We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Wall Box House (Beijing)
Ranked #3 of 1,421 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is not easy to reach via public transport, but it's well worth the effort. The village itself has gone through a big facelift but it's the surrounding countryside and the various sections of the Great Wall nearby that are the star attractions. The staff here are very helpful to guide you and the dinner served every night are a great delight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSFlanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 240 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had a great stay here. Staff is great, felt like home instantly, stayed for 3 nights and did some great hikes! Food is great, staff goes above and beyond to make you feel like home and the scenary and views are amazing! Dinner and breakfast included. You have to take 2 buses to get here from Beijing but the commute is not bad, about 3 hrs all together. If you are an outdoorsy person this place is for you! Thank you girls! It's Maria :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizoftheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We live in Shanghai and spent a weekend in Beijing with a trip to this wonderful establishment. We have two young boys and they loved the place just as much as us. The place feels like home. We walked the Wall, got lost after dark and got rescued by the wonderful owner who carried my son down the steep hill and through the village. I had read reviews on the great food and it lived up to expectations. We returned from our hike well after food was served but the cook was nice enough to make us a wonderful huge meal that we all loved. The driver they hired for us was great, safe and bought us Cokes. After staying here we continued on to a high rated hotel downtown Beijing and the Box House was by far a much better experience. If I lived in Beijing, I would spend my weekends here!

Walking the wall from the Box House was perfect. My kids are 5 and 8 and we were able to walk it even though many areas are steep or drop offs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Great Wall Box House has it all: a lovely staff who turned their twin room into one gigantic king sized bed for our family of four, wonderful vegetarian-friendly food, clean and comfortable (shared) bathrooms, friendly cats and wifi. The house is located in a picturesque and clean village, with access to a 1500 year old part of the wall and a 500 year old part of the wall. We hiked for three hours, and didn't run into any other people (except for the man who must have hiked all the way up to collect our entrance fee). Being all alone on the Great Wall was something I thought one could only dream about. We did both hikes with our one year old daughter in the Ergo baby carrier and our five year old hiked. We thought the short hike was much scarier in terms of how narrow the path was and how steep the drop-off. Don't get discouraged if the short hike gives you vertigo, do the long hike anyway!
(also: the starting points of the hike can be hard to find even. Take a left after you cross the bridge, continue until the path goes uphill. Halfway up that hill the hike, pretty much invisible, the short trail will start from the left, completely covered by bushes and trees, the other one from the right. Again, it's really hard to spot. Luckily someone from the Great Wall Box House walked with us. If you continue on the uphill path you will end up in a nice part of the town with nice buildings (no idea what they are).
We were only in Beijing for two days while flying from Australia to Europe. It was a magical experience to be whisked away from the airport by a driver arranged by the hotel for a two hour drive and end up in such a lovely hotel with the wall to ourselves. Highly recommended to everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoverRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

So, tight-@ss traveller, your first thought might be: "that's expensive for a hostel".

Upon arriving to: a hot hand towel; delicious welcome drink; offer of bottomless tea; clean healthy food; free communal dinner; great company; comfortable beds; AMAZING bathrooms; quiet atmosphere and the grace of someone's good sense to perch this quaint little guest house beside a very rustic, picturesque and peaceful section of the great wall; you'll be eating your words! Well, I was eating the vegetable/egg noodles and they're frankly delicious, so take your pick.

Take public transport there for the adventure, ignore the taxi hoons whilst waiting for the 25 minibus, or bargain a ridiculous rate - I accidentally got a very cheap ride (50YN) to the hostel this way.

Quick note: if you have light, long pants, I recommend them for the wilder parts of the wall. Some of them shrubs be thorny! Shorts are fine but expect a mild lashing.

A note to get to the easier track as a few guests got quite lost finding it:
Go across the bridge to the village, turn left, turn right at the signs that point towards temples, you walk up a small hill, on your right you will see a little yellow arrow, 5 metres AFTER that, the trek begins!

Room Tip: The private rooms looked lovely but beyond my budget. Dorm room bed was COMFORTABLE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is my 2nd time to visit The Great Wall Box House after 9 months. This is the best getaway if you are tired of the traffic jam in Beijing and need to find a beautiful yet natural place to stay. The Great Wall Box House is at Gubeikou Village in the middle of the wild Great Wall. From my family room, we can see the Great Wall right in front of the window.
In summer, there are lots of flowers in the garden, we feel brightened right after entering the house. The price includes dinner which is made by the in house cooker who has worked with the owner for 5 years. We love the cold noodle, Toufu, Veg dishes and Chinese bread she made for us. Nearly all the vegs grow from their farm.
The funny thing is the owner loves the Piano Sonata from Chopin, you can listen to the music even when you brush your teeth in the shared bathroom. He is also a cat lover.
This part of the Great Wall is the best I have even climbed which is still accessible from Beijing by car or bus. It took us one and half hours to get here by car and the other 2 friends took No.980 bus to Miyun Station and then asked for the taxi driver introduced by the Great Wall Box House to pick them up.
Overall, it was a wonderful getaway for travelers who want to experience a different part of the Great Wall.

Room Tip: Book in advance as the Great Wall Box House can accommodate only 16 guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PalomaMeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My family had a wonderful stay at the Box House in May of 2013 and we hope to go back at some point. We have two young boys, ages 5 and 7 (at the time). We highly recommend a stay here for anyone seeking a peaceful excursion out to the Great Wall. One night for us wasn't long enough either, a weekend stay would have been perfect. Here's why:

Pro's
- Location to the Gubeikou un-restored section of the Wall which is very far from the big city, we had blue skies and very few tourists!
- The facility lends itself to relaxation and feeling like you've gotten away from it all
- The home made food for breakfast, lunch, and Chinese family dinner were all delicious (don't worry about searching for nearby restaurants) but none of them were free for us as other reviews indicated. Perhaps it was a recent deal.
- The very friendly staff was always there to help out
- Though the price wasn't cheap it was very good value for money in my opinion

Con's
- The beds and pillows were too firm for my comfort
- Could have used more information and guidance before going on our Wall hike since we weren't bringing a guide
- The Gubeikou section of the Wall has no safety precautions in place so I wouldn't recommend it for young children (though mine was 5 and did well) nor anyone that would have difficulty walking on a 2 meter wide loose rock wall with long drops on both sides. There's also some steep loose rock stairs to climb.

Room Tip: There were only 7 rooms available and I expect that all 7 are just as good as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,568 in Beijing
585 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,421 in Beijing
108 reviews
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,421 in Beijing
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Flower Yard
#2 of 1,421 in Beijing
68 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wall Box House (Beijing)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wall Box House (Beijing)

Address: No.18A Dongdui Street, Gubeikou Village, Gubeikou Town, Beijing 101201, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,421 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $48 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Joe (Qiao), who is a big fan of the Great Wall. I moved to Gubeikou Great Wall after traveling to lots of different types of the Great Wall: 1, Gubeikou Great Wall is the wild wall connected with Jinshanling Great Wall and Simatai Great Wall. 2, Our house is located in the countryside, not in DOWNTOWN Beijing. 3, If you want to experience REAL and WILD Great Wall, Gubeikou is the one what you must do. Situated in Gu Bei Kou, just 50-metres away from the Great Wall, this friendly house features modern architecture, as well as free Wi-Fi and free parking. Featuring stone walls and wooden furnishings, heated rooms come with Great Wall views. There are shared bathroom and heated toilet facilities in the courtyard. There are private rooms with an iPod docking station, electric kettle and en suite bathrooms available. The Great Wall Box House (Beijing) offers outdoor seating in the courtyard, a kitchen and a common dining area. Local Chinese dishes are cooked daily by the property. It is 3 km to Gu Bei Kou Railway Station and 100 km to Beijing International Airport from The Great Wall Box House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Wall Box House (Beijing) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing