We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Ranked #91 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Quite a nice hotel & close to walking St but very few staff spoke English. Quality of food at breakfast & lunch buffets were acceptable but irrespective of time the food was always cold which ruined the experience. Be sure to get the hotel name & address in Chinese as we arrived from Xian on an overnight sleeper train at 7am, waited in a queue for a taxi for 80 minutes(yes 80!) & then the driver didn't know where the hotel was located( we had name written in Chinese but not address) so we drove around for 35 mins (& paid accordingly) only to find it was less than a kilometer from station. Hotel is close to mass transit stations which makes traveling around city easy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    157
    42
    13
    10
See reviews for
73
115
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

hotel is great,about 3 minutes from dongdan subway station.
rooms are big and clean.
breakfast is very good-western and asian food.
the only problem was the aircondition-it was working only on fan mode.maybe on summer it is fully fully working...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LALA_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Came for our honeymoon,got a "deluxe" room with a bad bad smell,like there was something wet in the room and a window has'nt been opened for a year ! Called reception and they have changed the room to a regular one.Well, this room was with a bad smell but not like the previous room. Besides the smell, the carpet had very ugly stains all over it. We were tired after our flight so decided to stay in the current room. We turned on the air conditioner and opened the window and hoped that the bad smell will be gone till morning.

The next day the privacy issues started:
We turned on the "do not disturb" sign on and left our room. When we came back, we saw that housekeeping was inside the room - new towels, new sheets etc. It bothered us so we called reception and asked them not to enter our room when the "do not disturb" sign is on! The mannager replied :"ok, we will not do that again". The next day the scenario repeated itself !!! We called them again, and again - "ok, ok...we will not do this again".
On the next day - a surprise - They did it again!!!! This time it wasn't even for cleaning. It was just to put a giant cookie!
NO RESPECT FOR OUR PRIVACY AT ALL !

There was another issue. A very big one! NO AIRCONDITION !!! After we saw the AC is not working we called the reception and they told us that because of a government law, it is allowed to turn on the AC only from 4pm-1am. At about 10pm, when we were SWEATING in our room, the answer this time was that from September it is not allowed to turn on the AC at all !!!
WEIRD !!!
We still have 2 more nights here. let's see what tomorrow brings...

Few good things:
Nice breakfast buffet, good location.

--- We have spent our honeymoon in Beijing in a hotel room with no AC and no privacy. ---

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Travelled to Beijing recently and spent 8D7N at this hotel. Booked through hotelclub and got a good deal for room & breakfast.

Prior to our arrival, I have called the hotel to inform them about my requests (they don't have email). 1) non-smoking room 2) higher floor 3) early check-in. I did not put high hope on no 3) because it's subject to room availability. However, this is definitely a bonus after a night's flight.

So, we arrived. Got all our requests fulfilled. :)

Word of advice, make sure you have full address of the hotel (in Mandarin would be good) as some taxi drivers don't know the place and they don't speak English. We have no difficulty reaching the hotel as we both speak fluent Mandarin.

The journey to hotel costs about RMB78. The return trip was a bit high as we travelled at 6am. (about RMB111) Always insist the driver to use meter for fare calculation.

Check-in was smooth. Our room was located at 12th floor, non-smoking and facing the garden. As smoking is quite common here, do expect some cigarette scent in non-smoking floor. But don't let this put you down. The room was clean, spacious and well maintained. The bed was comfortable, with air-cond at your service.

Breakfast was served at ground floor's restaurant. We were spoiled with choices ranging from Chinese, Western to Mongolian. We like the spread and had breakfast every morning without getting bored. The peak hour for breakfast is between 8am - 930am, come early or late.

Beside breakfast, we tried the restaurant called "Little Sheep" at 1st floor. This is a famous chain restaurant serving Mongolian style steamboat. It was a tasty meal but pricey. You can always try it else where.

The nearest subway station is Dongdan. This is the interchange for line 1 & 5. Traveling with subway is cheap, RMB2 will take you anywhere in Beijing. We travelled via subway to Yonghegong, Yiheyuan, Yuanmingyuan, etc. For safety reasons, you are required to scan your bag before entering the subway. You can buy the tickets each time you enter the station. It's faster to buy at the counter than machines as they are always out of service. We discovered that there were 2 exit C for Dongdan and it goes according to line. (not station) The one nearest to hotel is link to line 5. (see pic) The other one links to line 1. We were caught so many times until we realized that. Just want to share with you guys.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to those who want to stay near Wangfujing area.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the garden has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chang24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

It is a nice hotel.

The rooms are nice, very clean and the amenities are good. service is nice although the staff does not understand much English so although they are nice, helpful and well meaning it can be a challenge sometimes to get what you want.

My biggest complaint is the internet. wireless is only available on the first 3 floors and it is total crap. I only had mobile devices for this trip and it was very frustrating going down to the lobby every time. It is suitable to load emails but surfing the web takes forever and don't even think about uploading or downloading content even a few megs worth.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dheann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the Beijing leg of our recent Asia vacation and were looking forward to it based on the positive reviews here on TA. While overall, the hotel is a great value for the price, I wouldn't stay again.

The GOOD:

+ Nice location: In a city as massively sprawling as Beijing, being close to the major tourist spots was essential for us. This hotel is located very close to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City, Wangfujing and the Silk Market.
+ Metro access: There's an underground subway station one block away, about 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. From there, you can access most major tourist destinations within 3-5 subway stops. Convenient!
+ Room amenities: In room safe, free restocks of mineral water in the rooms daily
+ Breakfast buffet: The room we booked came with free daily breakfast buffet. The dining area was clean and well decorated and the buffet contained a nice mix of western and Chinese.

The BAD:
- Sewage Smell: Like other reviewers, our room smelled like sewage. It was the first thing I noticed upon entering the room and was coming from somewhere in the bathroom. We had to switch rooms after the first night because the smell was so overpowering and unpleasant.
- Cleanliness: This isn't a 4 star hotel by American standards. It's closer to a 3 star. While overall the room was fine, attention to detail in cleaning wasn't there. The carpets were dirty in both rooms and the corners and crevices of our bathrooms weren't clean (ie. the sink area and in the shower showed some darkened spots and water mold). Thankfully, they provide slippers so the carpets weren't a deal breaker.
- A/C: I read somewhere that hotels only allow use of A/C seasonally in China - not sure if this is true but during our stay, the room never cooled to the temperature we set. It seemed to function more as a fan.
- Language Barrier: The staff here speaks limited English. We never ran into too many issues because my boyfriend speaks conversational Mandarin, but be aware.
- No wifi in rooms: You can only access internet through a LAN cable in your room. This rules out browsing on tablets or cell phones which is a pain when you're trying to research and plan out your day. Wifi is available in the lobby of the hotel and in the dining area. I found myself browsing during breakfast buffet which worked out fine.

TIPS:

- Have the hotel name, address and phone number written down or printed (in Chinese characters) before arriving in Beijing so you can hand it to your taxi driver. If you forget, there is a Tourist Information desk just outside of the arrivals area where you can ask the airport employees to do it for you. Taxi drivers will not know this hotel by name so this is crucial.
- Get proper currency before the trip - Chinese cabs are cash only (tipping not expected)
- We hired a driver through the hotel who took us to the Great Wall, Ming Tombs and Houhai Hutong for 1000 RMB (about $160) for 2 people. The package originally came with the Olympic Stadium as our last stop but we opted for the hutong instead.

Room Tip: Some rooms smell like sewage! Switch rooms asap if you notice this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My three days at the Inner Mongolia Grand were totally hassle free.
Starting from check in which was seamless( always a bonus at 2.30am after a long flight), to booking buffet breakfast to check out, I couldn't have asked for more.
The room I had was a generous size for two people and very clean. If I had a complaint, it would be that some of the fixtures and fittings are in need of some TLC, due to age, but this didn't distract from my stay.
However for me, the main selling point of the hotel is its location; close to two subway stations, close enough to walk to the Forbidden City, if you are feeling energetic and surrounded by all sorts of eateries, from cheap street food to some great restaurants.
The staff in the hotel were all very helpful and my lack of Chinese language skills was no hindrance.

Room Tip: Front facing overlook the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#60 of 6,473 in Beijing
898 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,123 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#105 of 6,473 in Beijing
449 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,377 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel

Property: Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Address: No.2 Chongwenmennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing