We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think the staff really make this a great place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Courtyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #189 of 6,437 Hotels in Beijing
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I think the staff really make this a great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I had a wonderful time at this hotel and I can say it was the best hotel of my trip. The staff are really great and super helpful - they really do go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and give you travel tips.
I can recommend the Chinese breakfast too - it was superb. Other meals in the hotel are also really great as they have a talented cook.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and is located pretty close to the subway.
The neighbourhood is really safe - we were out till the early hours of the morning and felt safe at all times.
The area is really nice and has some great places to eat nearby - ask the staff!! I can also recommend the fruit tea (shui guo cha) at the Tibetan tea house on the corner of the block near Andingmen rd - it's like going home for tea!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    28
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
27
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

The hotel is well hidden in the middle of a hutong with a not-so-great location for travelling around the city. But if you are willing to walk a while and spend time finding a taxi, then it is worth the money you pay. It's pretty and has a lovely atmosphere. Sound travel _really_well_ from the lobby into the rooms but if you're not a light sleeper, you'll do just fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Upon arriving at the street and walking to the hotel through an older, dusty neighborhood with public bathrooms and men sitting around in their pajamas playing cards my wife said, "I am NOT staying HERE!"
But as soon as we entered this charming hotle, we changed our minds. The rooms were clean and the staff was great. Soon, we were saying hello to the men in pajamas and enjoyed seeing how the real Chinese live in the hutongs.
Close to the subway and some nice gardens nearby. You will like this courtyard place as a marked contrast to the big, boxy hotels downtown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pittpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was great. The best we had during our 3 weeks stay in China. Very nice people, speaking English fluently and always ready to help you. Beautiful old house, beautiful rooms which are very calm and clean. We felt comfortable and happy there. Good Breakfast ( Chinese and European breakfasts home made) and you can eat snacks in the courtyard. Free internet connexion by wifi. Very convenient location, only a 10 minutes walk to find the metro. Beware of the taxis though... they may not want to go there, it's situated in the hutongs and not very easy to find. A good location if you want a traditionnal and comfortable hotel in the hutongs, we really recommend it !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

EVERYTHING!!! Stay at the Imperial Courtyard Hotel in Beijing! The staff is unbelievable. The rooms are phenomenal. Fantasic, peaceful and beautiful location. The Hotel itself is excellent, especially the wonderfully restored main building of the old cabin. We staying there 6 nights. After came back to Bangkok we already recommended to our familly and friends. One of my friend already make reservation stay there next month. We also stay there again when go to Beijing.

Room Tip: Executive Double Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spice_Gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Don't let the area around the hotel fool you. The Imperial Courtyard Hotel isn't the easiest to find and the neighborhood might not be where one would expect to find a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel, but it is! Don't be turned off by neighborhood. The hotel is down a small alley in the Hutong, but it's close to main roads (but far enough not to hear any of them), just mins walk to the subway (the best way to get around Beijing, and to and from the airport), short walk to shopping, banks, restaurants, the drum and bell towers, and a well kept secret, the Temple of Earth (counter part to the Temple of Heaven).

The hotel itself is very small with only 15 rooms. The decor and style is of traditional Chinese culture. It's both beautiful and in superb condition. The rooms are smaller, but cozy and have everything one might expect of a bigger hotel. It's true as some others have said in their reviews, there are no windows that face the outside of the hotel, but there are that face the courtyard in the hotel. They provide plenty of light and openness so you don't feel confined at all.

The staff is likely the best part of this hotel. They are very friendly and can take care of most things a travel will want. They arrange tours, mine was a last min decision at 10:30 PM and they took care of it for first thing the next morning! They are very young, but don't let this discourage you. Their English overall is as good as any you'll get in Chinese hotels.

One thing should be noted. The listing for the hotel I saw said free buffet breakfast. It's free, but it's not a buffet breakfast. It's a simple American style breakfast where you can pick any 5 items such as eggs the way you like, bacon, sausage, toast, etc. It's not big, but it's tasty and it is free. Other free thing include high speed internet, wife, and even use of their computers provided in the lobby. One might expect the lobby/courtyard to be noisy and make it difficult to sleep... it never was! I was there 4 nights and not once did any noises bother me.

The best parts of the Imperial Courtyard hotel were the very friendly and helpful staff and the close proximity to the subway station. Beyond that, the very clean and cozy rooms and hotel made it all that more special. But if you're new to this hotel, be sure to have good directions and have their phone number handy, just in case you need to contact them for directions. Once you're there, you'll wont be disappointed! Oh, and under USD 50/per night for a single, you get great value for your money! Bottom line, awesome little hotel and would highly recommend it.

-Fred

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeattleBestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hennef, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

This is my first time at beijing. My best friend she work with siemens china. She recommended us imperial courtyard and also she make for us reservation. When I am arrived that small street called in china hutong. I really disappointed but wnen we are in site of imperial courtyard my all disappointedness was gone. It's really amazing. Mainly traditional style. At rooms furniture architect work all is modern blend with Chinese tradition. This hotels all staff always smile face and everywhere very clean. They have lots of type Chinese food every night we really enjoy. Hotel arrenge for us great wall, city tour, kungfu show. There tour guide explain us all spot details. She is very professional. There complimentary breakfast is very simple. We order different breakfast from menu it's cost per pax 25rmb. Last night hotel gave us complimentary dinner with Chinese wine. At last we are very satisfied and remember our stay at imperial courtyard.

Room Tip: Executive double
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Talie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#174 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#112 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#132 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Traditional View Hotel
Traditional View Hotel
#522 of 6,437 in Beijing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#89 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Courtyard Hotel

Property: Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Address: No.16 Huayuan East Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imperial Courtyard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in Beijing, a city with a unique history and a magical aura about it. Imperial Courtyard, an 18th Century courtyard, having been totally renovated to the highest standards, now combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of today and offers the perfect environment for its guests relaxation and is the ideal accommodation for a “get away from it all” visit to historical and traditional Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Imperial Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Courtyard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing