We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFULL, the Inn is basic but the experience worth!”
Review of Dongpo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beijing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dongpo Inn
Ranked #150 of 1,324 Beijing B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“WONDERFULL, the Inn is basic but the experience worth!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We travelled to the Dongpo Inn beginning of November and we were really lucky with the weather even if it was freezing at night and early morning.
We arrived in the afternoon at the Inn, had a short walk by ourselves to the wall (20-30min walk): WONDERFULL sunset and first touch of the GREAT WALL.
After we had a delicious meal, several dishes (fried rice, dumplins, kai lan, sweet&sour meat) at reasonable price and all well-cooked (not too oily as said) which we shared with another visitor. The cooks and hosts are nice, Basic English but it’s possible to communicate with them.
Pricewise: the room is 120RMB for the basic one, 150BMB little more modern and heated bed, food was between 20-80RMB, transport depends how you come, just make sure you take some water and snacks with you for on the wall.
We had a good night of sleep with the heating bed, accommodation is basic, toilet is a hole in the ground, no shower at winter time, but that’s the experience you go for!
As it was cold and there was frost in the morning so time for a quick toast at 5am and we left impatiently to the wall for the journey. It was INCREDIBLE AMAZING! The sunrise on the wall, the quietness, the freezing temperatures didn't matter as you get warm walking on the steps, the change of light on the wall, we couldn’t stop taking pictures.
The excitement to pass the Close to the end and around 9.30-10am, we crossed the first tourists, the end of the tranquility, but you had the wall ALL to yourself already for a few hours, so it doesn’t matter.
Transport to and forward can be done by public transport, it takes around 3 hours to get to the village nearby and then you have to arrange them to pick you up, or have a driver straight from Beijing A/R.

My personal advice, if you have 2 days: don't hesitate one second to go there if you like adventure and something out of the ordinary!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

From our room, we had an exquisite view of the Wall. It was great getting on a closed section of the wall as there was no one else around. (Caution for those who like peace and quiet as the further West you go, the noisier it becomes!) The food was amazing and we had the braised eggplant three times! The prices though were an issue as we were emailed the price of 120 a night for a double room then charged 150 a night as they were 'new rooms'. this was disappointed as was the extra 10RMB we were tried to charge for the driver. After so much hassle with the locals in Beijing, we were really fed up with tried to be charged extra for little things which just didn't need to happen. We took a lot of water as it's really expensive at the hostel (5 RMB for 500ml). The bed was ok but the corn husk stuffed pillows affected my one and only allergy and it was only by good fortune that I caught before I slept and made a pillow out of a jumper instead. they have extra blankets for those travelling after October but a sleeping bag wouldn't be a bad idea for cooler months.
the 'guided' tour to the Wall for sunset wasn't guided at all and we ended up getting lost in the dark! We were not pleased with this but there was no apology.
If you want a personal view of the wall and some peace and quiet while you stare at the northern stars, this is a great place but expect to pay about 1,000 RMB for two nights after you pay the driver, room and food.
The food was good but a contradiction in terms. It's more expensive because they need to bring things in but travel to pick people up daily and then supple most of the food from the village which is a 10 minute walk from the hostel....Go figure!

Room Tip: By fitness centre, you mean the wall itself, i'd give it a 5 as that is ONE steep climb! Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel don't have shower, the bathroom smells urine and the garbage is near the rooms. The paid breakfast is a omelet with kilos of oil and dry bread. My brother and I arrived late because we stoped in the bus station. The taxi driver don't speak english and got lost for three times before arriving there.

Room Tip: there is no good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristinacarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Great location, quiet and only a few minutes away from the Great wall. The 4-5 hour walk on the Wall is just amazing and accessible also for children. The hotel is VERY basic but charming with very friendly and helpful owners.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisbeth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very honest and simple service, but the location is definitely worth it.
By a sunny and beautiful morning, start walking on the wall as soon as you can, and enjoy being alone on the Great Wall.
The owners will tell you not to waste time on the closed section, but no worries the guards are never there.
The section with the written stones is particularly breathtaking!
A very rare experience, feeling...
Pierre D. - France

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Amazing location with some limitiations (some quite serious)
-wall is just 2 minutes away, but you can access it only very early in the morning as there is a guard that won't let you in during the day. I wish I knew that.
-rooms are extremely basic, but this is how the owner lives so that is no biggie.
-outhouse, smells like one, but again... having the view of the wall kissed by the moon while walking to the outhouse is priceless..
-great food, although expensive. Be careful, you pay everything at 3 times the price you pay elsewhere.
-taxi driver from guesthouse is terrible. Had about 30 almost head on collisions on way to Beijing and found out that although I paid for the expressway, he was instructed by the owner to take the cheap local way. Had a major freakdown when he could not understand me after we almost ended up under a truck.

All In all it was worth it for the location, but be careful they will try to get all your hard worked money. So be smart and say no.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,462 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dongpo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongpo Inn

Property: Dongpo Inn
Address: 100 m north of the greatwall, Beijing, China
Location: China > Beijing > Miyun Scenic Resort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 1,324 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dongpo inn is a little guesthouse located between two of the most beautiful and least touristic sections of the Great Wall: Jinshanling on its Western part and Simatai on its Eastern part.There are 2 beautiful treks you can do from there: one lasting for less than 2 hours and one lasting for 3/4 hours.It’ s possible to walk on the Simatai section from Dongpo inn (200 m). The hike is around 2 hours. Then, the trek from Simatai to Jinshanling lasts around 3 hours. Those two sections of the Great Wall are not touritic spots at all, and allow you to enjoy the Great Wall in amazing conditions.Prices of the rooms are as follow:· Double bed room 120 yuans· Twin beds room 120 yuans· Traditional heating bed room « kang » 230 yuans(fits 4 adults or up to 5 with kids)The inn is also a restaurant and an especially good one as the owner was a chef in luxurious hotels. Prices are slightly more expensive than what you get in Beijing, but when you will see the location of the inn you’ll understand that logistics has a price.Food is excellent as all they can get locally, they take it from their parents’ kitchen garden in the nearby Dongpo village (that you can visit if you have time it is at a 15-20 minutes’ walk from the Inn). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing