We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True top spot in beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #17 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great luxirious spacious rooms with good food friendly personel and very close to the major sites in beijing

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kannix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Red Wall Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

As we walked up the alley to the hotel,because a taxi cannot drop you at the entrance,my heart sanked to my toes.I wanted to take my Husbands hand and run for the hills.BUT!! don`t because you will enter a little jewel in Beijing.It is a real Chinese hotel with a small courtyard.Our room was no 3 and it was just perfect.Homely cosy furniture,we slept like babies.
Beautifull bathroom with a heater in the shower.So nice.The staff is to precious and breakfast plain,simple and just perfect.To walk the streets is very interesting.You see life as the people live,just so nice.There is a lovely reasturant,THE PEAKING DUCK walking distance.We went to the open food marked .What a sight!We ate such great food in Beijing at such good prices.
Please just make sure the taxi driver know what airport you are departing from.We drove for 2 hours.It cost us a fortune and I was sceared,of the driver and not catching our plane.
I will always think fondly of this hotel.Greetings Esmé

Room Tip: Take a upstairs room our room no 3
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WillemanEsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

What an excellent find. I was collected by the hotel car from the airport ( included in the price of the room) and was greeted by smiling friend staff even though it was the early hours. This friendliness and helpfulness was a theme that continued throughout my stay. My room was full of character, old wooden floors and ceilings, beautiful huge, very comfortable bed. The bathroom was modern and spotless. The hotel is situated in an area that has largely been left in tact and it was interesting wandering through the little lanes. It's also within walking distance of Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City.. I ate at the hotel the final night of my 3 night stay and the food was excellently presented, delicious and reasonably priced. I ate in the beautiful courtyard, where every night there is live music, either guitar or local chinese instrument. It adds to the atmosphere rather than overwhelms and was a delightful touch. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend the Red Wall Garden hotel for those on vacation and also if you are on business and want to stay somewhere that is more authentic.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuliaRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Amazing beautiful quiet hotel with spacious rooms and lovely courtyard. A little oasis in the middle of the hutongs well located in busy beijing. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanetteH691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Great location, rooms and service! Many commentators write about the difficulty finding this hotel down the Shinja Hutong so I would tell the cab driver it's near the Regent (one long block and turn down the alley at the Badabing children's clothing store with the large yellow sign.) GPS is a great device but it can get you in trouble in Beijing. The hotel room was very large with the great Swedish mattress. I really liked the hotel, its staff and the other people staying there: Chinese, French, Aussie, NZ, Spanish and me the American.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georgia52245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Booked a Deluxe room on a deal site which included a massage - 5 nights stay.
We were very happy to see the hotel representative waiting for us at the airport at 1.30am when our delayed flight finally arrived. This is really a great service offered.
Great hotel, great bed, great service. The room was simply beautiful, a really comfortable bed and decorated in period furniture, it was quite large with a very large balcony which you had to climb through a window to access. Great space for a couple of quite beers at the end of a day.
The bath was a bit strange, but everything worked and all the amenities were provided.
Quite liked the breakfast with a lot of Chinese options - we like Chinese options.
The hotel arranged for a car and driver to take us to The Wall and also helped us retreive my husband's jacket that he left in a restaurant in Ghost Street the previous night. Very helpful staff always there to say hello.
Good location right in the middle of a hutong which we loved. A bit difficult to get a taxi to take us there, but once they worked out that we would walk from the main street all was OK. Didn't use the metro but I believe it was closeby.
Tried the 'lamb bar-b-que' down the street for dinner as a previous reviewer suggested, but it was not to our liking. Being Australian, we found the lamb tough and expensive at RMB400 for two with a couple of beers. Much prefer the Chinese restaurant further down near the Park Plaza, great food and we only paid about RMB300.
Would go back in a heartbeat, really loved the hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gohomemumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The staff are very helpful and the rooms were clean and fairly large. The hotel is in a great location - just a short walk to restaurants, the forbidden city and the metro. The streets around the hotel were full of interesting sights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandrBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#31 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,930 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,478 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,460 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $125 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage Cultural Entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor Noodle Stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The Private Dining and Event Rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for Meetings, Weddings or Events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese Cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal Meeting, Wedding or Event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense Historical, Cultural and Artistic life of Authentic and Historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing