We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Ranked #113 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This was my first trip to china and I was skeptical of staying at a holiday inn. It shocked me how good it was. Nothing like the holiday inns in USA. Great location if you re on that part of the city. Marble foyer; clean updated and high tech rooms. The free breakfast Buffett an restaurant are fabulous. They serve both western and eastern food. I was very impressed and would stay there again if Iowa in that part of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelesq118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeijingMiaomiao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Google Translation
Je vous remercie vivement pour vos commentaires encourageants et espère pouvoir vous rencontrer lors de votre prochain séjour à Beijing.
Christian
General Manager (ext.6101)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    89
    24
    2
    9
See reviews for
7
14
4
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA GARENNE COLOMBES
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The place is not particularly great and not really downtown but this hotel delivers good service and amenities.
Rooms are well equipped, clean with international deco. Internet speed OK as well.
Beakfast is OK.
Was a good surprise. Will come back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TRUST_ME_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

GENERALLY:
This hotel exceeds expectation. After a wrong experience with another hotel, I really enjoyed the long stay here. The rooms are starting from floor #30, so basically it does not matter which floor you stay, you'll have a nice view.

ROOM:
Good view, really "king" size bed (with 2 types of pillow as usual in Holiday Inns), pretty good shower - (I loved the glass separator), furnitures and colors are chosen properly to fit for Holiday Inn style, you can feel yourself comfortable. You have an enjoyable sized LCD TV, a separate working desk, with wall connectors to the TV (HDMI, D-SUB + audio, composite, USB) so you have the possibility to connect your notebook if you want to. The "high" speed interned connection is just dropping down from ~100KB to 15-20 from 5PM in the afternoon so it makes it nearly unusable (if you visiting sites outside China coverage, in case you can reach the site at all). The sofa... I love it, nice to have rest, to read, to watch TV... The mini fridge contains all the beverage that you need, and has additional space if you want to put your own stuff. Complimentary water, tea, instant coffee, soap/shampoo/liquid soap/conditioner.

STAFF:
Of course this hotel is also a place where not everything can be perfect, but the staffs are proactive and tried their best to solve the problems (noisy door closure, electricity problem). The cleaning lady will knock and go inside the room to have the housekeeping done even if the Do-not-Disturb light on.
Some of the staff speaks English well and most of them are understand simple phrases, but sometimes it’s hard to communicate with the rest of the staff for a non-resident. Here I want to say thanks to Blake (at concierge) who helped me a lot during my stay as for helping me explaining a lot of things regarding travelling in Beijing and also to help getting taxi rides in the morning as most of the taxi drivers don't want/like to pick up foreigners from the streets.

TRAVELLING:
Taxi drivers are hardly find the entrance of the building, so in the rest of the time you have to guide the driver if you want to get off at the entrance.

SHOPPING:
There are some shopping mall and market nearby, so you don't have to walk too far to do shopping or eating (Go to Focus mall's Hot Pot Hot floor 4 don't miss it).

GYM:
I also liked the gym it’s not crowded at all. I have one suggestion to have there is to offer bottled water to the guests here instead of having the self serving water machine during running its fun to drink water from a glass/can. Breakfast is good.

CONCLUSION:
Overall i'm really satisfied with the hotel, it was recommended to me earlier and I’ll also recommend it as to all my colleagues and friends as to tripadvisor members and guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peking84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeijingMiaomiao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Sir,
I would like to express my deepest gratitude for your comments about our hotel: thank you for the time you have dedicated to us, thank you for your encouraging words and “understated” suggestions, thank you for being our guest!
Should you come back to Beijing, I would be much honored to meet you and why not?….share a good bottle of tokaji with you!!
With all good wishes
Christian Eyer
General Manager
Ext 6101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I had stayed at the Holiday Inn Wangjing previously when they just opened and enjoyed that visit. I was therefore quite looking forward to this stay and I was not disappointed.

The hotel is located in the Wangjing area. While I had no meetings in the immediate area it did serve as a good in-between for my meetings in town and the ones closer to the capital airport. This is definitely a business hotel as there isn’t a great deal to do in the Wangjing area: there is the Focus Square mall and a few decent restaurants and shops in the area but don’t expect the bustle and lights of main Beijing thoroughfares. The only drawback of this location is the traffic getting onto the highway from the hotel. On every occasion, it adds another 5-10minutes to your journey. Traffic coming back to the hotel was fine though.

The hotel occupies the topmost floors of the building (25-42 I think) which makes for great views of the surrounding areas and wonderful for people who love panoramic views from their rooms.

Service was very good as everyone genuinely tried their best to make my stay as comfortable as possible: wireless issues were worked on until resolved, the late checkout was extended till whenever I was ready (close to 4pm!), extra amenities, concierge and restaurant staff were very helpful. The staff would speak to me in English and I could tell that their level of English was quite limited. I speak fluent Mandarin so communication was not an issue but if you don’t you might need to be a little patient. In general, I would rate their service highly for what you are paying for and for what you would expect from a Holiday Inn.

The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. It was slightly tired looking compared to my previous stay though still decent and comfortable. You get the usual international cable channels, free internet and choice of pillows.

At breakfast, I was seen to promptly even though they were very busy (there was always 2-3 staff milling around the entrance to look after guests arriving). There was a good selection of food items at breakfast including some good healthy options.

Overall, another good experience at the Holiday Inn Wangjing and certainly a place I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, rooms will have more windows and better views. Most rooms are above 20 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golftravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akersloot
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very nice hotel at a convenient location for me. Great rooms, although the glass shower wall between the shower and the bed took a bit of adjustment....All facilities are present and the staff is very helpful.

Breakfast is nicely located in a special lounge for priority club members. Good quality breakfast.

All other bars and restaurants are too 'cold' to be nice; interior or service not my taste. Dinner at Chopstick Chinese Restaurant was terrible; took too long and the waitress did not understand English properly.

Happy hour in the Hi Bar was nice; but that was because of the company.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeijingMiaomiao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Sir,
I would like to express my deepest gratitude for your comments about our hotel: thank you for the time you have dedicated to us, thank you for your encouraging words and “understated” suggestions, thank you for being our guest!
Should you come back to Beijing, I would be much honored to meet you and why not?….share a good bottle of tokaji with you!!
With all good wishes
Christian Eyer
General Manager
Ext 6101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have lived in China long enough to know that a Holiday Inn in China is a lot better than in the USA or UK. But the quality of the rooms, the beds and the facilities are exceptional for a Holiday Inn, and would shame most Hiltons. As always in China though, it is not the hardware that is the issue...I had a very strange "discussion" around ordering a drink and some food in the Club Lounge after Happy Hour had finished. Rather than take my order (for which I was happy to pay) the conversation centered only on the fact that the free food and drink had finished for the evening. Eventually, after far more explanation than should have been necessary, there was a recognition that I was happy to pay was not EXPECTING free food or drink...just somewhere other than my room to eat it! Anyway, I sympathize with the HR issues of any company in China...but if you do not live here please have patience and tolerance of service failings...

Room Tip: The Club Lounge, whilst a welcome space, has a very limited range of not so well presented/heated fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeijingMiaomiao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience you had with us.
We are pleased to know that you have appreciated the comfort of our rooms. However, we are sorry that we did not measure up to your expectations in terms of service, please accept our apologies and you can rest assured that we are doing our utmost to strengthen our training.
Thank you again and should you visit us again, I would be much honored to meet you personally.
With best regards

Christian Eyer
General Manager
Ext. 6101
christian.eyer@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

After a previous disappointment this visit was excellent. The room was great, the staff very friendly and efficient. The position is between the airport and the city center which is where I usually like to be positioned for business trips.
I would greatly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kibbutznik_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeijingMiaomiao, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Your comments are very much appreciated and I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience you had with us.

I thank you very much for your comment and look forward having the opportunity to welcome you personally at the Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square.

Jessie Sun,
Public Relations Manager
jessie.sun@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing
Wangjing
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
#63 of 6,483 in Beijing
377 reviews
Wangjing
Donghuang Hotel
Donghuang Hotel
#615 of 6,483 in Beijing
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#49 of 6,483 in Beijing
264 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Jiuxianqiao
Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing
Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing
#124 of 6,483 in Beijing
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square

Property: Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Address: Building A, Fangheng Internatioanl Mansion, Building 3, No.6 Futong East Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100102, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Wangjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Beijing
#99 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#116 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square is the newest and tallest international mid-scale hotel at Wangjing’s famous business hub which is within walking distance to many multinational companies while surrounded by a wide variety of dining and shopping outlets. The hotel is the best choice for discerning business travellers, meeting delegations and those who enjoy the exclusivity of club facilities with a panoramic view complemented by a dedicated team offering efficient and friendly service. The hotel offers 275 beautifully furnished rooms including 61 executive floor rooms and 21 suites all located between the 30th and the 41st floor with great view over Beijing city and suburb. The lobby and lobby lounge, boasting stylish and contemporary design, both face a beautiful and quiet courtyard garden inducing a relaxing atmosphere. On the 5th floor you will find a 25 meters long swimming pool engulfed with natural light, exclusive steam bath and sauna facilities, as well as an exceptionally well-equipped gym.Dining facilities include an All Day Dining restaurant serving Western and Asian cuisine and taking the ‘cooking station’ concept, the Sao Paolo Brazilian Restaurant boasting authentic Brazilian barbecue; the Sunshine Terrace stylish outdoor dining venue for casual diners, the Chopsticks Chinese Restaurant offering a great selection of Cantonese and Beijing dishes in an elegant and comfortable atmosphere with spacious private rooms available. The HI Bar is a fantastic place to meet in Wangjing. A 420 square meters ballroom and 7 breakout rooms with day light and fitted out with state-of-the-art meeting equipments as well as an impressive boardroom with the latest in-room high-tech meeting facilities can accommodate all types of conventions, meetings, training seminars and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing