We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comforts and amenities with authentic Hutong feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beijing Ron Yard Hotel
Ranked #465 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I am from the US, and this was my first time visiting China, and Ron Yard was my first hotel. The hotel gives you all the comforts and amenities of a nice hotel, with the authentic feel of a historic hutong. Very clean, heated, wifi, large bed, large bathroom, everything worked perfectly in the room. The hotel staff was very friendly at check in. My wife and I had 2 very heavy bags and the genlteman who showed us to our room insisted on carrying both of them. I don't know how he did it, must be a former Olympian. Everyone was very friendly the whole time we were there, and they had good recommendations on local food and transportation. The hotel is very convenient to Ping AnLi subway station, just a short walk down Huguosi. The location is great, a short subway ride to city center, and walking distance to Houhai and Beihai Park.

The hotel offers a breakfast which is okay, but I would recommend walking out to Huguosi to grab some street food or eat in one of the resturaunts there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 40 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great large bathroom, free wifi, airconditioning and comfortable beds ...... and all in a small (newbuild) hutong hotel.

It's not perfect (room cleaning and toilet paper replacement a bit arbitrary) but really to be recommended for its bathroom, location and closeness to Beijing's metro (exit ''A'' of Ping'anli station is 5 minutes walk away; if you're travelling to/from the airport by metro (27 RMB) with luggage note there are 2 easy interchanges with escalators almost everywhere but you do have a couple of staircases to negotiate). It's in a hutong warren so do set your GPS or print out a map of the local streets BEFORE you arrive ! Once you've been there finding it a second time is easy .... Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, Forbidden City within easy walking distance.

I've stayed in half a dozen large hotels in Beijing over the years (all fine) but definitely prefer the atmosphere of the Ron Yard hotel and its surroundings. Will make it my hotel of choice next time !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Amstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel itself was a bit hard to find, but once we had our bearings it turned out to be a great location. Cab drivers often let us off at the entrance to the street but that was OK. It wasn't a long walk. As mentioned in other posts, the hotel is an easy walk to the Ping An Li subway station. We enjoyed wandering the streets nearby. We didn't see any other westerners while we were there. The hotel was comfortable enough for our middle-aged selves. Our bathroom was huge. The staff's english wasn't as strong as advertised. We got by, however, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I read all of the reviews, and knew that this was a great place but hard to find. I had maps and directions, but I still got lost. I didn't realise how close Huguosi Street was to the Metro station, but that was an advantage once I knew. Getting from the airport via the Airport Express and the Metro was easy and much less expensive that taxis. I discovered that many entryways look a bit like alleys, but I eventually learned that the alleyways are level with the street. There _was_ a sign that said "Ron Yard" at the end of the alley running off from the street, BUT there was an even bigger sign for a new building that obscured it. And then the hotel is down a dead-end branch that runs off from the alleyway. But once there - WOW! What a great place. So be prepared to get lost, but along the way explore the Huguosi Street and its shops and restaurants. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcn_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

this is no means a deluxe property.

it's located in a traditional hutong, almost maze-like, but not difficult to locate, and just a short 7-mins walk to Ping An Li subway station entrance/exit, and past several local eateries.

the charming-looking hotel itself is set around a quadrangle courtyard, rooms were quite difficult to locate and if you got a 2nd floor room, good luck finding what seems to be the only set of stairs, and cleverly camouflaged!

got a single room and it was adequate, with a local flavor, bathrooms were not the cleanest, but rather spacious. don't expect any views from the windows. all you will get is just that a dusty yard.

breakfast was almost terrible and pathetic. the hot dishes were OK, but if you're not accustomed to having rice and vegetables for breakfast, you can settle for the dry bread and croissants. the coffee however, from a coffee machine was a lifesaver. it did make a very decent cup of joe. breakfast is not always included, and the attendant will ask you for a meal voucher in mandarin.

don't expect english to be spoken much.

free wifi is available throughout the property so this was a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikolosSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Loved this hotel! It's beautifully kept, and we felt very special, being able to enjoy its two courtyards. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and the staff was very helpful. I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesliegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel itself LOOKS great. But it has the feel of a computer generated architectural model designed by committee. It's NOT the real thing!

The level of service could be much better. Scrimp on the toilet tissue, they don't vaccum the carpets…which are filthy….the breakfast is over too early…at 9am…towels are not soft and seem very rough and cheap. The little things just add up to a less than 4 star experience in an architecturally nice (but "cold") environment.

The staff is helpful but lacking in any empathy and emotion. You know they don't really care!

This is NOT a 4 star or 5 star experience the way a Western traveller would want it.

That said, if you can get a "deal", it's not bad. Good location in a Chinese touristy area and close to the subway.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms have huge bathtubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#37 of 6,568 in Beijing
517 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#185 of 6,568 in Beijing
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Xidan
Kellys Courtyard
Kellys Courtyard
#64 of 6,568 in Beijing
239 reviews
Sofu Hotel
#76 of 6,568 in Beijing
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Ron Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Ron Yard Hotel

Address: No.63 Huguosi Dayuan, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $75 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beijing Ron Yard Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing Ron Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing