We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
New World Beijing Hotel(Beijing)
$201
$179
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$362
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$159
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$188
$175
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$203
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prime Hotel(Beijing)
$120
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,388)
Filter reviews
1,388 results
Traveler rating
1,021
300
51
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,021
300
51
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshijia hutongforbidden cityboutique hoteloverlooking the courtyardquiet hutongtea ceremonyno elevatortraditional stylehutong areadengshikou subway stationbusy cityairport pickupmodern amenitiesour room was spaciousloved this hotelchinese disheswonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
840 - 845 of 1,388 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days based on tripadvisor recommendations. The hotel is in a quiet street in a central location. It has a traditional chinese style compared to an international chain. Our room was large and comfortable overlooking the courtyard. As it was our anniversary, the staff put a plant some food and wine in our room on arrival which was a pleasant surprise. The staff were very helpful and organised a trip to the Great Wall of China for us. We had breakfast in the hotel which was excellent as there was a wide choice of asian and european food . Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear BBM,

Thank you so much for writing such a positive review and inform fellow tripadvisor users. We take strive to be perfect at the Red wall Garden Hotel and it is always such a pleasure for all of us when we meet the expectation of our customers.

I am glad you made it home safely to middlessex and hope you will choose the hotel again for your next anniversary celebration. Again congratulations from all of us.

best wishes

The team at Red Wall Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were beyond impressed by this sweet hotel. Walking into it's peaceful courtyard from the busy Beijing streets was immediately relaxing. The rooms and lobby areas were beautiful. The staff was so attentive, and genuinely kind and helpful. We had especially good experience with Aida, Coco and a young waitress whose name I can't remember. They all went above and beyond to help us out. Several in our group had allergies and it seemed that every member of the staff remembered them, from stepping into the restaurant to recommending places to eat. As soon as we came to breakfast the first morning, the waitress immediately showed us what we could and couldn't eat. And the food was delicious - breakfast, lunch and dinner. Amazing fresh tomato soup, delicious fresh fruit and fruit juices. The first night I had an issue with the smell of smoke in my room. I told Coco at the front desk and by the time we came back at the end of the day the smell was completely gone, without a trace. I don't know how they did it. We were in the western suite, and it was beautiful. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Beijing. It made our trip so awesome.

Room Tip: Western Suite on the top floor was great if you're with a group. But keep in mind there's no elevator.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJM524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Whooooow "Beyond impressed"……… THANK you for writing such a great compliment and tell all fellow trip advisor users. I will certainly mention this to all the staff and in particular to the people you mention in your review.

We like to think we are one big family here and take great pride when people are so happy staying with us. You might be interested to learn that we will start our new Courtyard bistro menu next month with dishes from all over china and also have noodle dishes cooked live in our courtyard.

I am glad you made it home safe to Orlando and hope you will also inform Micky Mouse in the magic Kingdom of our little hotel :)

Best wishes

From everybody at the Red Wall Garden hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I justed stayed at Red Wall Garden Hotel for 5 nights and very much enjoyed it.

The location is very good & central, and very quiet at night. The hotel is in a small hutong, i had the window open at night and no traffic noise, no "big city noise", altought the hotel is in central Beijing. Dengshikou subway station (on line 5) is just a couple of minutes away. The subway is the best way to travel around Beijing. Wangfujing shopping street is about 10 minutes away, and its about 25 minutes to walk to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.

The courtyard of the hotel is a nice place to have a tea or a beer, and it should be great to have breakfast there in summer.

The rooms and the whole hotel are decorated in a nice old chinese style, with wooden floors, traditional furnishing and a lot of small details.

Breakfast is a buffet, with a quite big choice of chinese dishes and a smaller choice of western dishes. Some of the chinese dishes change every day, the western dishes dont, its the same every day. This is the only thing about Red Wall Garden that could do with some improvement in my opinion. It would be nice to have some cheese, and bread (other than toast), and maybe also change the pastries on offer. Also, better coffee would be great.

A big thank you to all the friendly and helpful staff at Red Wall Garden hotel. From the nice young man who picked me up at the airport, to the lovely ladies at reception (especially pennapa), to the very nice people in the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Nathalieyes,

Thank you from all of us for writing such a great review and inform fellow trip advisor users. All the things you wrote about the staff is what we take great pride in and I will certainly inform all the people and post your review on our staff notice board.

You might be interested to know that from next month we will be making fresh noodles in the courtyard cooked in from of you and trying to create that perfect chinese peaceful setting in the heart of the city.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to our little hotel in Shijia Hutong.

Best wishes from all of us at the Red Wall Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Loved this hotel. It is a little off the beaten track in that it is in a narrow side street (hutong) and not on the main road. But it is only a few minutes walk from Wangfujing Street (the main shopping area). Was welcomed in very well - indeed all the staff are really friendly and helpful. My room was large and comfortable, nice wooden floors and a vast bed, with a good bathroom and everything working as it should. The rooms are arranged around a nice central courtyard, just right for sitting out enjoying a cold beer. Good breakfast with a choice of Chinese or European, good coffee and eggs cooked to order. My only criticism is that the dinner menu is a bit limited but the food I had was cooked and served well. Overall much better than the bland skyscraper intercontinental chain hotels - actually felt as though I was in China. Next time I am in Beijing this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your positive review and inform fellow trip advisor users. It is always appreciated when people take the time and give the hotel such a positive outlook.

I like to explain to fellow travelers with regard to being off the "beaten track" I would like to point out that we are bang in the middle of Beijing ,within walking distance of the forbidden city and Tianeman Square and within 5 minute walk of Denchikou underground station which takes you anywhere in Beijing. It would be comparable to say when in London being located in Soho but want to be in Kensington as this is an enormous city like London.

In terms of the menu we have 96 items on the menu but we limit the number of western dishes to 6 as we want to offer a true chinese experience. You might be interested to know that we are changing the style of service and actually offer a new menu with authentic chinese cooking from the various different regions in China plus we will have live noodle dishes made in the courtyard. All will be saved in a bistro style environment.

Once again thank you for staying with us and i am glad you made it back save to beautiful Malvern

Best wishes

Robert .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here as a family with three young children and the staff took care of the whole family in a very professional, caring, friendly and personalised way - which made such a difference . We enjoyed the 'boutique touch' of this hotel, the typical decoration and functional set-up and its central location. We loved the fact that the room was big enough to accommodate us all. The food was great. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bea013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Bea,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing such a positive review and inform fellow trip advisor users. We are very happy that you acknowledge the fact that we try to take care of people;e as individuals and as families and i will certainly inform the team of this.

You might be interested to note that we will be introducing a new menu at the restaurant and we will offer Chinese dishes from all over China in a bistro style setting. We will also be preparing fresh noodles in the courtyard so exciting times ahead.

We are glad you made it home safe to paris and hope you will come back to our little hotel in Shijia Hutong.

Regards from all at the Red Wall garden hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews