We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$73
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$118
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$206
$128
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$128
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$232
$226
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$418
$318
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$218
$207
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveler rating
428
100
23
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
100
23
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaochao hutonggarden roommr shi's dumplingsdumpling classshakshukabell towertiny alleynarrow walkwaylocal phonememory foamdrum towerprivate terracehutong areadumpling makingreal beijingunderfloor heatingother guests
Filter
Updating list...
385 - 390 of 557 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Fantastic time had at the Orchid. We were in a courtyard room which was quiet, good A/C and bed was very comfortable. Good choice of breakfasts that set us up well for the day (as well as proper coffee!). But that's not the real sell of the hotel - it's both the location and its team. It's right in the hutong, you actually have to go down a back alley to get there and once you enter, you're in an oasis. The location is phenomenal, very safe, excellent restaurants nearby and in the thick of an old side to Beijing that is quickly disappearing. But the team were just fantastic. Very engaging, always interested to hear how your day went and great tips for meals / bars. Oh, and Mr Shia's dumplings opposite is fab! The only very very minor improvement could be the Apple TV with a better selection of movies and more consistency with its service, but at the same time, thumbs up for being adventurous with Apple TV - a first that I've come across in a hotel!

Well done team - am sure this hotel will deservedly be a phenomenal success.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We recently spent six nights at the Courtyard 7 Hotel in Beijing and one night at the Orchid. We agree with the Tripsadvisor comments re the Orchid, it is a lovely hotel in the hutongs. However, we would recommend the Courtyard 7 as a better hotel.

Located nearby also in the hutongs, the rooms are much larger, it is far easier to find, it has terrific courtyards providing a sense of spaciousness and the food is as good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trishinthegarden51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just came back from a 10 night stay at the Orchid and it definetly lived up to all the hype. Joel and his team were absolutlely amazing providing us with recommendations for trips, places to eat etc, not many of the locals speak english so the hotel staff would right the directions out for in chinese so we could give them to the taxi driver, without these we would have been totally lost ! The hotel itself is right in the hear of the hutongs so you get a real feel for the chinese way of life. The rooms were of ample size, very bright, airy and luxurious overlooking a lovely little courtyard. There are only 10 rooms which is great as it doesnt get overcrowded and its enables the hotel to offer a more personalised touch. On the day we were leaving we had to be up at 5am, the hotel very kindly provided us with a breakfast, we didnt ask for one but got one which i thought was very considerate of them.

Best places to eat nearby :-
Taste (5-10 minute walk away)
Peking Duck Private Kitchen (15 minutes in a taxi)
Mr Shie Dumplings (right at the entrance to the hotel, cheap and cheerful)
Wriggly Jiggly's (5-10 minute walk away)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROOSTER1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I booked this hotel (in fact all our hotels/guides in China) based on Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. It's true that the Hutong is a little off putting, particularly when you are tired following a flight from the UK, but you soon find that it actually adds to the charm, and I never once felt unsafe. In fact we twice ate in restaurants on the Hutong (based on advice from the staff) and were not disappointed - Mr Shi's dumplings are wonderful, and the other was next to the Hostel - both very cheap and very tasty. The room was very comfortable (lovely soft mattress toppers) and really good shower. Breakfasts were tasty, with a good choice, and in fact the staff are so accommodating they even served different things to please some American visitors who didn't find it possible to choose one of the eight choices! Very friendly staff, particularly two French girls! Would strongly recommend!

Room Tip: Just read the room descriptions and choose the one that best suits your needs - we were in the Lookout and could see over rooftops, but it did involve carrying luggage up a wooden staircase - not a problem as we already knew about it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole_NorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

One of the highlights of our trip to China. A very very nice hotel, lovely staff, great location. It is not that difficult to find it if you follow the instructions they have on their website. Highly recommended, ended our trip on a high. Breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews