We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a taste of traditional china”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Wuhai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a taste of traditional china”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The staff is very profesional and helpful. it was the first time for my parents to be in China and they have appreciated the traditional chinese decoration and athmosphere. the hotel is well located next to the metro and tourist spot. The room are spacious and quiet despite the hotel is situated in downtown.
Just avoid one street next to the hotel where there is garbage storage, its doesnt smell and look good. The quality and diversity of the breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Emma r

Thank you for taking the time to write to trip advisor and to give the hotel such a positive review. I very much appreciate the fact that you appreciated the professionalism of our staff. I take note of your comment in regards to the breakfast. As you will see from the many review we receive it is an unusual comment as most guests seem to really enjoy this but nevertheless we strive to be the best and we will discuss with the restaurant team and chef.

I hope you took the opportunity to try our new noodle kitchen in the courtyard it seems to become more and more popular.

I am glad you made it home to wuhai and do hope to be able to welcome you and your parents back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

the Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    280
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
296
554
88
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

What a gem in the heart of the city. A stones throw away from everything and the MTR is very close by.

The room we had was over two floors! Incredibly spacious and quiet. Despite having a balcony that overlooked the courtyard, we weren't disturbed by noise once. I slept so well!

We also had our own patio table on the courtyard, just outside our room. We enjoyed the hustle and bustle with our own beer. Perfect.

The night market was hard to find. The place the receptionist highlighted for us was not the correct street and on our third attempt of getting there, we found ourselves amongst the hustle and bustle of an incredible night market (within walking distance).

We also had excellent service. The driver who picked us up from the airport was brilliant and we were at the hotel in no time, despite the Beijing traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe king size room... it was amazing and spread across two floors, which over looked th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expressiveelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Expressiseelf,

Thank you for your review about our hotel and informing fellow trip advisor users. Indeed we are in the heart of the city within walking distance of many of the main attractions. I am glad you found the night market and i have to admit Beijing can be a little confusing but I am sorry that it seems you were not giving the correct directions which i will find out as that is very unusual as it is a popular destination and we all know where this is but clearly we have somebody who is not quite familiar or a little language issue :)

I hope you also enjoyed our new courtyard bistro even though you made no reference to it and very happy to learn that you enjoyed our staff and the service we offer.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to our boutique hotel in the mean time I am glad you made it home safe to Singapore.

Warmest wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nervesa della Battaglia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

In this narrow hutong you would never imagine to find this incredible courtyard hotel. It's cosy but not at all small, rooms are large and well furnished. Everything gives you a taste of China, not only the noodle bar and hotel restaurant. The courtyard garden is a wonderful place and incredibly quiet. Walkable distance to some major attractions, easy and convenient for getting a taxi elsewhere. Good facilities and reading or resting areas. We would definetely stay here again if back in Beijing. A negative vote for the shower room which was roomy and stilish but not properly clean. Reception is quite happy to help you but sometimes I felt like they didn't know enough on the nearby services or options..but I guess it's not that easy in such a big caotic city! All in all, congratulations!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elefante p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Elefante P,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing such a positive review on trip advisor and inform fellow trip advisor users. I am ofd course very disappointed that we did not achieve or normal standards of cleanliness in our bathroom and I can assure you I will investigate this immediately as this is totally unacceptable.

Beijing is a huge city and yes there is so much going on. Our reception team continuously update their info but this city also changes rapidly and we learn new things daily but thank you for pointing this out it gives us another objective to strive to become perfect.

In the mean time I am glad you made it home to Nervessa della Battaglia in beautiful Treviso and do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel

Best wishes , Ciao

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

A really comfortable and pleasant end to a busy day of sightseeing. Our room overlooked the busy courtyard/restaurant and was a great place to have a tasty meal or just a glass of wine to unwind after a busy day. Improvements in service and quality of meals took place while we were there, new menu under new management that was responsive to suggestions. Overall a great place to stay that we will use again on our next trip to Beijing.

Walking distance to the Forbidden City and other central attractions.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear RodS

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to trip Advisor and inform travellers. I am especially pleased that you complimented our new menu and service which already has had a dramatic affect on customer satisfaction here. The noodles prepared fresh in our courtyard seemed to have become incredibly popular in a very short time.

You might be p[lease to know we have added more great value wines to the wine list in particular one wine from China which is simply amazing value

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future. In the mean time I am glad you made it home safe to the great city of San Diego.....

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a fantastic traditional hotel in Beijing.

The rooms are large and comfortable with a lovely bathroom.

Breakfast is generous with a good mix of Chinese and Western food.

The location in a traditional Hutong, is ideal with lots of places within easy reach, there is so much to see and do in Peking you will run out of time.

The staff are excellent, especially the young man that helped us late at night at check in, he gave excellent tips and wrote us helpfull notes in Chinese to hand to people.

There is a great court yard garden resturaunt and bar , we had a meal there and it was very good. The service is excellent.

Thank you Red Wall Garden for our stay in old Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Chisaust,

Thank you so much for this great review , it is very much appreciated by all of us here at the hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed the service of our staff and our night manager especially and i can assure you he is beaming at the moment ..........

Your point about our food is well noted and another acknowledgement that the new menu and food is working well. You might be aware that we only recently started this and the noodle chef in the courtyard kitchen is already very popular . The pulling of the noodles in front of the guest has already been on TV in foreign countries !!!

I am glad you made it home safe to Australia and hope you will be back to Shijia Hutong soon.

Best wishes from all of us at the Red Wall garden hotel

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Booked this hotel based on the reviews Service was pretty good staff friendly location was ok although did not feel very safe walking up and down narrow streets
Most popular tourist locations reqd either subway ride or taxi- difficult if you didnt get the right taxi

Room Tip: Courtyard room downstairs no elevators two lots of stairs to first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Con P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Con P,

What a shame that you only rated the hotel average because we do not have a staircase and that you felt unsafe and had to travel to go and see some of the attractions. As you now know all Hutongs in Beijing are narrow lanes and is very much part of the characteristic and history of Beijing and actually one of the main reasons people stay with us. All this is very transparent from all the reviews written about our little hotel. We actually have one of the best locations one can have, 25 minutes walk from Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, Lama temple, , 5 minutes walk from metro, Wangfucheng to take you anywhere in the city, you could not be more central. Of course if you take a wrong taxi anywhere else in the world there would be an issue. In Beijing taxis do not tend to drive into Hutongs as there is no chance for pick ups. This is a very large city so yes you will need to take a metro, cab or car like anywhere else so I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectation but at the same time a little confused what it is that you expected.

I also like to address the issue of feeling unsafe. and inform other trip advisor users it might be important to state that there is a lot of heavy footfall of people walking to and from our Shijia Hutong. It is a tree lined Hutong and houses some very prominent people including the only Hutong museum in the world. In all the time that we have been operating here we have not had one incident and all this is verified by many other reviews. In short I can actually let other people be assured that not just our Hutong in general all Hutongs are super safe day and night and is a must when exploring Beijing.

I am glad however that you seem to enjoy the staff and the service and that you got home safe to Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had a 5 night stay in a split level apartment fronting onto the beautiful garden courtyard in this Hotel. Not a problem with 3 in the room. Great service, great location, great room and in a hutong that might not be the most traditional but is close to shops, supermarkets and some classy wonton restaurants and to be honest just simply riding their free mountain bikes around the block and nearby hutongs each afternoon was GREAT!!!!! Great breakfasts included in deal that made our whole China trip. Loved Xian as well but out of 3 top rated Hotels 'Red Wall' was the best. P.S. Deal with Mark at Best-our.com. They have great drivers and cars.

Room Tip: Use drivers and let tour guides book your tickets to places as they get it cheaper and collect you f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Davenshell,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing a five star review for our boutique hotel. Reviews like your do help us compete against the larger international chains and i am so happy that you think you made the right decision.

Breakfast is included when booking direct and also we can pick people up from the airport if you stay 3 nights or more which are great incentives . wen now have 5 bikes at the hotel and I do think it is the best way of seeing beijing but than again i am from Holland!

It might be interested to note that we use one company for people making tours in beijing. We only charge a minimal mark up to cover our expenses but booking directly with other can be a hit and miss. I am glad all worked out for you but this is not always the case I can assure you.

In the mean time I am glad you made it home to beautiful Brisbane and hope that you will come back to us in Shijiia hutong in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,389 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,865 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,690 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,483 in Beijing
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing