We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with best beds ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this charming hotel which is located in a traditional Hutong area. If you are visiting China the first time, this is definitively an experience you should make instead of booking any chain hotel. The location is perfect, Metro station few minutes away and I even walked to the Forbidden City from the hotel. Very quite are, you forget that you are in Beijing for a moment.
My room was clean and comfortable. The highlight in my opinion are the beds. It was like sleeping on a cloud. Bathroom mirror maybe a little small, but the shower spacious and just perfect.
Definitively recommended and great value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsmia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel.

It was a great pleasure reading your comments. Our beds are all imported from Sweden, brand named 'Dux'. Which are the same beds from the 6 star hotel located in Dubai. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see or hear back from you in the future! WIsh you Happy Chinese New Year! The Year of the Snake!

King Regards

Red Wall Garden HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
There are newer reviews for Red Wall Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year and am returning in June and have not even considered another hotel to stay in, it is a traditional hotel in the Hutongs with beautiful wood floors and courtyard, the staff are extremely helpfull and helped me to organise some tours from the hotel. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful!

Please give this hotel a try as you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedSeaCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for Choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel and all the supports. It is Guests like you, who motivate us to do our best. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! We are looking forward to see you again in this year!

King Regards

Red Wall Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are the kind of person who prefers cosy, original, and local style accomodation, you should choose this hotel. You can find any hotel chain you like in Beijing, but this has the added value of a comfortable house in a hutong (old Beijing alley), conveniently situated. Things that we liked about the hotel: nice & helpful staff, good breakfast, pretty good WIFI for Beijing, beautiful spot (furniture, deco, complements, ...), quietness, comfortable beds, and all the rest of good reviews that I will not repeat. What we did not like and could (in our opinion) be improved:1)bathrooms are a bit cold (true, it was -11 outside), 2) a bit more flexibility/personalization would be appreciated when it comes to changing/adapting scheduled things: e.g. we had extra breakast on our early arrival that was charged (obviously), but didn't have it on 1st Jan (we woke up late and missed it). I think the first one could have made up for the other (they charged us both, although they gave us a free second lift to the airport) 3)We weren't told that the trip to the Great Wall had to be paid cash directly to the guide, plus 100 Chinese yuan tip for the driver (required by the guide herself) 4)We had to pay 2 Chinese yuan for printing out our boarding passes (in such a category hotel, things like these are ridiculous) 5)The driver had to use his own car to take us to the airport as he couldn't find the keys to another hotel car that was blocking a bigger and more comfortable van. As a consequence, we ended up carryng part of our luggage on our laps! All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nomorestories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Red Wall Garden Hotel, it was a great pleasure reading your comments. It is guests like you, who motivate and inspire us to do our best and give the best service possible. For the 5 points you have said we could definitely improve them such as telling guests about how to pay the tour guide, not charging guests extra money for just printing soemthing and more flexible for the breakfast time schedual.
Thank you for Your feedback, we are pleased that you still enjoyed your stay. We hope to see or hear from you again in the future. Also hope you had a good flight back home!

King Regards

Red Wall Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four nights over Christmas during a very cold week in Beijing. Everything was superb. A very clean, warm and quiet hotel with great staff. On Christmas eve the hotel had a buffet and each guest received a card and an apple (traditional here). The thing I liked most about this hotel was that it is small with the rooms overlooking a courtyard. Only one or two short stairs to climb and is such a change from the usual 50 story hotels we stay at. I love it and will seek this type of hotel at for other cities we visit in the future. No annoying waiting busy for elevators and crowded check ins.

This hotel is within easy walking distance to the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, etc.
tc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Red Wall Garden Hotel. It was a great pleasure reading your comments. It is guests like you, who motivate and inspire us to do our best and give the best service possible. We are also very happy to spent a Christmas with you!

Thank you for your feed back, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see or hear from you again in the future.

King Regards

Red Wall Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were not sure what to expect in Beijing, this being our first trip to China. We stayed in a “brand name” hotel near the Olympic Park for the first two days (the business part of the trip) but wanted to get a more “Chinese” experience and be closer to the center of things. We chose the Red Wall Garden Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed in the least.

The hotel is on a quiet hutong in a neighborhood; “regular” people also lived and worked in the hutong. We were very surprised at how quiet things were: little internal hotel noise and virtually no noise from the street. We were a little nervous about noise when we saw the beautiful wooden floors but that never proved to be a problem. The hutong is dark at night, with near-silent electric mopeds coming and going; we never once felt unsafe, though, even in the dark with people standing in doorways.

There seemed to be a good number of Chinese business travelers and tourists at the hotel, and some Western tourists from all over (various parts of Europe, Australia, not a lot of Americans) but mostly the clientele seemed to be Chinese.

The location is fantastic. The Red Wall Garden Inn is centrally located in Beijing, maybe a 15-minute walk from the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square. There’s a subway stop (Dengshikou) about a block and a half from the hotel, some big-name hotels not far, and the Wangfujing shopping district not far.

The staff was extremely friendly and extremely helpful. We had to check in quickly because we were off to an unexpected business dinner, and the staff took us to our room, explained how everything worked, and while we were getting ready for the dinner, got us information for a driver and guide to go to the Great Wall the following day. Almost all of the staff spoke some English and we were never at a loss trying to explain a need or get directions.

Additionally, the hotel had two interns who were exceptionally helpful. One was from South Africa, the other from Senegal (with whom I was able to speak French); they were lovely, both very friendly in a quiet way with considerable attention to service.

The hotel puts two small bottles of water in the room (you can get larger bottles of water at the tiny grocery shop further down the hutong: 1.5 litre cost about 2 or 3 RMB). One afternoon upon returning to our room we noticed that the water had not been replenished and notified the front desk. They were horrified and the water was replaced instantly.

Our room was HUGE. In addition to a king size bed, there was a sofa, another settee, a sideboard/dresser, an armoire, two bed-side tables with storage, and a desk in an alcove. I don’t think I’ve ever had a hotel room with as much storage for clothes and belongings. The hotel is very proud of its Dux beds. I’d never heard of them but our bed was extremely comfortable; we slept very, very well. There were plenty of electric outlets and we were able to plug in some phone chargers without adapters. The windows opened and looked out onto the courtyard (see photo, there’s a nice coy pond). Black-out drapes worked well.

There was wifi and it worked OK; I’ve had stronger but it worked, except that you only got two connections (we had a laptop and two iPhones, so had to choose two of three).

The bathroom was very modern, with a big walk-in shower with a rain-type showerhead (and a hand-held shower), a nice hot-water ladder-type radiator that warmed towels well; the basin was very modern. Lighting could have been better but this is not a problem unique to this hotel.

Restaurant: We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant twice. It’s a little on the pricey side, but the buffet has quite an array of choices, from Chinese buns, salad, and sausage, to an omelet station, to pastries, juice, and fruit. Their coffee is OK. Because we were exhausted one night after our sojourn to the Great Wall, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, and it was quite good. We found Beijing food to be rather greasy, but the food in the restaurant was far less oily than what we found elsewhere, the cuts of meat were much better, and the presentation exceptional (see photo). The restaurant staff was helpful and polite, and the African interns were exceptionally helpful.

The front desk staff offered us a complimentary ride to the airport when we checked out. We were amazed! The driver was polite and an extremely careful driver. This was an unexpected treat, and one that would encourage me to stay here again.

Overall, there are certainly less expensive rooms to be had, but I wonder if there could be quieter. The staff is exceptionally polite and helpful. We have raved about our stay here since we returned, and I owe much thanks to Trip Advisor reviewers who steered us here.

Tips for guests: Do take the subway—it goes everywhere, announcements are in Chinese and English, and it is unbelievably inexpensive (2 RMB per trip). It is crowded and can get very crowded at rush hour, but nothing to fear. And for Westerners looking for good coffee, there’s a Starbucks in Jinbao Tower about a block away from the hotel. And in spite of the direction cards the hotel gives out, taxi drivers cannot always find Shijia Hutong: you need to tell the driver it’s near the Shijia International School. The Regent Hotel is around the corner and a good landmark.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Voyageur_americain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel. Your very detailed review is much appreciated! Your pictures are very beautifully taken. Make sure to tell us your flight details for the complimentary airport pickup when the next time you come. By the way, we have a Loyalty customer program a few days ago, to give some special offers and deals to loyalty customers, make sure to email us for further information. Thank you again, we hope to see you in the future!

We look forward to hearing back from you

King Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I'm impressed by visiting your wonderful hotel! You have a very luxurious, clean, stylish and comfortable! Staff very friendly and caring! Simply great service! Excellent location and a nice, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaUfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, we hope you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Your precious comment encourages us. We will do better in the future. Our hotel provides 24 hours butler service, all our staff willing to serve you again in the future! We hope you had a good flight back home.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Best Regards

Red Wall Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Having over the years stayed in many mediocre hotels in Beijing, this hotel is definitely a sanctuary in the middle of chaos.
The courteous and helpful service by all the staff is exceptional. The rooms are great with extremely comfortable beds unusual for China where most mattress's are hard.
Free Wifi and the shuttle that not only can pick you up/take to/from the airport, they will also take you/collect you from rail stations, very useful.
The restaurant is fine both for dinner and breakfast
Only stayed one night but will use again.
Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thornpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Guest Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, your comment are very much appreciated.

As you mentioned our flight pickup service is one of the advantages from us. Also our 24 hours bulter service, we provide everything that you need and help you the most to satisfy guests'.

Make sure to tell us either your flight or train details when the next time you come to our hotel, incase we don't miss you!

Thank you again, we hope to see you in the future.

Hope you had good journey back home

King Regards

Red Wall Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,528 in Beijing
2,925 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,528 in Beijing
1,468 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,528 in Beijing
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,528 in Beijing
2,459 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,528 in Beijing
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,528 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $124 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing