We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem with amazing staff”
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #33 of 6,461 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem with amazing staff”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

As a family we took three rooms and used the hotel as a base for exploring Beijing for a week. It is an oasis of calm set within the unrefined and unadulterated life of the Hutongs. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble - they even arrange for local restaurants to deliver food to eat in the hotel. Two things you must do - the trek the Orchid organises to the Great Wall that ends at Mutianyu but starts with a remote hill path to a part of the Wall that is totally deserted - and two, get the hotel to arrange tickets for the Chinese acrobat show. It might sound a bit cheesy but it absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: If you manage to book any you have done well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1601expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    91
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
76
249
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

What a beautiful surprise to enter this stunning boutique hotel
and what an incredible bonus - the breakfast was INCREDIBLE on top of a roof top that feels u r sitting in Bali - seriously impressive what attention to detail in every aspect even large bathroom
comfortable bed etc Well done on an excellent allround product

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I am sitting here in the room in The Orchid where my boyfriend and I have been staying for the past 6 nights and it has been such a lovely place to stay in Beijing. The most important things for us when we travel are comfy beds and quiet and clean rooms. The Orchid's beds are incredible and our garden room really quiet and immaculate. I'm not a fan of big hotels and we try and stay in small places when we can, we just think they are generally nicer. The Orchid certainly is that, it seems like the owners have thought very carefully about all the things they would like in a hotel and then created it. The whole place is very attractive, with wooden floorboards, white walls, plants, comfy sofas, nice wooden furniture and good air con. The breakfasts and coffee have been perfect for us, freshly prepared with just the right amount of food and available any time from 7am to 2pm, flexibility that was great when recovering from a long flight and a night out partying in Beijing. The staff have been friendly and helpful without being overbearing, so it felt very relaxed being here and it has really been like a home from home. The wi-fi always works and because there is a VPN we could post pictures of our trip on Facebook to friends back home. The location was fantastic and we found the place easily using their map and getting the airport express train and subway when we arrived. We have found Beijing easy to get around on foot and by subway and bus and found no need for taxis here. We did take a private car organised by The Orchid to Mutianyu and appreciated the convenience of that and the car had seatbelts and air con and the driver was fine, it seems like he is a regular driver for the hotel. I think it will be hard to beat this place and we will try not to compare the places we stay for the next couple of weeks during our travels around China with the Orchid. They, too have been selected after extensive research on trip advisor, but we have been rather spoiled here. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone travelling to Beijing and if ws ever come back this would be the place for us to stay. I have travelled a lot and stayed in all sorts of places and this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in, quite unique and just perfect really, but I guess it is my kind of place.

Room Tip: We liked the fact that our garden room was really private and nobody could walk past the window. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annettelesage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Have been staying here for the last couple of days, and it has been great. It really is a little tranquil oasis in the absolute craziness of Beijing. The staff are friendly and it appears that nothing is too difficult for them. We have organized an airport pick up which went perfectly and then a trip to the Great Wall with driver and lunch. Again I cannot fault this trip. Both times the drivers made up for lack of English with friendliness

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Interesting way to start my review but the coffee at The Orchid is fantastic. Better then anything I'd tasted in China and better then most cafes back at home. The other great thing about this hotel is the locality map given to us on arrival. It's always a bit of a lotto when eating in Asia but Orchid's map was so helpful it finding us fantastic, authentic, local restaurants. That and the coffee make Orchid well worth the stay.

Only problem is that we didn't get picked up from the railway station as asked as part of the booking. Small problem. Apart from that the service was pretty good. I guess the other issue (which can't be helped) is that it's not really that close to a metro. Probably a brisk 15 minutes which doesn't sound like a lot but it all adds up.

As a nice hotel: good breakfast, nice comfy bed, TV, free wifi and you can even access Facebook. The bathroom was good but just had a few problems like not being able to close the shutters and the toilet not emptying. But altogether not too bad.

Room Tip: The staff suggest the closest metro is Guloudajie but we found the walk from Behai North was a lot n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spannng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As soon as you arrive, the staff will give you a survival kit: mainly a local cell phone and a map with subway map, walking streets, restaurant and attractions recommended . You re more than ready to discover Beijing !
The hotel is small, quiet, personalized attention, very nice rooms, flowers in the garden..and could not be better located: in the heart of the hutongs, near the subway, plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. We felt as home
We asked for a guide –Joe- for a trekking to the Great Wall and was an excellent recommendation.
Just a word about Beijing: amazing city, easy to go around with the survival kit and people are lovely.
Best option in Beijing - I really recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VTT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you want to experience some real China, but from the safe haven of a comfortable hotel then this is the place. The hutong lane it is off is the typical chaos of daily life in Beijing - and can be a bit overwhelming if you're straight off the plane. Head for Mr Shi's - the best dumplings in town and a in a tiny alley way about 5 steps down on the opposite side of the road is the Orchid. This is an oasis of calm and friendliness. The rooms are comfortable and spotless and all the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. They provide you with a really useful map of the local area with all the best places marked and useful phrases in mandarin. Ask their advice on where to eat, nightlife, what to visit and arrange trips for you and you can't go wrong. We had the most amazing day out climbing the great wall in a non touristy section with a guide and driver arranged by the hotel, much better than anything available through the usual tourist channels or online. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: A couple of rooms have their own roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#74 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#79 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Property: The Orchid Hotel
Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 6,461 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid is the ultimate base for exploring Beijing from within. Situated right in the middle of all the action of the old city and staffed by some of the coolest and fun people, staying at The Orchid means you will love Beijing, and want to come back for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing