, to make them feel that they are staying in friend's place.

We do have different rooms which vary in size and layout, but it also varies in price.The rooms facing the courtyard are the premium rooms with the biggest size. We would keep the premium room for you next time you visit us.

Sara and Lisa are excited to hear that you gave them such a good compliment , they said they would definitely keep providing the best service to all the guests.

All the best to you and please let us know your next visit, and we'll be expecting you in the near future!

Yours loyal butler team,
from Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#48 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#23 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#91 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Property: Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Address: No.24 Songshujie, Xicheng District | Beijing, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shichihai Shadow Art Performance Hotel hold a cultural conviction that we believe the true cultural beauty of chinese heritage should be preserved and we found a modern way for the world to appreciate the true beauty again.Bustling lives mask us from the beauty of nature. Through travels, we refresh our senses about culture and nature. We strive to inject life and cultural forces into our tourist sites.This is the first stop of your cultural expedition; the next one is to explore nature and the Beijing old city from Shichahai for new pulses.We are situated in the dragon pulse of Beijing, the most sacred site of Fengshui.Shadow Art Performace Hotel is located in the hutong district of Houhai. Here, its design brings you to a lakeside, over the waterfront, into hutongs, and this dwelling in a city district with waterscape and nature puts us back on the path to nature and reshape our heart to value respect and tranquility that go for natural environment and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing