We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of many markets”
Review of Yashow Market Beijing - CLOSED

Yashow Market Beijing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mainly designer's clothes, tailor with a large selection of silk and suit cloths. The market also holds some children's clothes and silk products. Mp3/Mp4-players and other electronic goods, watches, pearls and jewellery, some tea and tea-related stuff, Chinese ornaments and quite a lot of toys.
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of many markets”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I visited this market the 14th of August. There are 6 levels. Many of the clothes carry famous brand
Names, but must be copies at these prices. Bargaining is a must here and stand your ground, once you have made your offer. 30 to 40% of the asking price to start with.
quality is quite good if you choose wisely. A couple of hours here should be enough

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank harryv989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    78
    40
    19
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cheap tailors”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I usually go to a place near Dongsi subway station for my tailored suits, but I wanted to try a new place. So I went to Yashow Market.

Where I'm used to going you have to buy the fabric and then go to a tailor. In Yashow, tailors sell fabrics themselves. I guess that allows them cheaper prices, for I had 2 suits for 1200 yuans, whereas I usually pay between 800 and 1000 a suit.

But the suits look cheaper even if I took the more expensive fabric.

As for the rest of the market, it's the usual tourist trap, without the charms of the old open air silk market (what a disappointment when they tear it down and replaced it with a building). Go there for the pleasure of haggling, not for the products.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterLLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great "stuff"”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This market is much more pleasant than silk market. Expect to pay 10%-20% of what's initially quoted to you. I found that being super nice and friendly (and approaching bargaining like a polite fun game) pays off big time rather than playing aggressive

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“One stop shopping if you can handle the constant haggling”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Yashow market has pretty much of everything that you'll probably need in terms of clothing. While many pure Chinese oriented markets in Beijing offer somewhat lower prices and very poor quality, you can get at least a mediocre quality here, time allowing the careful selection of a vendor and the product. As a rule of thumb, when buying the regular stuff, you should end up paying somewhere around 20-30% of the starting price. Be aware though, that most of the items sold are pirated goods and act according your own code of justice.

Quality and value wise the best deals are offered by the tailors. If you want to make it easy and effortless, just take a few of your favorite pieces of clothing with you and they'll make perfect copies for you within a couple of days. I personally went straight to Wendy's, and I'm very satisfied with the quality and workmanship of the outcome. Hassle free and highly recommended! Tailors will also negotiate their prices, especially it you buy bigger quantities.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarimalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best foot massage on the 4th floor”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are in Beijing twice a year , they have a lot of fake/copy goods but my poor feet hurt after 2 hours of shopping YOU must go to the 4th floor it is cheap

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing