We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Ranked #55 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in China for long time but never experienced the hutong before so it was nice to stay here surrounded with small houses.
Staff was very helpful... especially Sarah who walked with me to buy some medicine at pharmacist..

My only problem was that there are no good restaurants close by... at least 10 to 15 minutes walk... and the hotel does not have any food except breakfast...so I would suggest the hotel to do something about serving food and may be some wending machines.


Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank abhimany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, General Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel stay!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience. We however do apologize about the inconvenience that you had to face in regards to food.

The hotel is conveniently located to many good restaurants however due to alleys it could be difficult to locate.

You will be glad to know that know our hotel has now partnered with many restaurant in nearby location and offers delivery service in the hotel for guest who don't want to go out.

We truly appreciate your feedback & hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Nilesh Shrestha,
General Manager
Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 499 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Cleanliness: Pros: We have stayed there with our 14 month-old and never worried about overall hygiene
Cons: Staff needed some specificatons time to time; but they follow.
Location: Pros:The hotel is located right in the heart of Beijing. Fond walkers and especially cyclists can reach almost anywhere easily.
Cons: Subway line 6 stop is a bit far (8-12 min on foot); but I think a new stop for line 8 is to be added nearer..
Staff: Great, helpful.
Overall pros: great location, great design, great staff, clean spacious rooms, the shadow art performance, the bathroom..
Cons: Rather interesting payment system; when we checked in they asked for deposit and deposit (I think once for the room and once for the fixture) which came out to be confusing when checking out.
So its more like 4.5/5 rather than a 5/5

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BicerAhmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, General Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel stay!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Nilesh Shrestha,
General Manager
Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel recently. Finding the hotel in the narrow streets of a Beijing hutong can be a bit of a challenge, but its worth the 10 minute walk from the subway! This little hotel is an architectural gem. It's elegantly decorated with a mix of modern and eastern sensibility. The rooms are beautifully decorated, with a place for everything. We actually loved the location. It was amazing to experience the Hutong life. Everyday we would walk by seniors playing mahjong, cards or other traditional board games, watch people go on with their daily business, riding bicycles around the neighbourhood- transporting everything from water containers to recycling and loved ones. The hotel is also a short walk (< 15 minutes) to the Houhai Lake (which offers a serene getaway early in early hours of the morning and a mind-boggling selection of restaurants and bars after the sun goes down).

We enjoyed a nice hot breakfast every morning that included traditional eggs and Chinese dumplings and steamed buns. The staff was wonderful, and spoke fluent English. They were extremely courteous and helpful. On the last day when we gave them a bottle of wine that we never got around to drinking, they immediately returned the favour and gave us a beautiful shadow art piece. They are truly a class act! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Beijing. Skip the big fancy hotels and go for this boutique hotel if you truly want to experience the true Beijing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, General Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel stay!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Nilesh Shrestha,
General Manager
Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Prior to our stay in this hotel, we were staying in The Peninsula located in Wangfujin. We had wanted to experience staying in a courtyard within the hutong hence chose this hotel due to the excellent reviews.
In terms of price, this hotel cost about RMB 100 lesser than Peninsula per night during my time of booking.

The hotel is beautiful and located within the hutong which makes an interesting experience. However, I would recommend staying at max 2 nights as it's not very conveniently located. The nearest train station is about a 10 mins walk away which is not an issue during the day. However, the hutong is quiet and dimly lit at night. I don't think it's unsafe, but well, you never know. Moreover, taxi drivers are reluctant to drive into the narrow alley and most, if not all, did not know where this hotel is located.

We speak mandarin and have a local mobile data plan loaded with baidu map to help with navigation. We need to direct the taxi drivers how to get to the hotel and so far, was only able to get just one driver to drive into the alley.

The bathroom was also really small, it's still not too bad for us but it would be uncomfortable for someone of a bigger size. We stayed in the deluxe room and thought that the size was a little small, it was ok but would prefer if it was bigger. Hence if I was to compare the overall value, in terms of price, comfort, location and size, I don't find it value for money.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank fallenangel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, General Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel stay!

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had to face during your stay in terms of Taxi's Driver & Room Size.

The hotel is beautifully nestled in best Hutong area close to most famous spots including Houhai Lake, Beihai & Pinganli Subways, Traditional Beijing Nightlife and Restaurant for which most guest prefer our hotel to stay.

To curb the issue in regards to Taxi, we now offer mobile phones to guests and suggest the guest to call us so that we can explain the directions. It has been working well among the guest and so far we haven't encountered any guest problem with taxi.

In terms of rooms size. The hotel offers 3 different types of rooms, Regular, Deluxe and Premium. I apologize that our staff did not gave you the option of premium rooms which are bigger than deluxe and can cater towards the guest having the need of bigger rooms

We truly appreciate your feedback & hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Nilesh Shrestha,
General Manager
Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe room with a small window. The room is quiet, comfortable and clean. While we will rate our rooms as good enough, we thoroughly enjoyed the shows at 8pm on Saturday and Tuesday. The way the master moved the crane, butterflies and fishes, these leather creatures became alive in a poetic manner. If I return to Beijing, I will come back to watch these shows again.

We arrived on Saturday morning and chanced upon a flea market for old Beijingers next to Houhai (lake) near the hotel. It was great walk where we see people sell old trinklets, exercising, walking their dogs and fishing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eylit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, General Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel stay!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback.

We hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Nilesh Shrestha,
General Manager
Shichahai Shadow Art Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is a nice blend of modern and traditional. It is in a hutong area and so is itself fairly small. First, the room was pretty decent. It wasn't really four-star and it was fairly small, but it was nice and modern. There was some floor damage that looked like it was caused by water in one corner and I did not like that. The bathroom, although tiny, was nice and modern, which is a requirement for me when I travel.

The staff was very helpful and up to the four-star standard. They arranged a car to the Great Wall (although the driver didn't seem to know where it was, but I'm sure he was with a separate company) and were able to give us directions to things. The Shadow Art Performance is interesting, but doesn't add all that much to the stay in my honest opinion. The breakfast was very good. The number of choices was adequate. The biggest detraction is the location. It is a mix of good and bad. It is close by walking to the Houhai area along the lakes, which is one of Beijing's two best bar/restaurant areas (the other being the much more famous Sanliltun). But it is very far from a metro stop. My friends were complaining about it nonstop by the end of the week, so take that into consideration. While I was fine, I would have paid not to listen to them talk about it anymore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I wanted to stay in a hotel that's different from the usual international standard hotels and so decided to check into Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel. I am very glad that I made this decision. It is a very beautifully designed hotel, filled with oriental elegance. We stayed in a suite, which was a good choice as it is spacious and we could watch the shadow art performance from our room. (I would encourage first-timer to watch it at the hotel lobby though. You will enjoy the performance a lot more.)

I like the neighbourhood too. This neighbourhood has many old residences, such as the old residences of Mei Lanfang, Guo Muoluo, etc. It is also a short walk to the Houhai Park, which is a lovely park with many activities.

My aunt and I appreciated the warm service as well. We would like to thank Sara for accompanying us to the Sandalwood hotel nearby to see the lovely 'siheyuan' hotel.

Overall, a lovely hutong hotel that offers modern comfort. Keep up the good job!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,531 in Beijing
574 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#100 of 6,531 in Beijing
427 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,531 in Beijing
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#84 of 6,531 in Beijing
259 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,318 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Address: No.24 Songshujie, Xicheng District | Beijing, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $51 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shichihai Shadow Art Performance Hotel hold a cultural conviction that we believe the true cultural beauty of chinese heritage should be preserved and we found a modern way for the world to appreciate the true beauty again.Bustling lives mask us from the beauty of nature. Through travels, we refresh our senses about culture and nature. We strive to inject life and cultural forces into our tourist sites.This is the first stop of your cultural expedition; the next one is to explore nature and the Beijing old city from Shichahai for new pulses.We are situated in the dragon pulse of Beijing, the most sacred site of Fengshui.Shadow Art Performace Hotel is located in the hutong district of Houhai. Here, its design brings you to a lakeside, over the waterfront, into hutongs, and this dwelling in a city district with waterscape and nature puts us back on the path to nature and reshape our heart to value respect and tranquility that go for natural environment and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing