We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Splurge If You Can” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aman Summer Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aman Summer Palace
Ranked #79 of 6,427 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Splurge If You Can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We visited Beijing during a very busy time, but within the walls of the Aman we got completely lost in the property's tranquility, luxury and grand sense of place. Yes it is expensive and yes it is not "real" China, but for just a couple of days we were transported back in time and able to take in a little bit of fantasy. The secret "back door" into the Summer Palace made us feel like we were staying at the Palace itself. The private movie theater where the three if us watched Raise the Red Lantern, sipped cool cocktails and munched on popcorn was a special treat. I never work out on vacation, but the gym here was amazing so I had to take in a Pilates class--followed by some relaxation and lounging by the indoor pool. Oh, and the restaurants were amazing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    73
    10
    7
    7
See reviews for
56
113
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a sensational property and you will be hard pressed to find anything better in Beijing. The location adjacent to the Summer Palace will give you a sense of staying in your very own palace with a back door opening onto the palace complex itself. The rooms were huge (we had a Deluxe Courtyard Suite) and deliciously appointed with beautiful furniture & that unmistakable Aman look. The building and the layout can feel a bit austere but I think is is appropriate in Beijing, the Imperial (& modern) Capital. The food was excellent (we ate in the Japanese/French fusion restaurant and the Grill) and the service, on the whole, was first rate. You will occasionally come across staff who's English isn't very polished and their mannerisms can feel a little cold and sharp but I find this often very normal in China and more often than not, the service is wonderfully warm and attentive.

We had an excellent itinerary put together by the hotel and a wonderful guide (Mae) was supplied who really made our excursions very informative and fun. My only criticism is that the hotel is far from the centre of town and our tour to Forbidden City left quite late, to avoid the shocking Beijing traffic, which resulted in us arriving at the peak of the tourist activity in the FC which was terrible. If you don't mind squeezing in with the locals, ask the hotel to arrange for you & your guide to travel to the FC by Metro and be there for when the doors open at 8am.

The spa was outstanding and the traditional Chinese massage was unbelievably good. The indoor pool is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful I've come across and worth a dip, regardless of the weather. The gym and Pilates studio are also amazing and private!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tazmaniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel supports a large staff and pays a big licence fee for its location. That means it is expensive in every way. That being said it is a little magical to go through the "secret door" straight into the Summer Palace.

The accommodation is lovely but other Aman's have better bathrooms. The staff is very good and set us up in the cinema for our own private screening of the Last Emporer feeding us popcorn. A wonderful if extremely expensive way to end 2 nights in Beijing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I went on a busness trip to Beijing and decided to try Aman Summer Palace. I've read too much books and information of Aman all over the world. It's just beside the Summer Palace and have
a private access to the Summer Palace itself. How often can a person say that they actually stayed inside the Summer palace? It was truly magical!Try going there early in the morning or right before sunset to have the whole palace to yourself.Design of the hotel is implicit but rich.The facilities were arranged in the basement,and those old buidings keep their original appearance. Became a Aman-Junkies after this trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed over a weekend before starting meetings in Beijing on the Monday. Location is perfect for Summer Palace and Great Wall trips - both of which were organised to the last detail. The property is unique in the city - with a "secret door" that leads directly into the Summer Palace at any time. Given how chaotic and busy it can get when the tours arrive, this is a real plus - and the feeling of walking around Kunming Lake either before or after the hordes is really priceless. The incredible underground complex that contains the swimming pool, cinema, gym and spa and other amenities is discreetly hidden and the construction quality is exceptional. Food was first rate (Cantonese in particular), no request was too small or too large, and we felt immersed in Chinese culture with calligraphy lessons and a chance to ride the fabulous retro bikes that they had parked in the forecourt over to Beijing University. Austere yet incredibly chic decor - carried through to the dress-sense of the amazing manager and her staff. If price is any concern, probably best to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at the Aman at Summer Palace for a week in July with my 14 year old son. I guess each traveller will have to weigh up cost versus the unique nature of the hotel. For me the uniqueness won. In a country not yet noted for fantastic customer service, the Aman staff are all well trained and happy to be of service. The architecture gives a feel of old China and the gardens are tranquil and beautiful. Another differentiator is the ability to enter the Summer Palace, located next door, at dawn and dusk (even have a picnic breakfast there). My son and I explored the backroads of this UNESCO world heritage site, long after the crowds had departed and it was magical. Knocking on the backdoor of the Aman after another circuit of the Summer Palace was a highlight. The restaurants were pricey yet served delicious Chinese fusion cooking. We also loved the cinema in the basement where we watched a private viewing of the Last Emperor, the day before we visited the Forbidden City

I guess you can really test a luxury hotel like the Aman when something goes wrong. It was not our original plan to stay here a week, we were in fact on our way to Mongolia. However my son suffered an epileptic seizure in the middle of dinner at the hotel. He had never experienced one of these before and I was very upset and unsure what to do. The hotel was exceptionally helpful during this crisis. They had first aiders on call immediately and quickly called an ambulence. The night manager accompanied us to the hospital and stayed for hours, translating documents and comments from nurses and doctors. The General Manager, Christine Hodder was also very helpful, getting documents couriered over from the hospital so that we could start a complex insurance claim. I was a little worried that after such a dramatic event we might feel awkward returning to the hotel but once again the staff were very kind and welcoming, putting my son at ease. He finally got to eat again the dinner that was disrupted by the medical emergency. I really can't praise the level of care and attention to detail enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrismcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at many average luxury hotels in Beijing but this was exceptional. We stayed 3 nights with two other groups of friends to celebrate some special birthdays and they went out of their way to make this memorable. Expensive - yes but an experience like no other from the exceptional guides, amazing remote Great Wall experience with a lunch location in a rustic location we will never forget. The dinner at sunset on the Wenchang Tower topped it off with amazing food from the executive chef. We would highly recommend Aman Summer Palace if you are prepared to let them show you something special rather than the ordinary. Our guide Jerry Mao was intelligent and engaging - highly reccomended. Apple who arranged our celebration was discrete and ensured everything was perfect.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank HaweaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,427 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
#35 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#183 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#5 of 6,427 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,427 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aman Summer Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aman Summer Palace

Property: Aman Summer Palace
Address: No.1 Gongmenqian Street, Yiheyuan, Haidian District | Summer Palace, Beijing 100091, China
Location: China > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 6,427 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aman Summer Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the East Gate of the Summer Palace grounds lies Aman at Summer Palace - the ideal location from which to discover Beijing. Housed in a series of pavilions, the resort is only 15km from the Forbidden City. A serene retreat, the property provides easy access to such cultural landmarks as the Great Wall, The Temple of Heaven and the hutongs, as well as Beijing's restaurants, art galleries and other contemporary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Aman Summer Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing