We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Nice interior , Bad maintenance”
Review of Peking Yard Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peking Yard Hostel
Ranked #122 of 6,522 Hotels in Beijing
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice interior , Bad maintenance”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hostel has a very good location, only 5 minutes walk away from the subway which is very convenient to backpackers. Located in a quiet hutong which offers authentic life of the locals. The lobby/lounge was beautiful decorated and cosy. However, the toilet in our 6-beds dorm (No: 107) has strong smell of urine (although the bathroom appeared to be cleaned) the moment we stepped into it. We were curious where the smell came from and at night we found out that the toilet was leaking. Hence, we told the staff about the problem the next morning, and expected them to repair it during our city tour. Unfortunately, the leaks were not repaired and even worst than before.

We were told not to throw any tissue in the toilet, which we did not and same problem occurred. We stayed for 2 nights and moved to another hotel. We have to say we were satisfied with the interior of PY, however, with the money we paid and the services we received. We would really wanted to introduce PY to our friends/family, however this would not be the good recommendations.

Room Tip: Private room will be the best choice, however the price will be much more the same with other hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegeneLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    81
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
47
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hostel has a very good location close to the subway and in a genuine hutong. Staff are friendly and English is spoken, which is a quite rare commodity in China. Internet connection is good, but only in the lobby. The only minus is that it is a bit expensive for a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuareg_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This cozy and nice place seems fairly new and oozes the home-away-from home feeling. We received a warm welcome upon arrival early morning, but unfortunately our experience with the staff went downwards from there (rather uppish and very uninformed answers to our questions). The wonderful lobby/lounge area has free WiFi, comfy sofas, a pool table and you can even play the guitar. Double rooms are quite small and considered the price you can get better value in mid-range hotels in Beijing, but you'll miss the great atmosphere of the hostel. The quaint rooftop terrace and courtyard add to the overall homey feeling of this place.
We haven't tried the food but the breakfast options seemed rather expensive, the espresso was good and reasonably priced though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vin3berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

During our stay in Beijing (August 2012) we stayed in 3 hostels (you can see my other reviews). This was the best of them, by far. Clean, super clean! Nice bathrooms, B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L lounge area, with books, wifi, billiard table, and so on. The girls in the reception were fantastic, they did the yellow immigraton card for us in seconds. Very helpful. Breakfast was expensive and not good, avoid it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaconiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Peking Yard for 4 nights at the beginning of August 2012. Our party was made up of my wife and I, my 2 boys (15 and 10) and my father, so we booked one of the dorm style rooms for all of us.

Coming in, I was immediately impressed how comfortable the common area looked. The girls at the reception desk are very nice and have good enough English to help you out but may require rephrasing the question(s) a few times. As for the room, we booked a "dorm" style room so we could all stay in the same room together. I have to admit, the beds were really comfortable and had a good night sleep every night. Also, each bed has it's own outlet and reading light.

The one negative that I have is the bathroom, even though it was clean, there is always the left over smell from the garbage and the drain. Some of this has to do with the fact that they don't use a "U" bend for the plumbing of the sink and toilet and that you don't flush toilet paper in most places in China. Besides that, it was very clean and comfortable.

The location itself can't be more convenient. First, you get to experience firsthand the life in a Hutong. (You should see the beautiful daycare a few doors down) Next, you're less than 5 minutes walk to the metro, which takes you pretty much everywhere. The Forbidden City is 5 stops away and "Snack Street" is only 3 stops down the metro line. As for food, we more or less ate breakfast and dinner on Dong Si Bei Da Jie (The main street at the end of the alleyway). For breakfast, walk out of the hostel, and go right to the main street. Turn left and go about 3 doors down. We would get 2 steamers of dumplings, 2 bowls of wonton soup, 3 bread sticks and a bowl of hot soya milk, all for 20 yuan. (I swear we must have been the first Caucasians to walk into that place from the surprised looks we had from everyone.) As for dinner, cross the street and go right (south) for about 5-10 minutes. There's a great dumpling place right on one of the street corners. I can't remember the name of the place but the from was all glass and you could see a second floor sitting area.

Overall, we had a great experience and would recommend this place to our friends who are looking at staying outside of big hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yan8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

As a hostel, it is very OK. The employees speak English, which is not something you should expect in Beijing.The interior is nice and delicate, the dorm (I stayed in one for six people) is newly painted and has it's own bathroom with shower. The hostel also has double rooms ensuite, I got a peak and it looked decent. It's clean and you can order breakfast and dinner, which is quite OK. My friends and I (four people) booked for four nights through a hostel site, and upon arrival they had booked the first night only for one person. So three of us had to stay our first night at another hostel close by. This was very odd, and the staff admitted that they did not quite understand why this had happened. Well, that was all they admitted. Understanding the world of service and hospitality is not their forte. This made my impression of the hostel rather average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misstravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa fe
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

As with any place the staff makes it or breaks it. The staff here was great. The hostel was very clean, had many extras, a laundry, great commons room, good food and air conditioning. We had some friends visit us who were staying at other hotels and they all moved over here, much preferring it to their places. Easy to get to via metro, which is great because the Beijing cab drivers are really a pain to deal with. You can't go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room for 2 which I shared, Bunk beds and small but certainly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restless108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#132 of 6,522 in Beijing
303 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#187 of 6,522 in Beijing
312 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#149 of 6,522 in Beijing
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#159 of 6,522 in Beijing
757 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,522 in Beijing
572 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peking Yard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking Yard Hostel

Property: Peking Yard Hostel
Address: No.28A Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng Disctrict, Beijing, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Peking Yard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peking Yard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing