We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Courtyard Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Berne
Level Contributor
323 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Lovely Courtyard Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I justed stayed at Red Wall Garden Hotel for 5 nights and very much enjoyed it.

The location is very good & central, and very quiet at night. The hotel is in a small hutong, i had the window open at night and no traffic noise, no "big city noise", altought the hotel is in central Beijing. Dengshikou subway station (on line 5) is just a couple of minutes away. The subway is the best way to travel around Beijing. Wangfujing shopping street is about 10 minutes away, and its about 25 minutes to walk to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.

The courtyard of the hotel is a nice place to have a tea or a beer, and it should be great to have breakfast there in summer.

The rooms and the whole hotel are decorated in a nice old chinese style, with wooden floors, traditional furnishing and a lot of small details.

Breakfast is a buffet, with a quite big choice of chinese dishes and a smaller choice of western dishes. Some of the chinese dishes change every day, the western dishes dont, its the same every day. This is the only thing about Red Wall Garden that could do with some improvement in my opinion. It would be nice to have some cheese, and bread (other than toast), and maybe also change the pastries on offer. Also, better coffee would be great.

A big thank you to all the friendly and helpful staff at Red Wall Garden hotel. From the nice young man who picked me up at the airport, to the lovely ladies at reception (especially pennapa), to the very nice people in the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Nathalieyes,

Thank you from all of us for writing such a great review and inform fellow trip advisor users. All the things you wrote about the staff is what we take great pride in and I will certainly inform all the people and post your review on our staff notice board.

You might be interested to know that from next month we will be making fresh noodles in the courtyard cooked in from of you and trying to create that perfect chinese peaceful setting in the heart of the city.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to our little hotel in Shijia Hutong.

Best wishes from all of us at the Red Wall Garden Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    266
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
277
520
86
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Loved this hotel. It is a little off the beaten track in that it is in a narrow side street (hutong) and not on the main road. But it is only a few minutes walk from Wangfujing Street (the main shopping area). Was welcomed in very well - indeed all the staff are really friendly and helpful. My room was large and comfortable, nice wooden floors and a vast bed, with a good bathroom and everything working as it should. The rooms are arranged around a nice central courtyard, just right for sitting out enjoying a cold beer. Good breakfast with a choice of Chinese or European, good coffee and eggs cooked to order. My only criticism is that the dinner menu is a bit limited but the food I had was cooked and served well. Overall much better than the bland skyscraper intercontinental chain hotels - actually felt as though I was in China. Next time I am in Beijing this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your positive review and inform fellow trip advisor users. It is always appreciated when people take the time and give the hotel such a positive outlook.

I like to explain to fellow travelers with regard to being off the "beaten track" I would like to point out that we are bang in the middle of Beijing ,within walking distance of the forbidden city and Tianeman Square and within 5 minute walk of Denchikou underground station which takes you anywhere in Beijing. It would be comparable to say when in London being located in Soho but want to be in Kensington as this is an enormous city like London.

In terms of the menu we have 96 items on the menu but we limit the number of western dishes to 6 as we want to offer a true chinese experience. You might be interested to know that we are changing the style of service and actually offer a new menu with authentic chinese cooking from the various different regions in China plus we will have live noodle dishes made in the courtyard. All will be saved in a bistro style environment.

Once again thank you for staying with us and i am glad you made it back save to beautiful Malvern

Best wishes

Robert .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here as a family with three young children and the staff took care of the whole family in a very professional, caring, friendly and personalised way - which made such a difference . We enjoyed the 'boutique touch' of this hotel, the typical decoration and functional set-up and its central location. We loved the fact that the room was big enough to accommodate us all. The food was great. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bea013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Bea,

Thank you very much for taking the time and writing such a positive review and inform fellow trip advisor users. We are very happy that you acknowledge the fact that we try to take care of people;e as individuals and as families and i will certainly inform the team of this.

You might be interested to note that we will be introducing a new menu at the restaurant and we will offer Chinese dishes from all over China in a bistro style setting. We will also be preparing fresh noodles in the courtyard so exciting times ahead.

We are glad you made it home safe to paris and hope you will come back to our little hotel in Shijia Hutong.

Regards from all at the Red Wall garden hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Gentle Chinese feel. Nice character building. Room was a double storey apartment on the courtyard within easy striding distance to restaurant. Suited our taste better than one of those gigantic new build hotels. We walked to Forbidden City and Tiannamen Square and to a local Peking Duck restaurant. Grub at hotel was fine - nothing spectacular but OK. Staff were all warm and welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Tom,

Thank you very much for your positive review about our boutique homeland inform fellow world travellers. I am very happy to hear about the staff making you feel welcome. You might be interested to know that we will be launching a new bistro style menu next month whereby the customer will be able to choose dishes from all around China.

I am glad you got him safely to Sevenoaks and hope to welcome you back again should travel take you to these Asian parts of the world.

Regards

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in Shijia Hutong, which is relatively central located. The typical Beijing courtyard with Chinese traditional decoration is definitely a sell here. The room was fairly spacious. Even though most of the staff here were down to earth and eager to please all the time. The not-so-clean bathroom was really a turn-off for us. My son loves the wood tub. Since we sensed some suspicious smell the moment we entered the room, I used the wiper to clean up before he climbed in. I was shocked to the the wiper was all darkened by mold. The wood floor was dusty which may be due to the weather in Beijing. So I cleaned up the floor. And the second day, with my presence, as requested, the cleaning staff briefly mobbed the floor within less than 1 minute. I gave up asking him to do it again and just clean up again myself. With a kid, I hate moving around for a short trip. But I still regretted that I did not change a hotel when my friend offered so since she booked the hotel and she did not like the smell of the room.
Breakfast buffet has limited choice but good and adequate enough for a good start.
Driver who took us to airport was super sweet and had good skills.

Overall, I am still choked by the sanitary issue of the hotel, especially when I am staying in a smaller size but spotless hotel room in Japan now. I don't think I may want to stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Xiafei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Xiafei,

Thank you for taking the time to write to trip advisor but obviously i am horrified to learn about your bathroom experience which would be totally unacceptable and i will deal with immediately. You will note from most of our reviews that this is a highly unusual situation but nevertheless no excuses. We know we are not perfect but i can assure you we strive to be perfect but and on this occasion we let you down.

You might be interested to know that with regard to the breakfast we will be changing the breakfast a little. On a day to day to day basis we will be changing the items so there is a change each morning.

I am glad you enjoyed our concept and our staff who do tend to make it happen most of the time.It is very rare our staff show a lack of interest or thoroughness. A shame we did not meet as I do tend to meet many of our customers and i could have hopefully rectified the situation much better. I would appreciate of you could contact me so i can learn a little more detail and discuss what else I can do.

Best wishes

Robert van Eerde
CEO
Hspot Hotels (China)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

I went for a free and easy trip with my family. Good location of the hotel. Easy to locate the places we wanted to go. The hotel service is good. All their staff always put on a big smile on their face. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: There is a free broadband internet access service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyToh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
This review is not for our Hotel and is misplaced. Much appreciated though!!!!!! We will inform Trip advisor about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is one of the nicest boutique hotels I have stayed in. The building is lovely, a Chinese courtyard hotel in the hutongs but very convinient location.

Rooms are tastefully decorated, a good size and comfortable.

What really makes this hotel is the staff though. They really went the extra mile to make our trip as enjoyable as possible.

Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear DPS

Thank you for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor and inform fellow travelers. We are very proud of our staff and although we know we are not perfect ,we certainly do strive to be perfect. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and hopefully will be able to welcome you back soon.

The Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage cultural entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor noodle stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The private dining and event rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for meetings, weddings or events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal meeting, wedding or event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense historical, cultural and artistic life of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing