We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Pincher Creek, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Lovely place and Westin at its (almost) best. Large rooms, wonderful interior and the location is modern Beijing but at the same time nice. Excellent Lounge. Only thing not so good is the lobby and the bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lampard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Lampard F (Chelsea Fan, I presume?)
Thank you for your review and for rewarding us with the top rating.
You will be happy to note that we just remodeled our lobby area and are updating various other public spaces such as the restaurant and courtyard area as well over the coming months. We will post pictures and progress reports on our official website and invite you to have a look.
Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    281
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
296
554
88
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Busan, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had a lovely stay at this charming hotel. The location was ideal, the staff attentive and very personal and friendly. They helped us a lot. The courtyard was great for us and our children and added to the experience. The atmosphere was great. Fantastic beds and comfortable rooms, although the day-to-day cleaning of the room wasn't as thorough as we would have liked.
Our only main complaint however, is the restaurant. Breakfast was fine, but the dinner was really bad and we wouldn't eat there again. We ate there twice, and both times were very disappointed. The food was not good, and the price was high, compared to the standard and other Beijing eateries. This was surprising and in contrast to the overall impression of the hotel. However all in all, a great stay that we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabethesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Elisabethesr:
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Overall, we seem to have hit the mark, but I do of course apologize for the subpar dinner experience you encountered on two separate occasions. Generally, we receive overwhelmingly positive feedback both on the Chinese and Western dishes on offer in our courtyard restaurant. But we obviosuly got it wrong in your case; therefore, I would encourage you to send me a quick note at stefan@rwghotel.com so I can understand exactly what went wrong in order to ensure this mistake does not repeat itself in the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience - I look forward to your email.
Greetings to South Korea,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Red Wall Garden is a 3 star (top) Hotel. As such I could say that it is a good and economical one. Is located in a Hutong and taxi drivers have some sort of dificulty in finding it. Trafic is horrid at school´s closing time. Subway is quite a long walk away but to compensate: very near there is one of the best restaurant in Beijing: the Dadong (10 min walk). Try the Peking duck there. Staff very polite and helpfull. One of the ladies at the front desk is a stunning thai girl very fluent in English. The decor is pure China, the rooms are spacious. Try not to get booked on the 3rd floor since no lift is available. Only view is on the central courtyard. If you get a room with a view to the outside be prepare for a sorrow experience.

Room Tip: try to book a room in the second door with a view to the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theddywerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear theddywerner:
Thank you for your overall positive review - I shared it with Pennapa, our Guest Services Manager from Thailand. She very much appreciates your compliment!
Our boutique hotel, while very centrally located, has its home in a quiet, narrow and tree-lined residential neighborhood, called Shijia Hutong. Not all taxi drivers are familiar with this street, so please ensure to print the Chinese directions and address of the hotel from our website to ensure a smooth transfer via cab.
Part of the charm of our property is the fact that it is located in a "living, breathing" neighborhood, including one of the best private schools in Beijing at the entrance to Shijia Hutong. I am sorry you were inconvenienced by the traffic at school's end which usually just occurs between 4-5pm on schooldays.
Greetings to Venezuela,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I frequent Tripadvisor but I've never written any reviews until now. Nevertheless, I believe Red Wall Garden Hotel is one of those special places worthy of a first.

Although I'm a Beijinger by birth, I've spent most of my life abroad. I've often listened in wonder to my Mum reminiscing about growing up in my Grandfather's Siheyuan (traditional Beijing courtyard) in the 70's. Playing tag among the narrow alleyways called Hutong; then later riding her bike through them to explore the bigger Beijing beyond. I wanted to experience this half forgotten Beijing for myself given the chance. So imagine my excitement when I came across RWG when booking for my upcoming trip to Beijing. It so happens it's just across the street from my grandfather's former courtyard.

After an extension of eight nights, altogether we called RWG "home" for just over a month (33 nights to be precise). From the moment we were met at the airport by the hotel's driver (Xiao Fan) at 11pm, until the time we were bid farewell by Xiao Cao (from front desk) at the big red gate, I was thoroughly touched by the genuine care and kindness shown to us by every single member of the RWG family. It was hard to say goodbye to our new "frien-mily"!

RWG Hotel was in its former life a private residence, and it's current design reflected and conserved a lot of the characteristics of a turn of the last century Chinese home. In the main building where we lived, the patina-ed wooden stairways led to large shared living spaces on each floor. The entire building flowed like a large private home, decorated tastefully with Chinese artefacts. I often rested in one of the sofas outside our room in a food coma after breakfast; and at other times chatted away with fellow travellers from all around the globe; or just relaxed with a book from the sizeable collection on the bookshelves. It was lovely to leave our room every morning to be welcomed with this space rather than a generic hotel hallway.

The Premier Deluxe room we had was sunny and well-appointed, and provided more than enough room for two people. The rain shower was always a welcoming thought at the end of another day of exploring this vast city. We could always expect the room to be meticulously cleaned by the lovely team of ladies from housekeeping. When one of the ladies noticed that I was sick with a cold, she left an extra box of tissues for me to use on the bedside table. Much praise has been written about the Duxiana beds, they are all true!

Downstairs, the buffet breakfast didn't have the variety of food numbering in the hundreds like some large international hotels. But the East meets West spread was always fresh and delicious. We had breakfast at RWG almost 30 times, the high standard was consistent and the combination of food never became boring. The coffee was quite exceptional (Merci Beaucoup Mlle Lilly), which is a rarity in China.

RWG offered me a glimpse of the old Beijing that was full of beauty, tradition and infused in history, albeit among modern amenities. If that is the Beijing you came here to find, then RWG is a very good place to start. A big THANK YOU to the consummate professional Stefan and his dedicated team (Pennapa & Co.) for an immensely enjoyable stay! See you all soon!

Room Tip: Book on the hotel's website for complimentary breakfast and airport pick-up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TangoAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Message from "Home"

Thank you so much for writing this review. In the hotel world there is nothing more challenging than taking care of people for a long period of time in a consistent manner. reading between the lines we seem to have achieved this and I will certainly tell all our staff and team who made this happen and post your review on our notice board.

We are glade you made it back to your true home but hope we will see you again soon. Once again thank you for your kind note.

The Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

the hotel pickup service was on time at Beijing International Airport, so we didn't waste time and energy to find our hotel. The location in a very quiet side-street turned out to be most advantageous both for a peaceful sleep and as good starting point to our various Beijing touristic adventures. We were in 1-mile walking distance from the Forbidden City and Tian-men Square and from busy Wanfuijing Street with its malls and markets. Besides the subway is only a short walk away and everything , even the announcments,is well-marked in English, so getting around was no problem at all.
Our room welcomed us with gorgeous furniture, fine carpets, tasteful decorations and a purple orchid to which another one was added soon after our arrival together with a wooden box of tasty snacks. The bathroom was spacious and held a wooden bathtub besides the usual shower varieties. The tub turned out to be a very pleasing and relaxing experience.
We were quite satisfied with the variety of western and Chinese foods that were offered on the rich breakfast buffet.
The services provided by the front desk, including package trips to the Great Wall and tips for a good Beijing Duck restaurant were perfect.
We will remember this hotel for the smiles that were on each and every staffs faces and for the Purple Orchids that reflected the luxury of this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ventus_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
The purple orchis are still there and smiling at everybody !!! Thank you, Ventus for writing your positive review and informing fellow Trip advisor users. It always makes us happy when people enjoy the hotel and we always appreciate it when our customers take the time to write about their experience.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

The Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel was an absolute gem, and our stay during winter was warm and welcoming. The area that the hotel is situated in was great for street food and local atmosphere. Make sure to get a bike one morning and go for a self guided tour around the forbidden city - do a lap :) We were also able to pick up a winter special on the hotels own website, better options than on many travel websites.

Room Tip: If you can get a special, use the extra money to upgrade your room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippiepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Hippiepuppy ( what a great name :)

Thank you so much for the kind review and taking the time to wrote to trip advisor it is very much appreciated. The weather has warmed up substantially now and the blossom is in the trees so a different look beijing.

we are glad you made it home safe to Adelaide and hope to be able to welcome you back to our little hotel in Shijia Hutong!

Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. The staff were very friendly and the accommodations and restaurant were excellent. It is a courtyard style hotel in a Beijing hutong that is within easy walking distance to a subway station ( a great and easy way to see Beijing) and the fabulous shopping d
Strip and night food markets.

Our room rate included breakfast each day and this was superb. There was a mix of Asian and western foods. We ate dinner at the restaurant one evening and found the food fabulous (try the braised pork belly!). The wines were also excellent.

The hotel arranged a private car to take us to the Great Wall at Mutainyu. This was a great option due to less tourists and the awesome sledge ride to the bottom. There is great history in this spot and very sobering to reflect on both the builders of the wall and the soldiers who served on it. The advantage of the private car was that there were no "shopping" stops. It cost 1000RMB for the car from the hotel to the wall.

For those who find stairs difficult, please ask for a room at the courtyard level. We were on the 4th floor and it was a hard climb up the stairs after a busy sight seeing day.

All in all, a great place to stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Fiona,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to trip advisor and inform fellow travelers. I am glad you made it home safely to Bowen and hope we will be able to welcome you back soon to our little hotel.

Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,394 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,491 in Beijing
2,867 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,693 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,491 in Beijing
745 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,491 in Beijing
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing