We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hutong happiness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hutong happiness”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to call your holiday home hidden in the hustings. Our room was a cute little 2storey cottage. Very peaceful with pleasant staff helping as much a possible + always with a smile. Free airport transfer one way, so great to be picked up from airport with persons who knows where they are going. Breakfast and dinner both beautiful. Peaceful stay close to the busy streets for exploring. Very comfortable bed for a good night sleep after that Great Wall of China trek. Definitly recommend the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ilona-star:

We are so glad you chose our boutique hotel as a base for your "explorations" and you were able to experience the sights and and sounds of Beijing and its surroundings.

Our helpful guest services team is at your disposal to arrange individulaized tours to other points of interest in case your travel plans call for a another trip to Beijing.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to your "home away from home" soon!

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    281
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
296
554
88
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Coming to China for the first time is not always the easiest... The Red Wall Garden Hotel helps to make your trip comfortable, warm and friendly. This is a hidden gem in a big bustling city. The accommodations themselves are great, location is perfect and most importantly the staff is the best! This will be my new home on my future visits to Beijing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Chster15:

Thank you for your kind comments - I will share them with our dedicated staff. Hopefully, we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Best Regards,

Your Red Wall Garden Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Enter from the hustle and bustle of the street into a quiet oasis of calm and service. The decor is unique and changes from the global chain hotels. The rooms were very comfortable, beds and linens of top quality. You can not go wrong here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nashawtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review for us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. Indeed many guests compare us with an oasis of calm right in the middle of Beijing. Glad also that you mention the decor: we aim to be unique and to showcase the Chinese culture in every aspect of the hotel. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very nice hotel in a convenient location near the center of Beijing. The hotel is smaller and has lots of character, and the rooms were nice and clean. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful - they booked tours for us and even went to the train station to purchase tickets for us. We really enjoyed the on-site restaurant - it was a little pricey, but that was to be expected.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again if I return to Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for writing us a review! We appreciate your kind words.
Our goal is to make sure that everything you could possibly need is already waiting for you, so that you have more time to enjoy your vacation and the beautiful things Beijing has to offer! Hope you enjoyed the tours our staff booked for you as much as you enjoyed the hotel.
Thank you again for staying with us and writing this review, and we look forward to hosting you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Verry good hotel near the center of Beijing.
Nice and clean rooms.
Good breakfast
Good food in the evening on the open square.
Friendly staff
Especially YaoYao; she knows how to deal with the guests; she's amazing!
If I go back to Beijing, I would defenitely book the same hotel again.

Kind regards from Belgium,
Tomas

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Tomas. Thank you for such a lovely review of our hotel and our wonderful staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your memories, such as of enjoying a great meal in our lovely courtyard. We all hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

an amazing hotel in the city....in such a central location ...yet so quiet..we had a wonderful stay...the staff is so very helpful..rooms super comfortable...walking distance from wangfujing market....15 mts from silk market..what more does a tourist want....?? we reached our hotel very late one day tired due to the sight seeing and shopping...came to know that the chef had left since it was sooo late...still in10 minutes the staff arranged for hot fried rice specially for us...i saw that girl (i think her name was Yao yao ) rushing for her home soon after... she had stayed that extra tym so that she cud arrange for our dinner...was really touched !! the name garden is very apt coz in sucha small place they have so many colourful flowers..its a beautiful sight in the morning !!

Room Tip: if u have problems taking stairs...opt for a room on the ground level....though the wooden stairs ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehtadimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are glad that you had a marvelous stay here at the Red Wall Garden Hotel. Your comments about our services, amenities and great location is greatly appreciated. Our staff truly enjoys providing an excellent experience to each and every visitor, going out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. Thank you for your comments - we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very beautful hotel old but clean,bed was soft and comfortable, most important thing is just 10 minutes walk to forbidden city and Tiananmen square. hotel staff very friendly and service was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tearro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Director of Sales at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. The proximity to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square is enjoyed by all our guests and we are glad you had a chance to visit these wonderful sites. We wish you all the best and please come back to Beijing and the Red Wall Garden Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,393 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,866 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,692 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,483 in Beijing
744 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing