We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unique and interesting, small but charming with "Chinese shadow art" theme,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Ranked #65 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Taichung, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unique and interesting, small but charming with "Chinese shadow art" theme,”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Fantastic "chinese shadow art" lounge - library and theater. combine the traditional art with modern design.
I stay here in late April when the hotel was just opened, it was not so profect in many details especially service. But I am sure there are enthusiasm, comforts and cultural property. I believe it will be better and better.
The rooms are small but cozy, I spent most time at the lounge and restaurant, which are comfortable. The location are traditional Hutong area, just 5 min walk to Houhai, at night the lake side is beautiful and you can see the real local live images.

Room Tip: stay longer, try to ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliaLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    156
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
103
195
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Stayed here on a too short one evening trip where I arrived late in the evening and had to catch a 6am cab to the airport. Business colleagues thought I was crazy not staying in a 5-star downtown but gems like this hotel are precisely why I often avoid that route. Beautifully decorated hotel with a very friendly staff (who gamely struggled through very limited English). The sum total of my experience in the neighborhood was a late night meal at a restaurant in a business area about a 10 minutes' walk from the hotel and a 15 minute jog at 5:40am to the nearby lake, but it looked like a wonderful setting. As soon as I can come back to Beijing as a tourist, I will book this hotel and spend a day or two exploring the immediate surroundings.
Can't speak to the breakfast because I checked out too early and in too much haste. There was no food on offer when I arrived at 10pm but it was a short walk to an open restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Inmitten einer traditionellen Gasse (Hutong) und direkt am Hou Hai gelegen, ist nicht nur die architektonische Gestalt des Hotels aufregend, sondern auch der Standort.
Die Gegend des Hou Hais bietet viele Moeglichkeiten des Kennenlernens von Beijing (per Rad, per Rikscha, zu Fuss, per Boot). Die Gegend ist die Altstadt Beijings, die gerade einmal 0,3% der gesamten Stadt ausmacht.
Ein traditionelles Hofhaus wurde zu diesem Hotel umgestaltet; der Hof bildet den Mittelpunkt der 25 Zimmer umfassenden Hotelanlage, in dem abendlich eine Performance des tradtionellen chinesischen Schattenspiels stattfindet: ein tolles Erlebnis!
Die schoenen, nach chinesischen Operncharakteren gestaltete Zimmer, sind durch den tollen Service sind komfortabel und stets sauber!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

I stayed at Shadow Art Performance Hotel with my father for 6 nights. We were totally impressed the moment we stepped through the beautiful wooden door -the place is an extraordinary example of tasteful and classic Chinese interior design. The lobby area is bright and very relaxing, it provides a nice break from the busy and sometimes noisy outside world of Beijing. The rooms were great too, big comfy beds, great bathrooms and it was all neatly cleaned every day.

Sometimes they put up shadow art plays in the lobby area (hence the name of the hotel), which is an old Chinese art form. My father really enjoyed the play about the bird and the turtle ;)

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's situated in the heart of a typical Beijing hutong (those areas with narrow streets and old courtyard houses), and walking around in the lively neighbourhood at night is an experience itself. About 5-10 minutes away is the famous Houhai lake, with all its bars, restaurants and rooftop teracess.

The staff was very nice and helpful during our stay. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who's planning a trip to Beijing!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bxmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2011

my girlfriend and i both stayed at the shadow art hotel and both loved every minute of it. every request we had of the staff was dealt with professionally and quickly. the hotel is something to behold in itself, with the foyer area a really impressive piece of architecture and design, and the rooms follow in the same vein. the shadow art performance is an added bonus and a pleasure to watch, giving you a feeling for some real chinese culture. the location is also great, deep inside the hutong area and a short walk from two subway stations, it is an easy commute to anywhere else in the city. definitly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHIERobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
feng y, Manager at Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear RICHIERRobinson

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a memorable stay. We were glad that you liked our hotel and enjoyed the beautiful view from it. All your positive feedback was truly appreciated and will be shared with the relevant departments. Once again we look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to The Shadow Art Hotel.

Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#74 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#34 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#79 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel

Property: Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Address: No.24 Songshujie, Xicheng District | Beijing, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shichihai Shadow Art Performance Hotel hold a cultural conviction that we believe the true cultural beauty of chinese heritage should be preserved and we found a modern way for the world to appreciate the true beauty again.Bustling lives mask us from the beauty of nature. Through travels, we refresh our senses about culture and nature. We strive to inject life and cultural forces into our tourist sites.This is the first stop of your cultural expedition; the next one is to explore nature and the Beijing old city from Shichahai for new pulses.We are situated in the dragon pulse of Beijing, the most sacred site of Fengshui.Shadow Art Performace Hotel is located in the hutong district of Houhai. Here, its design brings you to a lakeside, over the waterfront, into hutongs, and this dwelling in a city district with waterscape and nature puts us back on the path to nature and reshape our heart to value respect and tranquility that go for natural environment and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing