We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not want to leave.Absolutely awesome B&B/Boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #16 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave.Absolutely awesome B&B/Boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed our first 8 nights & last 3 nights at the Red Wall Garden it was a fabulous experience! Stefan(manager), Pennapa,Jerry & the whole staff made our stay at RwG feel like home. The staff's attention to our happiness was incredible, from the making sure we got around to daily breakfast(where you literally meet guests from all over the world having a bite to eat before their days journey). They threw a Christmas Eve party/mixer that was fantastic. Stefan is a absolutely first class international hotel manager. I will say if you are looking for a high end western type hotel with no personality RwG is not for you. I highly recommend this hotel it is ranked 5 star for a reason!!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Tim B:
Well, we did not want you to leave either! I am glad you, Erica, Jenny and Mel enjoyed your stay with us over the holidays.
You filled our little hotel with lots of holiday spirit and added a distinctly "English accent" to the festivities :-) - Jerry in particular was sad to see you head back to Ohio but he told me to convey his best wishes for the new year!

Our best wishes for a healthy and prosperous 2014 to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    273
    49
    9
    5
See reviews for
285
535
86
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The Red wall Garden hotel is a charming little boutique hotel tucked away in the Shijia Hutong area in Beijing. We loved the location. It is close to all the main attractions in Beijing and an easy walk to the subway.

If you are looking for a standard 5 star type experience, then this may not be your first choice but to get a real Beijing experience, you should definitely stay here.

The thing that stole the show for us was the staff at the hotel. They go REALLY out of their way to make things fun, memorable and easy for you. Right from tirelessly helping with talking to taxi drivers, to pointing out the right subway ways, they are your go to advisers once you reach the hotel.

A special shout out to Yao (I hope I am spelling her name right) who walked us to a vegetarian restaurant after her shift at the hotel. My daughter loved her :)

Thank you for such a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArchZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear ArchZ:

We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us!
I forwarded your response to Yao, our restaurant manager and she wanted me to send you her regards. It is very rewarding to read that our staff made your stay a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back to Red Wall Garden Hotel in the not too distant future and thank you for staying with us.

Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Really impressed with the attention to details here. The location was a bit off the main strip but great way to see the neighborhood. Nothing but great things to say from greeting to daily needs to departure.

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard are great, book directly to get breakfast and airport pickup (an excellent fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoSped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear ChicagoSped:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others in the tripadvisor community. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
As you saw, our hotel is conveniently located in the very heart of Beijing within walking distance of the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square - nonetheless, the fact that it is tucked away in a quiet little Hutong makes it the perfect refuge from the hustle and bustle of the capital's busy streets.

Again, thank you for your kind review - we hope you had a pleasant trip back to Chicago!

Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I had the opportunity to be able to stay at this very cosy and comfortable hotel in December .
The room I reserved was up to modern standards, same applies to the toilet/bathroom combination. The hospitality of the staff and the qaulity of the breakfast arrangement was A+.
The location of the hotel could not have been better: it's located near to the forbidden city and the adjecent park.

Room Tip: It's up to you. Even the budget rooms are nice (though not advisable for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenkDW d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear HenkDW d:

My team and I very much appreciated your enthusiastic review - thank you for your kind words!
You perfectly summed up what we are striving for at Red Wall Garden on a daily basis: providing a cozy, comfortable "home away from home" for our guests while offering friendly and proactive service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Prettige Kerstdagen en een Gelukkig Nieuwjaar voor u en uw gezin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the Red Wall Garden, excellent service, excellent location. Check in was fast, the room is already heated when we got in, which is a blessing as it was freezing outside. The bed is soft and comfy, which is rare in China, as most of the beds in hotels are a little too hard for my liking.The staff here is friendly and very helpful. It was a mere 5 min walk to to subway, and a quick 10 min stroll to Wangfujing. There are eateries and quaint little shops around the hotel. The courtyard is beautiful though it is a little cold to sit out for too long. Breakfast is a good mix of Western and Chinese food, though the selection is a little lacking and the same throughout our stay here. We are very reluctant to leave and actually thought of extending another day. We will definitely be back! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weiniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Weiniet:

It was very rewarding to read your review which I have already shared with my team.
As you can see from some of the other responses we have received, many of your fellow tripadvisor members agree with your rave review of our DUX beds. Getting a good night's sleep can make or break one's stay and is a basic hotel function often overlooked. That is why we feature only top-notch bedding in all of our rooms.
I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well and very much appreciate your suggestion to mix things up a bit more. We will attempt to do so and suprise you during your next visit to Red Wall Garden.

Greetings to beautiful Singapore,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Redwall Duplex at the Redwall Garden Hotel for 5 nights. The driver was waiting for us at the airport when we arrived at 115am. Check-in was fast, which was a real blessing cause everyone was tired and just wanted to sleep. The two rooms were heated when we got there. Rooms were separated by a short corridor both were beautifully done. Beds were...wow! Both rooms had bathrooms attached. The kids and adults loved the rooms. Breakfast was included and was a mixture of Chinese and Western food. Good breakfast. We chose this hotel because we wanted a smaller more 'personal' hotel. The courtyard had a nice magical feel to it especially at night with the Christmas lights on. We are more that happy with our decision. We were sad to leave but hope to come back. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank prueinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear prueinkk:

We were sad to see you leave as well! Thank you for your kind review which I shared with my team.

Yes, the courtyard has the "magic feel" at this time of year with all the Christmas lights on, especially in the evenings. Now we are only missing a light layer of snow for the holidays and we are all set :-)
Glad to hear you enjoyed our beds, which are (literally) a sore point in most Chinese hotels - other tripadvisor readers might be interested to know that all of our rooms feature top-of-the-line DUX mattresses and premium linen to ensure our guests get a good night's rest.

We are sorry you cannot be with us during our holiday festivities, but I will make sure to post some pictures of the event for you on our hotel's website (www.redwallgardenhotel.com)

We hope to welcome you back soon - thank you again for your kind words,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a great stay at this charming hotel. After spending a few days in Shanghai on business we wanted a more personal experience. All the staff were lovely and very helpful and spoke great english. The hotel is furnished in a modern chinese style, with some lovely pieces of furniture. Our room was very spacious over looking the courtyard, which was looking pretty lit up with Christmas lights. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice - chinese and english available. It was a 5 min walk from the metro station (which is very cheap and easy to use) and had a few restaurants within walking distance that we tried. We recommend 1929 for great chinese food and peking duck.
Our only disappointment was that the lovely bar and sitting room with wood burner was being refurbished ready for christmas, so we only enjoyed one night in front of the fire which was appreciated as it was getting pretty cold outside - thanks for the nightcap on the house, though much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jomorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear jomorley:

I am glad to hear you made it back safely to the UK and enjoyed your stay with us!
Our kitchen staff was particularly excited to read about your praise of their food offerings - you correctly noted that, while we of course have Western dishes on our varied menu, we strive to also take our guests on a "culinary tour" of China and feature different selections from other provinces as daily specials in our restaurant.
But by all means, do venture out and explore the many outside dining options that are within walking distance of Red Wall Garden Hotel. "1929" is certainly amongst our guest's favorites, so you made an excellent choice there!
The subway station "Dengshikou" is indeed only a short walk away from our quiet little hutong and the cheapest and most efficient way to circumnavigate the busy streets of the capital.
As you correctly mentioned, we decided to add two fireplaces in our bar and lounge area to create a more cozy and festive atmosphere for the holiday season. They are the ideal place to warm up with a nice cup of tea or a glass of scotch after a day out in wintery Beijing!

Again, thank you for your kind review - we hope to have you back soon!

Happy Holidays,
Your Red Wall Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#24 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing