We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service.... what's that?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hangling International Youth Hostel
Ranked #167 of 925 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer service.... what's that?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed five nights here. Never again. We payed day-by-day, except they didn't give us a receipt on our 2nd day and sure enough on the third day they demanded that we pay them again because their records didn't show a payment. This argument went on for 3 days until we left. We didn't have a receipt to prove we were right but we had other evidence, which they ignored. We wasted hours trying to sort this out and basically being called liars. At no point did the manager make an appearance to sort it out and the staff we did talk to said they couldn't do anything for us. In the end we paid them more money to make the problem disappear because it wasn't worth the stress.

On top of all that, they gave us a twin room even though we'd booked a double. The bathroom tiles were literally falling off the walls. The air-conditioner dripped water on me all night. The location the had marked on their Hostelworld profile showed them in a completely different part of the city. No taxi drivers we tried knew where it was and they couldn't give clear directions to any of the three people we had phone them. It took us six hours to find the place. No, the staff don't speak particularly good english - not enough to sort out a problem when (not if) you have one.

The cleaners don't knock - one unlocked the door and came in while my wife was dressing. While my wife was grabbing for a towel the cleaner simply smiled and carried on emptying bins, etc, completely oblivious to the obvious problem.

There are other hostels in the area - save yourself the trouble, pay a few more dollars and go elsewhere. You really do get what you pay for here.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    9
    6
    17
See reviews for
1
14
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We planned to stay 2 nights ended up staying 6.the rooms are basic but everything else is excellent.theres a cafe which does cheap western/local/vegetarian food, cheap beers, a large lounge with pool table and huge tv with every film youd ever want on it,two lovely cats and 10 minutes from everything. Staff are so helpful and speak brilliant English. The Great Wall trip they offer is amazing! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugsncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

This place started off by deceiving me and showing the Leo Courtyard as where my group will be staying. The cleanliness of the first room I was in was atrocious! The ceiling was gross (moldy), and the room stank. The beds were rock hard, the bathrooms weren't clean, and my room was across the hall from the movie room, so I was able to hear loud drunks at all hours of the night while I wanted to sleep. I complained and asked to switch rooms. They gave me a new room, but it was still mediocre. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

The location of the hostel is very nice, and at first the staff seems friendly. But they openly lie to you if there's any problem. We booked a tour from them, with transport included from and back to the hostel. They waited for when we were sitting in the car to inform us that we had to find a meter-taxi the way back. It was a tourist trap, and we had to try 5 taxis to find one willing to use the meter, and we still had to walk 15 minutes to get back to the hostel. They lost clothes too during laundry service, and when we asked, they accused my wife of "losing it in the street." Extremely untrustful people.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ichabod15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

First impression:
We took a taxi to the hostel, down a very narrow alley, with a lot of rundown buildings. The door was wide open, and when we walked in, we were greeted by some of the friendliest people I've ever met.

**TAXI DRIVERS AND LOCALS STILL KNOW THIS HOSTEL BY IT'S PREVIOUS NAME**

Overall:
LARGE bed, private room. Bathroom/shower combo. There is a wonderful courtyard you can hang out in, and a bar on the 3rd floor with very reasonable prices - especially for Tsing Tao! Staff are very knowledgeable, and a couple of them speak English very well. Food is above average (especially for the price we paid). We went on a tour to the Great Wall for $260 RMB, but it included transportation to and from, a meal, and a tour guide. We branched off from the group and did our own thing.

The location is phenomenal. Leo Courtyard is right by the main night market, walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Walking to a subway station from the Hostel is extremely simple, and getting around is easy.

Room Tip: Great place to stay - very fond memories!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgiro403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Östersund
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Leo's hostel/ Leo Courtyard is very simple, but we would definitely stay there again. It is in the middle of the hutongs, you can not come closer to chinese everyday life in Beijing.

We stayed in a family room with four beds. Once in bed it is ok, but the rooms are very cold and the staff turns off the heat every time you leave your room. We had to wear winter jackets all the time.

The hostel has a nice bar, tv with dvd, pool table and tv-games. This was perfect for travelling with children and we all got to know chinese guests as we played the foot ball games etc.

The staff is friendly and speak English. Leo's is not a place I would take my 65 year old mother to, perhaps not the children either during the peak season (heard about many wild parties), but in November it was just nice, quiet and a good place to meet other back packers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmlindh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

Just spend two night in this bad bad Hostel.
The size of the dorm was okay, but the light had an default and could not be fixed, it made an buzzing sound when turned on. There was only a very small heater in the room, and the wall where very thin so it was impossible to make the room warm, i slept with most my clothes on. And the whole building was not heatet so everywhere it was very cold even on the toilet. The beds where very hard and there was only one toilet and 3 showers for like 15 dorms, and you cant use the shower before 11.30am.
The only nice thing was the bar, but it closed at 11pm so not so much fun there either even though the sign said 24 hour open.
The last night my bed broke when i tried to climp to the top level. And when i told the staff about the problem they wanted me to pay for the bed, that obviously was bad. And when i told them i wouldn't they tried to call the cops, but after waiting for 30 minuttes they gave up and let us go. Think they just wanted to scare me.
It is cheap but you can get much better for that price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael311293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Three Legged Frog Hostel
Three Legged Frog Hostel
#44 of 925 in Beijing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 925 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Qianmen Hostel
Qianmen Hostel
#17 of 1,292 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangling International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangling International Youth Hostel

Property: Hangling International Youth Hostel
Address: No.22 Shanxixiang Zhushikouxidajie Qianmen, Beijing 100050, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 925 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hangling International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Hangling International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing