We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nestled up a quiet hutong (or lane) off the busy Dong Si Nan Da Jie street, just a few blocks east of the Forbidden City, the Red Wall Garden Hotel is a wonderful place to relax after a busy day in Beijing. It's a small, two storey, traditional, u-shaped building, set around a sheltered internal courtyard, with tables and chairs for outside eating. The hotel is beautifully maintained and we couldn't fault it. As it was our anniversary and the fact our son had got engaged in China that week, we were upgraded, not once but twice, both couples being given a beautiful suite on 2 levels, with direct access from the courtyard. Beds were comfortable and soft (unlike most hotel beds in China) and there was even a pillow menu so that you could order your favourite, and with its quiet location, a good sleep is guaranteed. At breakfast in their small restaurant, there was a wide choice of both eastern and western food and refreshments. The staff were very courteous at all times and couldn't have been more helpful. We can certainly recommend the Red Wall Garden hotel and would certainly return to it.

Room Tip: Our 2-level suite, 106, was conveniently situated in the corner of the courtyard. Our son's suit...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FifeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Red Wall Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Beijing and doesn't mind paying a little extra money. The staff were excellent and even though there was a little language boundary they were still willing to help. Housekeeping did an excellent job every day and the rooms were kept comfortable with air conditioning. The hotel restaurant is great but pricey. The hotel location isn't the greatest as taxi drivers had a hard time finding it. The staff closes the gate late at night making you feel safe. This hotel is an excellent place to come to after a long day of touring Beijing.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Your positive comment are very much appreciated! We hope you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. Your satisfaction is our encouragement. There is still a lot more that we need to improve. thank you again, we would love to see you again some time in the future, by the way make sure to book our complimentary airport pickup service when the next time you come!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the friendly Red Wall Garden Hotel for 6 nights for vacation. We were impressed with the airport pickup - the flight was late, but the driver was still there! The hotel is in the middle of Shijia Hutong; you get a real taste of Beijing life by exiting left and coming across a busy street filled with locals. A laundry shop towards that direction, closer to the busy street, did a great job with our clothes. Breakfasts were tasty and filling. The room and comfy bed were clean, and we had a view into the courtyard with their singing birds, fountain, and garden. We hired a hotel driver to take us to Mutianyu Great Wall and the Ming Tombs. The location was fantastic, we were able to navigate the subway just fine, and we walked to Tiananmen Square and Wangfujing Street. Their staff did a great job, and knew some English.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel.

Your comment are very much appreciated. We hope that our hotel made you felt like home. Shi jia HuTong is the most historical Hutong in Beijing, even chairman Mao had lived in the Hutong before. And make sure to tell us your flight information when the next time you come! we hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband & I along with son and fiance stayed here for 3 nights. We had booked the deluxe rooms. We arrived tired after a 5 hour journey from Qingdao to find that we had been upgraded to the Garden Suite as we were celebrating our anniversary and son's engagement. Fruit, wine and fresh flowers were in our rooms, as well as a bunch of red roses and rose petals on the bed and in the bathroom. This was such a lovely surprise. The rooms were lovely, very clean and the bed was so comfortable, we even had a pillow menu to choose from. I needed to iron a few things and asked for an iron, it arrived within 5 minutes - great service. The girls on reception were extremely helpful especially when we tried to check in online for our flights back. All the staff were very helpful and courteous. My husband was not well when we arrived and the restaurant specially made him rice porridge. This was a really nice gesture. The only thing I would say that was wrong with the hotel is that you only get one breakfast per room per day. This is a bit odd. Would I stay here again? Yes, without a doubt. It is a lovely and peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. The metro is a about a 5 minute walk. A taxi at the top of the road will get you anywhere for a few pounds. We just wish we had been able to spend more time in Beijing. When we return we know where we're going to stay - The Red Wall Garden!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank llany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel! we appreciate your comment. We do remember your stay! we are very happy that you loved it! We also hope your son and fiancee had a great time here, please pass on our blessing from all staff Red Wall Garden Hotel. we hope you had good trip back home! and hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards

Beijing Red Wall Garden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Negative point : breakfast not included in the price and that's all....

Location couldn't be better, it's in the middle of Beijing but it's quiet, only the wood floor creaks a little ! Nice area, typical. Subway just at 10minutes on foot.

Food is good but the menu on Ipad is not a good idea, it's not easy to see the full choice of courses and 1 screen for 2 persons is not enough, could be a subject to argue about..!

Bedroom was spacious, well decorated.

Great value for the price !

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SosoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, We hope you had a wonderful stay.
Your comment are very much appreciated. We do take your advises seriously , we are currently working on a proper menu. we will have it soon. Make sure to book our free airport pickup service next time you come! we hope to see you again, and good trip back home.!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here four nights. Very nice and cozy courtyard hotel. The room was spacious and clean. Bed very comfortable. Nice shower, althoug the bathroom was a bit cold in the morning. Breakfast had both western and Chinese items. I think the Chinese food looked better, and mostly ate those. I only regret there was no freshly squeezed orange juice. Staff was very attentive and always with a smile. Although some of them did not speak/understand English well, we always managed to make us understood. Also, really close to a subway station. Would highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, Your comment are very much appreciated. For your advises about the cold water in the morning and freshly squeezed orange juice, we do take them seriously will fix them as soon as possible. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and good trip back home.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent our first 4 days in China at the Red Wall Garden Hotel - Beijing. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were so nice and very anxious to be helpful. They were very friendly. It is conveniently located in a Hutong - felt like it was off the beaten track. We can't recommend this hotel enough. They also have a very good restaurant!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suegleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fay l, Public Relations Manager at Red Wall Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Red Wall Garden Hotel, Your comment are very much appreciated. Our target is to let every guest to feel like home, we hope we made you felt that way. Thank you again, remember to book our free airport pickup service the next time you come. We hope to see you again in the future! Have a nice trip back home!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,927 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,470 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,459 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $125 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing