We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and clean, not four star services” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Ranked #97 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
398 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good location and clean, not four star services”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The location of the hotel is the best thing - or the worst, depending on your personal interests. While being very close to the huge Oriental Plaza mall and Wangfujing street, it takes a lot of time and effort to find any original and authentic Chinese street life and restaurants.

The rooms (we had a suite and a luxury double) of the hotel proved to be very well kept and spacious. Many of the advertised services on the other hand, like foot massage and top floor bar, were both closed, which was a disappointment. The quality and selection of the food items in buffet breakfast was great. For some reason, the omelettes made to order was hidden on the far end of the buffet behind some kind of silly screen. The staff had only limited English skills and for example when asking for airport shuttle service we got two different answers from two different concierges. Luckily we asked for a second opinion and managed to book a shuttle. Check out that you get the services you are willing to pay for, other than that, it is an ok choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarimalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    151
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
67
112
26
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Hotel is easy to reach in about 1 hour from the airport using the airport express and line 2 to Chongwen station. Although you can also alight at Dongdan station, which is nearer to the hotel, but this requires to change the subway more often, which is not advisable with luggage because changing subway lines means to literally walk through half of Beijing underground and carry your luggage over endless flights of stairs as escalators are a rare sight in China. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and they speak English very decently. They offered us an early check in for free and upgraded us to a larger room. So if you have the choice and can choose your room, take 716,816,... and so on, they are considerable larger compared to the other rooms. The room offers a lot of amenities including bathrobes, 4 different kinds of pillows,… . Furthermore the room is really clean and well maintained, the only troublemaker is the toilet which stucks very easily. From higher floors you can even see the Tiananmen Square. The only back draw of the hotel is that there is only a cable internet connection. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby, a problem for I Phone and I Pad users. As the hotel is centrally located in Beijing you can walk to the Tiananmen Square in 10 minutes and the next subway station is only 3 minutes away. The Oriental Mall is 5 minutes away and offers about 50 restaurants, from fast food restaurants to fine dining. You can also get western style bread there. The next supermarket that offers western style food is at Guamao subway station. To sum it up, if you want a centrally located clean hotel in Beijing, the Inner Mongolia hotel is our choice in Beijing and we surely will come back.

Room Tip: If you have the choice and can choose your room, take corner rooms with room numbers 716,816,... and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is very grand when you enter - the rest of it is good too. Room was relatively small (compared to the others we had around China) - but equipped with all the comforts we needed. Service was great - they ran around for us as and when we needed (phone credit, taxis etc.) which we really appreciated!

There is generally always someone who speaks English around, which we really found helpful. Didn't try the restaurants as the vegetarian selection (i was travelling with a veggie) was very poor, but some great restaurants in the area.

Its about 20-25 minute walk away from Tiannamen Square, and very close to two metro stops. Bus 111 stops right in front of it too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meereeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Personnel was very friendly.
Location of the hotel was excellent, it was too close to subway station. line 2 about 5 min and line 1 about 3 min.
Western rooms has better view and light.
Internet in rooms is not wireless therefore we had problem cause we had ipad and mobile. We had to go to lobby to have Internet connection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKAVIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel with my friend this Spring and it was a perfect base for our stay in Beijing. As two young girls, the hotel felt perfectly safe and comfortable in a somewhat alien environment! The staff were very helpful and welcoming from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. I had to run in to the check in desk when the taxi brought us from the airport to exchange a 100 note for smaller denominations to pay the driver (always make sure to carry smaller notes, the drivers never seem to have change) and the guy behind the desk helped me immediately whilst another member of staff collected our luggage and brought it inside. The paying system is really weird but no bother, they take more than you owe and then at check out they cancel the first charge and take the lesser amount.
With regards to location, there's an underground station about a 3 minute walk away that gets you everywhere you want to go and it's so inexpensive! No complaints there at all.
Our room was more than adequate in size, extremely comfortable beds and a good bathroom meant we were happy! You're provided with two complimentary bottles of water every day which was much appreciated. The only downside was the smell of smoke which definitely hung in the air despite being a non smoking room. It seemed well engrained in the bedding, furniture, the lot. But it wasn't a major issue and honestly Beijing isn't exactly the best place for fresh air anyway!
We arranged for a taxi to the airport at the information desk the night before we left, the guy was really pleasant and the car was waiting promptly the following morning so it helped make check out run smoothly. All in all, I would recommend the hotel and if I was to visit the city again then I would be happy here :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here in April 2012. Very welcoming and rooms are comfortable. Food and drink pricey by Beijing standards. Easy to walk to places to eat and drink, as well as public transport. Bus to Tiananmen Square is straightforward, but many places within walking distance. Staff very helpful and speak English - if you don't speak Mandarin! We liked it so much we came back and were given an upgraded room. When it's not too smoggy, you can even see the Great Wall, with amazing views over Beijing from upper floors.

Room Tip: Go as far up as you dare to get best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is our first trip to Beijing and after going through most of the hotel reviews, we decided to try this hotel and we did not regret one minute of it.

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it, from the rooms, service and food.
The staff here is very helpful and friendly and speak reasonable understandable english. The location was convienient as it was located close to shopping malls , Wangfujing streets, subways (5 mins walk) and small pocket of parks nearby.

My wife and I enjoyed the breakfast spread but can get boring after 5 days of the same stuff.
The subway was very convienient and cheap as it was only 2yuan for any one way stop along the line. We should have taken the subway train from the first day as the metered cabs here are quite difficult to catch as they don't stop anywhere along the streets, Beijing have strict laws against this. Be warn that getting a cab at night is a nightmare (after 5pm) and don't take those that park along the roads as these unsualy charge you an exthoribitant price.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone as the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff helpful and polite;making our stay here in Beijing a most memorable and enjoyable one. We will definately be coming back to stay at this hotel for our next trip.

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the direction of the main entrance for a pleasant view. They give 2 complimentary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Furfrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#70 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#92 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#62 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#89 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel

Property: Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Address: No.2 Chongwenmennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing