We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get the fried dumplings”

Mr. Shi's Dumplings
Ranked #19 of 12,643 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: email: laoshisj@qq.com tel:84050399 mobile:13161003826 BEST food we had on our entire trip!!!! Small, local joint near bell tower.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get the fried dumplings”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I arrived early 5.30pm to an empty restaurant but it quickly filled up! I enjoyed a tasty plate of fried cheese pork dumplings. The service was very friendly, the waitress spoke a little english which was perfect for my little chinese so she was able to help us with our menu selection. Very no frills interior but I liked the charm of this place. I probably wouldn't make a special trip to this restaurant but if I happened to be in the area, would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    182
    55
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to find and over priced”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The dumplings are good, the service is good and it has a nice environment. The map from Tripadvisor is wrong btw. Good place to eat something a little bit different, but is still over priced if you ask me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grafuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place for dumplings”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Its reputation is well deserved. Tasty food and hygiene appears better than many in this bracket. Authentic? Probably but I am not a Beijinger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid and Friendly Jiaozi spot”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Locals or people who think they're locals will complain that this place is expensive and not authentic. It falls in the same category as Bao Yuan Jiaozi..... it's popular for a good reason!

If you order cheese dumplings..... then yes, it's not authentic.... so don't order it!

I've been going here for 5 years, since I used to live on BaoChao Hutong..... it's true that the prices have gone up, but the food is still great and Mr Shi is one of the friendliest (and let's be honest.... business savvy) people you'll ever meet in Beijing. Kudos to him.

My advice - don't get too adventurous with your ordering, stick to the classics and make sure you order LOADS of guotie (fried dumplings) as they even taste great cold for brekkie the next day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The restaurant not easy to find. But it makes us more expected to eat. There are many different types of food provided. And the services are friendly and helpful. Just not enough tables for customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liketoeat d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Shi's Dumplings also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Shi's Dumplings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing