We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wall Secret - no crowds all to yourself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Wall Secret - no crowds all to yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I concur with all of the previous reviews that this is a standout on many levels.
Take the tour through the hotel on a private car with tour guide Lilly.
Robert, one of the managers had a great idea: instead of leaving the hotel at 9:00, have al leisurely breakfast, read the complimentary newspaper and enjoy the solace of the courtyard.
Leave at 11:00, stop if you wish at the silk factory, and tea ceremony ( no one there either) and arrive at the Great Wall around 2:30. Unreal !!! All of the buses are gone, no one on the wall, it was spiritual. Its your tour go when and where you want, just don't follow the crowds.
Robert thanks again you made our trip to Beijing.
Also recommend Bike Beijing also unbelievable way to see the inner city from a bike.
I also want to thank the incredible staff: Ada, Icey, Yolanda, and Coco and many others to make us feel special and your valued guests.
Lee and Lourdes

Room Tip: Our room faced down a hutong over the police station where they got together-interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeandLourdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mr. Lee,

Thank you very much for your kind review. This is very much appreciated by all the staff here. I showed everybody your great write up and put this on the notice board.

I am very happy my recommendation for the Great Wall worked for you. Remember though, do not tell tooooo many people :) .................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    267
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
277
521
86
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have just returned after 12 days at this hotel and found it to be excellent. Sometime you visit a hotel and are reluctant to comment as there is a chance of others finding out how good it actually and thus taking up bookings for when you revisit. Well this is one of those, but being fair, I feel the need to comment

I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel, and that includes Hiltons etc. The staff are extremely friendly and bend over backwards to assist. The majority of them have a some English, and also understand sign/say.
The location is really convenient for Metro (and Buses if you are brave). The food is a decent mix of Western and traditional, with good advice being given for those wanting to eat further afield. The pick up and drop off for the hotel was well signed....
Room size ?? Spacious is an understatement

Only problem I found was that some floorboards squeak, but come on...Is that a real problem ?. Richard the manager was present on several occasions and his attitude had the correct balance of friendliness and professionalism. Lilly, I think everyone took a shine to her speaking 5 languages and also seemed to keep the right balance.
All in all a great experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear John and Maria,

You are both too kind in writing such a nice review about the hotel and about the staff and informing fellow trip advisor users. I have taken a copy of your review and put this on our staff noticeboard as we always very much appreciate comments made by our guests.

We are glad you made it home safe to London and hope to see you back again soon tso we can continue our chat about how amazing China is ...................

Warmes wishes from now the much gone colder Beijing !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, at the end of Golden Week. It's very conveniently located to the metro so easy to get around, but the street it is located in is very quiet. The staff were all friendly. Our room was quite nice - the bathroom, in particular, was fantastic. We actually ate at the hotel two evenings because we really enjoyed the food - the spicy beef was excellent. Breakfast wasn't as good but is completely fine and there's a large variety which should suit all tastes (both Western and Chinese).

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykerry100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ladykerry100

I am glad you made it home safe to Scotland and thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I am so happy you enjoyed your food at the hotel but I have token note of your breakfast comment. We already are changing a few items on the breakfast buffet as we know we are never perfect but certainly aim to be!

Do say hello to Brora I Iook forward to getting back there :)

Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is exactly as it is described - comfortable, within short walking distance of the subway and the staff were really helpful. Our flight was delayed for four hours so I wasn't sure if the driver was going to meet us at the airport, but he was.

The courtyard and fountain were excellent places to relax after a long day out. The beds were amazingly comfortable.

I highly recommend staying here if you plan to visit the tourist sites for the first time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sharon B

I am glad you made it home safely to Sydney. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review on our boutique hotel. We very much appreciate your comment and spreading the details about our hotel. YES! we always try to make sure we collect people from the airport whatever the situation and glad you stayed with us !!!!

I look forward top hopefully welcome you back to Shijia Hutong soon.

Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our 5-day stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. The room was beautiful and spacious. It is a great location with the subway and Starbucks nearby. The complementary Chinese (or limited Western) breakfast was a treat, as was the food at other meals. If you want a more Chinese feel when you are in Beijing, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, General Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear RobertV

I am glad you made it home safe to San Diego. Thank you so so much for recommending other trip advisor about our boutique Hotel. Your response is much appreciated by the whole team here and I have posted your review on our staff notice board.

I hope to see you back again soon in Shijia Hutong ......

Warmest wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice room, helpful and lovely staff, excellent breakfast (Chinese and western styles) and convenient central location (10 min on foot to the closest subway station), 15-20 min to Wangfujing shopping street. I stayed in Red Wall Garden Hotel for 6 nights during my honeymoon, as we wanted something a bit different from Hilton-style hotels, and we loved the experience, definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rargollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear rargollo,

Thank you for such a great review. We are happy that you chose us to spend your honeymoon and had the chance to experience a real piece of China and Chinese culture by staying in a hutong hotel.

We hope you had a good trip back home and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel any time soon. Muito obrigado!

Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A very comfortable hotel with a very nice courtyard hidden away in a downtown hutong. The service manager, Mr. Di, went out of his way to be helpful both before and during our stay. The room was very nice and comfortable. My only reservation is that the modern version of a traditional Chinese tub can be challenging to those with mobility issues as the sides are so high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedWallGarden, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Michael N,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us recently and also for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be very comfortable. We strive to be traditional, but yet modern and comforting. I will pass your compliments to Mr. Di in being a very helpful host to you.

Once again, thank you for posting your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Best Regards,
Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,435 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,435 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage cultural entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor noodle stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The private dining and event rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for meetings, weddings or events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal meeting, wedding or event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense historical, cultural and artistic life of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing