We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$164
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$73
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$118
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$211
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$418
$318
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$204
$189
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveler rating
428
100
23
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
100
23
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaochao hutonggarden roommr shi's dumplingsdumpling classshakshukabell towertiny alleynarrow walkwaylocal phonememory foamdrum towerprivate terracehutong areadumpling makingreal beijingunderfloor heatingother guests
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 557 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I agree with all the recent reviews. Staying here was like staying with friends. A glass of wine in the early evening to unwind, amazing breakfasts and really helpful staff. The location, at the end of a narrow alley hides a spacious sitting area and two cats who seem to laze all day. sit on the roof for the sunset or cross the alley for Mr Shi's dumplings. Why go corporate when its all good.here

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonWelshboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I can't recommend the Beijing Orchid more highly. It's a great little boutique hotel, right in the center of Beijing. A little hard to find, but if you contact the hotel beforehand they will send a driver to pick you up at the airport. The staff is incredibly helpful -- they booked us tours and recommended sights and restaurants. The owner, Joel, is friendly and smart and really went out of his way to make our trip enjoyable. He's also an ex-tea entrepreneur, so the assortment of teas in your room and in the dining area is fantastic. We ended up buying a few bags of tea that he pointed us toward. Which brings me to my favorite part of the Orchid -- hanging out on the terrace in the afternoon, drinking tea and chatting with the fascinating assortment of ex-pats and tourists who seem to gravitate to the Orchid. The place is a home away from home for a slice of Beijing teachers and students and entrepreneurs. We tried to make it back to the hotel in the late afternoon every day, just so we could sip the delicious tea and hear what everyone else was talking about. You cannot go wrong with the Orchid.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This little gem is just that, a gem. The staff are very accommodating and speak multiple languages. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy. They have television with a wide variety of movies which was helpful while I was sick for a couple days so I caught up on Chinese history. Staff even went to the pharmacy for me, looked up my departure terminal, provided instructions to taxi driver.. Location is close to many things including Mr. Shi's dumplings. Nice touch to have bottled wine available. Cozy dining area and reception. Hard to believe such a top notch place at the end of the alleyway. I felt like a spoiled guest.

Room Tip: Room with Chinese doors and lock was a little hard to open but very private and inviting.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarKalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We chose to stay at The Orchid because of the great reviews that we had read on TripAdvisor and i'm glad to say they can add another satisfied customer to the list. Some reviewers had said that the property was difficult to find and our flight arrived at midnight so we chose to take the hotel up on their airport pickup service. After a small hiccup with the driver being at the wrong gate, we managed to find him and headed to the accommodation. The room was clean, comfortable and had fresh fruit and Apple TV waiting for us. The breakfast was amazing and we were provided with a walking map of the area with some good food places, activities, subway map and some basic phrases in Mandarin as well as a local phone should we happen to get lost to call the hotel.

All of the staff were extremely helpful, called taxis for us, booked a driver for the day, spoke fluent english and were full of recommendations. The selection of wine at the bar is also great and gives you a chance to meet others staying at the hotel. Most travellers were American or European and its great to share experience and travel suggestions with them. This place is a great alternative to chain hotels and has a more friendly, homey feel about it. I recommend it to everyone!

Tips
- A taxi from the airport to The Orchid should cost less than 100 yuan and its located in a laneway directly across from Mr Shi's Dumplings
- You HAVE to try the cake for breakfast (pancakes)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roundtheworldin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a small Hutong hotel, more of a guesthouse. We stayed in the yang room with out own roof terrace. The room was lovely, with fruit everyday. The room was very comfortable. The hotel staff are very friendly, and there is a wine bar (with reasonably priced wine for china!)in the foyer. It's a very friendly and chatty hotel. Breakfast is great and included. Wifi is good. We travelled as a gay couple, and the hotel was really gay friendly. We met people there that had stayed many times before. Te location is fantastic. A little hard to find - but they offer a pick up service from airport or train, and that worked really well. The Hutong has lots of restaurants and is close to the bars of huahai lake, and to some funky shops. Fantastic location, wonderfully comfortable hotel!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank PaulSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews