We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel stay during entire two month visit to China” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Wall Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 6,436 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Hotel stay during entire two month visit to China”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I agree with many of the other posts - The Red Wall Garden Hotel is worth a visit. We are really happy that we had booked to stay for 5 nights. Best hotel stay during our entire visit to China!

Comfy bed, beautiful room, great staff - very helpful!

To add some additional experiences to the other reviews:

We hired a driver from the hotel (Ernie) for the day so that we could go and visit The Great Wall, Ming tombs, etc. It was well worth the money. We were shown other areas and sites that we would not have thought of or known about. The day was definitely one of the highlights of our visit. Thank you Ernie!

When we left the hotel for the airport - we had unknowingly left behind a small package of art work from the Forbidden City. One of the hotel staff contacted our taxi while we were on route to the airport and they then arranged to mail the package to our new destination! That was so appreciated!!! The package arrived safe and sound a few days later. I was already impressed with the hotel and the staff before this gesture - but that action sealed the deal!!

As others have suggested: Do bring a translator gadget or booklet with you to help with the language barrier. We had the inexpensive "China" pocketbook from me no speak dot com and it proved very helpful - especially considering that my husband and I speak no Chinese other than 'hello' and 'thank you'.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the courtyard -see pic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    267
    47
    8
    4
See reviews for
278
522
86
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We just got back from a 5 night stay in Beijing. We chose this hotel because we were looking for a courtyard style hotel with modern amenities. In this, Red Wall Garden did not disappoint. The hotel was beautiful and the room was well-appointed. The hotel is down a hutong, which you must walk down to the main road to flag a taxi or catch the subway (approx 10 minute walk away). Breakfast was included in our reasonable price and it was sufficient with an egg station plus breads, cereals, etc. The American coffee was good!

My only small complaint is the lack of English speaking staff, particulary at night. I know this is China but the hotel's website raves about its "butler" service. The level of service was spotty depending on who was at the front desk. Every single employee was pleasant and tried to be helpful, however, the language barrier often persisted, even with my handy Chinese phrase book.

Also a quick hint, the thermostat in the room works with a remote control wireless - there is no thermostat on the wall, so don't look for it. It took me two nights to figure this out - perhaps a hotel room guidebook in multiple languages would smooth some of these communication issues.

Otherwise, a very pleasant stay in a lovely and quiet hotel in the midst of busy Beijing

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in a duplex room/suite with 2 adults and 3 children. We have been picked up at the airport by the hotel car/minivan which we highly appreciated. The room was very clean, offers all kind of amenities such as hair dryer, mini bar, etc. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern. The breakfast is western and chinese and pricing is appropriate. The entire staff (reception, restaurant) of the hotel is -despite poor English- extremely friendly, attentive and helpful, whether it's about booking a show, organizing a trip, making a strong espresso (!), negotiating taxi prices, etc. The entire hotel with its courtyard is a very quiet place which one does appreciate while visiting busy noisy china!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamb0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We chose the Red Wall Garden Hotel after an Internet search for a hotel around four or five stars, close to the Wangfujing area in Beijing and within easy walking distance of public transport. The Red Wall Garden appealed on paper as it is situated in one of the traditional hutong areas which features walled residences with courtyard gardens and narrow roads or lanes for access. We were not exactly sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised to find that our room had a balcony overlooking the large courtyard which provided a pleasant oasis from the bustle of Beijing. The traditional hutong neighbourhoods are gradually being replaced by fancy shops, office buildings and hotels and I suppose the Red Wall Garden has likewise replaced houses but at least it retains the character of hutong architecture.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful, from the man at the gate (this being a traditional walled structure), to the receptionists, the restaurant staff and housekeeping. The hotel, although quite new, is built in replica antique style which extends to all furniture and much use of timber for walls and flooring including the shower floor comprising varnished timber slats instead of ceramic tiles. This traditional style creates a few oddities such as needing to step over a large wooden beam at the entrance to the restaurant.

Although the hotel has its own website, we booked through the website of eLong, a Chinese company with links to Expedia. There were no problems with this reservation which did not ask for a credit card number to secure the booking. As other contributors have noted, the hotel may be a little hard to locate as it is situated in a narrow one way street but it is only a 10 minute slow walk to the nearest metro (subway) station, and a little further to the Wangfujing Street neighbourhood comprising a collection of five star hotels, shopping malls, restaurants and markets. Shijia Hutong, the hotel's street may seem a little dingy to walk along at night but I would say it is quite safe and certainly gives a feel for the "old" Beijing.

The hotel provides a good base to explore Beijing as it is not far from the centre, that is, the Forbidden City and Tianenmen Square. It would certainly pay to invest in a Yikatong smart card, a stored value card allowing travel on the metro and city buses without having to pay a fare each time. The card is available at all metro stations and requires a deposit of 20 yuan plus stored value of say 50-80 yuan, allowing plenty of travel at 2 yuan each time on the metro and 0.4 yuan each time on city buses. The card actually provides a 60 per cent reduction on bus (not metro) fares, including the non-stop express bus to the Great wall at Badaling where a 12 yuan cash fare becomes an extremely cheap 4.8 yuan.

Note: Beware not to confuse this hotel with the Red Wall Hotel in a different part of Beijing.

Room Tip: Try a room with balcony above the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank citizentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our 4 week stay in China. The staff were extremely helpful and spoke good English. They picked us up at the airport after our long trip to arrive in Beijing (22h travel). The beds were very comfortable. The location very convenient. And the weekend breakfast buffet was superb!

Room Tip: Book direct via hotel's website for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

We arrived in Beijing late at night , the hotel car was waiting for us, when we entered the courtyard all the red lanterns were lit, it look so beautifull! like a big and beautifull chinese house. Our room was in the second floor, with a terrace overlooking the courtyard; the room was big decorated in chinese style so warm and cozy ,the bed was very confortable and the bathroom had a very big shower very modern and stylish.Next morning the buffet breakfast was excellent. Very good location, walking distance to the subway, the staff was very friendly and happy to help you. We stayed there for 13 days and enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank individualitysikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

This is a very attractive hotel- built in a low courtyard style with carved wooden screens and many traditional Chinese designs of furniture and carpets. The Duxiana bed was wonderfully comfortable and there was a very nice shower, with overhead as well as handheld shower heads.The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was easy access available to the internet and email. Because of its hutong location, the hotel is very quiet and the courtyard garden provides a very pretty refuge from the shopping streets, with fountains, raised flower beds and lanterns. Although it is very well placed for the main tourist sights of Beijing, the address could be difficult to find if one were not familiar with the area. Another slight drawback is the absence of lifts, so this hotel is not suitable for anyone who has difficulty with stairs. Although there was a variety of dishes available at breakfast, the Western selection was slightly odd. We found, however, that there was enough in the way of pastries, fruit and cereal to make a perfectly satisfying meal. By English standards, the tea wasn't good, but this is unfortunately to be expected in Beijing. Altogether ,we would warmly recommend the Red Wall Garden for its location, comfort, charm and friendliness.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelseabunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,436 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,436 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,436 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,436 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,436 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Wall Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Wall Garden Hotel

Property: Red Wall Garden Hotel
Address: No.41 Shijia Hutong | Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 6,436 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Wall Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Wall Garden Hotel is a cultural oasis of tranquillity in the very heart of the vibrant city of Beijing. It is located in Shijia Hutong, one of the city's most historic neighbourhoods and is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the famous shopping and food streets of Wangfujing and Jinbao in DongCheng. A traditional Chinese courtyard hotel invoking the past, yet replete with modern facilities. All 40 individually appointed guest rooms feature ultra-luxury DUX beds, wooden flooring, en-suite bathrooms and amenities such as large flat screen TV, complimentary WI-FI throughout the hotel and private in-room bar. All rooms have air-conditioning & heaters. Located within the central courtyard of the award-winning Red Wall Garden Hotel, The Courtyard Bistro serves great value dishes that are inspired by the eight main culinary areas in China. The Courtyard Bistro also features open stage cultural entertainment nights as well as indoor and outdoor noodle stations and daily special chalkboards to further enhance the guests' dining experiences. The Lounge Bar invites guests to kick back in an armchair with a drink, a snack and a book. The Courtyard Bistro's full service bar serves up classic and specialty cocktails as well as traditional afternoon tea and features an excellent selection of wines, beers and other alcoholic or non-alcoholic drinks. Situated just off the west lounge of the hotel, The Courtyard Bistro Tea House offers daily tea ceremonies where the in-house tea master guides patrons through Chinese tea history that looks back on over 4000 years of tea excellence. The private dining and event rooms at The Red Wall Garden Hotel can accommodate up to 200 people for meetings, weddings or events. The tailor-made menus offer an array of traditional Chinese cuisine to suit either a formal or an informal meeting, wedding or event. The "Red Wall Garden Boutique Hotel Experience" emotionally connects our guests with the intense historical, cultural and artistic life of authentic and historic Beijing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Red Wall Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing