We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting, Relaxing and special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchid Hotel
Ranked #29 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enchanting, Relaxing and special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I used this hotel through the reviews on trip adviser. We stopped over on our way to Europe. For us its position was perfect. Close to a lot of attractions and with the locals.The hotel was more than we expected. A beautiful ensuited room. That had a king bed as well as Apple TV. Also the room was of good size. The staff were exceptional. Raffy and Joel were more than helpful regarding our needs. Breakfast was lovely. It was a personal experience for the two of us. We have booked in again on our return to Australia in October. Looking forward to our stay and dumplings in the cafe across the road.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    89
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
72
248
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

After six nights on the train from Moscow, The Orchid was an absolute delight. In a wonderful location in a Hutong, the hotel was a lovely oasis from the hustle and bustle of Beijing.
Breakfast was delicious, the staff were lovely and the beds were oh so comfortable!!
Mr Shi's Dumplings were very tasty and we used John Ping (find him on tripadvisor) for an affordable and comfortable private trip to the Great Wall.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank allob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hard to say something about what an amazing unique experience the Orchid Hotel is that has not been said!

I have travelled a lot and I feel that Joel has a great idea of what people want – little things like affordable phone calls overseas/ apple tv/ wifi!

The rooms have been well thought out and the design is simple but elegant – The Orchid is a beautiful boutique hotel with a lot of charm.

We really enjoyed the breakfast it was April while we were there and it was warm enough to enjoy breakfast with a latte every morning outside on the Terrace – simply amazing!

The vibe is extremely relaxed and welcoming all the staff were amazing with great suggestions – we enjoyed have coffee/beer/wine in the evening to unwind after all the sightseeing and it was great to meet other guests!

Must dos Nearby:
Mr. Shi’s Dumplings right across from the hotel – AMAZING!
We also did Black Sesame Kitchen – Friday Night Wine and Dinner – 10 Course meal nearby for dinner – That was unbelievable!
M Capital for Afternoon tea terrace overlooking the Forbidden City – Pavlova to die for!
Four Corners - 27 Dashibei Hutong – Heard the food was great but we were too busy have drinks in the courtyard!

Highly recommend and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TorontoTravelgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at The Orchid after arriving in Beijing on the Trans-Siberian Express. The hotel was the luxury we wanted having roughed it for the past 2 weeks! The hotel is right in the heart of Hutong so we got to see the real Beijing - we absolutely loved it. The hotel is perfect with beautiful little touches to make it extra special. The bed has to be the comfiest bed i've ever slept in with 4 layers of memory foam you just sank into it - amazing! The staff were incredibly helpful and helped us arrange tours to see the great wall etc and recommended places to visit and where to find the best night life etc Breakfast in the roof garden was an awesome start to the day and the food was great. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Staying at The Orchid Hotel, which has a great location within the hutongs of Beijing, was one of my best hotel experiences ever. It was exhilarating to walk the narrow lanes surrounding the hotel to the subway each morning to start my daily adventure in Beijing and to return in the evening to a neighborhood that felt like home. Highly recommend this small (10-rooms) hotel run by the very laid back Joel and very beautiful Youngcall along with their very capable and service-oriented team.

Room Tip: Had the "Lookout" room, which was very quiet (my #1 requisite for an hotel room) and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

The location in Baochao Hutong is so amazing. If you want to see the real Bejing, this is the best opportunity. The Hotel is lovely. The staff are the best in the world, thank you so much for your help. Until next time, greetings from Marco Ali Johannes&Michel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurvermelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The location of the hotel is great - the area itself is really interesting and is not too far from the Forbidden City and Tian'anmen. The room was very comfortable and the staff were friendly. The only downside was that reading their website, I was of the understanding that the Yin and Yang room is one room; it is not, there are two. One has a small roof terrace - the one I thought I had booked into - and the other has a small outside area with a prime view of a (100 year old) wall. They were largely hopeless when i raised this issue but that did not spoil an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pedig_1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Hotel

Property: The Orchid Hotel
Address: No.65 Baochao Hutong, Gulou East Street, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchid is the ultimate base for exploring Beijing from within. Situated right in the middle of all the action of the old city and staffed by some of the coolest and fun people, staying at The Orchid means you will love Beijing, and want to come back for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing