We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredibly friendly staffs”
Review of Peking Yard Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peking Yard Hostel
Ranked #129 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“incredibly friendly staffs”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a good time staying at Peking yard hostel, standard double bed private ensuite. Location was near subway, easy to get to, and to all attractions via subway. The place was quiet and safe in an original hutong. The room is just big enough with airconditioner/heater but no TV. Bed was very soft and comfortable. Adequate power outlet to charge our camera (no adaptor provided). Shower is adequately hot and clean. Toilet has separate dry and wet area, a dryer, clean towel, no soap/brush. Washer, microwave were available. Lobby is nice to sit for free wifi (faster in the morning). No outside food allowed in lobby though. The staffs were friendly (esp. Mr.Zhang wei), helpful and speak excellent English, taking time to explain and help us plan our trip. Train ticket agency available(daytime). Luggage room available (no identification check though) There are convenient stores around but you have to walk north towards Ghost street. We are early traveler (leave the place at sunrise every morning, and was successful in avoiding the crowds) and found it a little difficult to find breakfast. Breakfast in lobby starts after 7 while outside hutong corner there is only one dumpling restaurant open at 6am. The only complaint is not about the hostel, but Beijing city smoke/ air quality). We’d definitely stay at this place again during our next visit.

Room Tip: our room was next to lobby so we could use wifi in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thanathos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    80
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
47
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent quality hostel tucked down a old Beijing hutong.
Communal area is by far the best I've ever stayed in at this price bracket-comfy quality furniture, leafy with flowers & plants, excellent decor and mood sound and lighting after 10pm-very well put together.
We stayed in a dorm which is located in a separate block, beds warm & bedding comfortable. Had a peek in the twin and double rooms within the courtyard of the building and they looked stylishly simplistic.
Staff fluent in English very friendly, can organise train tickets at small extra cost.
Very impressed, only downside being this was our first hostel in China and I just know none of the others for the next month will be at this same high level...many thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Peking Yard Hostel for 4 nights at the end of August at the beggining of our honeymoon. The hostel’s directions of getting there from the near by metro station were very good and the station was very close to the hostel.
The hostel is located in a small alley that looks kinda dodgy at first but is actually nothing to worry about.
The people at reception spoke relatively good English and were happy to help with directions to different sites.
When checking in you have to give 100 RMB cash as deposit.
We booked a double room en suite. The bed was very comfortable but took up most of the room since it was tiny(!) and we didn’t have much space with our suitcases. The rooms are surrounding a small garden which was very nice but might have been the reason for the mosquitos. However, the windows have nets on them so the mosquitos shouldn’t bother you in the room. Just make sure the net isn’t torn as ours was.
The hostel supplies you with 2 free small bottles of mineral waters on your first day. Also gives you towels but no soap or shampoo. The complemetary flip flops that were in the room looked more like flip flops the previous guest left behind.
The bathroom was clean and the shower was very good but we were told not to throw toilet paper in the toilet but in the bin next to it, which wasn’t very pleasent. Another issue was that there was no sink in the bathroom, it was actually outside of the bathroom just next to the bed so if you’re a light sleeper you might wake up when your partner wakes up to go to the toilet at night and then washes his/her hands.
The hostel’s common area is very nice and has sofas, many books, a pool table (that can be used till 23:00), a computer and free wifi.
The hostel also have a washing machine that you can use for a small price. We haven’t used it so I don’t remember what it was but it was low, something like 20-30 RMB per load if memory serves me right.
The hostel is 1-2 minutes walk from a small 7/11 so you can get snacks and drinks. When you leave the hostel go right till the end of the alley, turn right and after a bit you’ll see the 7/11 on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ifat_and_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We traveled 2 weeks in China with my parents (62 y/o). We wanted to be comfortable but on reasonable budget. This hotel was the best surprise, before we arrived I was worried but it was a great surprise.
This place is beautiful, relaxing, warm-welcoming design and atmosphere, clean, great rooms. We just LOVED the place! the staff was helpful and kind. The location is great - just a walking distance from the center or the subway.
We were so happy we found this place :)
We had a flight at 2am (we had to leave the hotel around 11pm) so we thought we had to keep a room until then and pay for a full night - but the staff offered us instead, to leave our bags in the storage room, comeback in the evening, and use the public shower before we leave to the airport so that way we can save money instead of paying for a room. The public shower was clean and comfortable. and so we did. we left to the airport at 11pm as planned after a good shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bgroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hostel were really friendly and helpful! They spoke excellent English and did anything that you asked them! They booked train tickets for us as when we tried at the station ourselves it was crowded, and the clerks spoke little English.

The atmosphere in the common area was lovely, with comfy couches and really nicely designed, with pool tables and great wifi!

The food was really nice and the beers were cheap! They serve a nice breakfast with great coffee.

The room I stayed in was a 6 bed dorm, it was a little cramped but most hostels are! The mattress on my bed was quite thin so a little uncomfortable but all the other beds seemed to have thicker mattresses. The room was clean and each bed had a lamp and small shelf and a plug. The room had lockers to store your belongings and safety deposit boxes at reception.

The toilets were clean and showers were also really clean with good power and hot water.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank total_ledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice but expensive hostel. We stayed in dorm rooms across the lane from the main hostel which are not as nice as the main hostel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, hostel is clean, located close to a metro but not as convenient to the main sues as we had expected but the metro is excellent so not really an issue.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wonderfully soft mattresses. washer AND dryer - BUT can only be used from 0900-2000. good breakfast and have a bakery just around the corner if you prefer that. Bank with ATM also just around the corner. Two subway lines within very short walking distance. Walking distance to Nanlougoshan for great shopping in the old alleyway.Has a few unique shops - not just the same old junk stores as everywhere else. Plenty of hot water in shower. a/c works well. second time I've stayed there in Beijing. In a great old Hutong - it's unlikely that your taxi drive will be able to get down this alley so you'll have to carry your stuff for several hundred yards. It's worth it.

Room Tip: All likely good as it's in a quiet alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#133 of 6,473 in Beijing
297 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#172 of 6,473 in Beijing
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#171 of 6,473 in Beijing
98 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#48 of 6,473 in Beijing
555 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peking Yard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking Yard Hostel

Property: Peking Yard Hostel
Address: No.28A Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng Disctrict, Beijing, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Peking Yard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peking Yard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing