We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$213
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$73
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$233
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$212
$142
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$103
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$420
$332
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveler rating
428
100
23
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
100
23
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaochao hutonggarden roommr shi's dumplingsdumpling classshakshukabell towertiny alleynarrow walkwaylocal phonememory foamdrum towerprivate terracehutong areadumpling makingreal beijingunderfloor heatingother guests
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 557 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This little gem is just that, a gem. The staff are very accommodating and speak multiple languages. The rooms were very comfortable and roomy. They have television with a wide variety of movies which was helpful while I was sick for a couple days so I caught up on Chinese history. Staff even went to the pharmacy for me, looked up my departure terminal, provided instructions to taxi driver.. Location is close to many things including Mr. Shi's dumplings. Nice touch to have bottled wine available. Cozy dining area and reception. Hard to believe such a top notch place at the end of the alleyway. I felt like a spoiled guest.

Room Tip: Room with Chinese doors and lock was a little hard to open but very private and inviting.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarKalada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We chose to stay at The Orchid because of the great reviews that we had read on TripAdvisor and i'm glad to say they can add another satisfied customer to the list. Some reviewers had said that the property was difficult to find and our flight arrived at midnight so we chose to take the hotel up on their airport pickup service. After a small hiccup with the driver being at the wrong gate, we managed to find him and headed to the accommodation. The room was clean, comfortable and had fresh fruit and Apple TV waiting for us. The breakfast was amazing and we were provided with a walking map of the area with some good food places, activities, subway map and some basic phrases in Mandarin as well as a local phone should we happen to get lost to call the hotel.

All of the staff were extremely helpful, called taxis for us, booked a driver for the day, spoke fluent english and were full of recommendations. The selection of wine at the bar is also great and gives you a chance to meet others staying at the hotel. Most travellers were American or European and its great to share experience and travel suggestions with them. This place is a great alternative to chain hotels and has a more friendly, homey feel about it. I recommend it to everyone!

Tips
- A taxi from the airport to The Orchid should cost less than 100 yuan and its located in a laneway directly across from Mr Shi's Dumplings
- You HAVE to try the cake for breakfast (pancakes)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roundtheworldin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a small Hutong hotel, more of a guesthouse. We stayed in the yang room with out own roof terrace. The room was lovely, with fruit everyday. The room was very comfortable. The hotel staff are very friendly, and there is a wine bar (with reasonably priced wine for china!)in the foyer. It's a very friendly and chatty hotel. Breakfast is great and included. Wifi is good. We travelled as a gay couple, and the hotel was really gay friendly. We met people there that had stayed many times before. Te location is fantastic. A little hard to find - but they offer a pick up service from airport or train, and that worked really well. The Hutong has lots of restaurants and is close to the bars of huahai lake, and to some funky shops. Fantastic location, wonderfully comfortable hotel!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank PaulSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel and its a true little gem in this historic quarter of Beijing. Close to lots of historic sites and a plethora of restaurants and bars, I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful and they've created one of the BEST maps of their area of Beijing, making exploring the area a complete doddle. Even easier with the local phone that they give to you, a lovely touch!

The rooms aren't huge and with 2 open suitcases and carry-on pieces and dead clothing scattered around the room, it was a bit tight, as was the small bathroom. I'm personally not a fan of the "memory foam" or Tempur mattresses that they have although, that said, I slept very well. We had our own very small outdoor area but it wasn't exactly an inviting place to be, particularly at this time of year. The hot water was a bit touch-and-go when we were there but the staff attended to the problem immediately. The hotel can be tricky to find the first time but then you can't miss it (opposite Mr Shi's Dumplings).

Breakfast was tasty and filling and the views from the rooftop seating area were a lovely introduction to Beijing's hu'tongs. It might not be a 5-star hotel and its a bit worn around the edges but we loved it and its an excellent little boutique hotel in a fabulous un-missable location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tazmaniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

First time to Beijing and found my hotel on tripadvisor. Like most of the reviews had a wonderful time. Great staff, wonderful breakfast and coffee. The location is very central and gives you a better appreciation of old Beijing being in the hutongs. Would also recommend making dinner reservations far in advance for Black Sesame Kitchen which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews