We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful guesthouse, but way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Peking Yard Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peking Yard Hostel
Ranked #126 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful guesthouse, but way overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011 and enjoyed the rooms, since they were very clean. Nevertheless the room are terribly overpriced, even to Beijing standards. They're asking hotel prices here, but you won't get the amenities that usually come with a hotel. Hardly any service, extremely small breakfast (comes with double rooms, no drinks), which is not even included when you book a room with shared bathroom. They should inform you about things like that. We really don't like to complain and have been traveling through Asia for 4 months, but this was really the worst value for money..

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    79
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
47
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed 8 nights in October in Peking Yard and we were very well received. The lobby is great and super cozy. The music blends with the environment and the food is wonderful. Hey Jack, how are you going?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Just got back from Beijing and stayed at the Peking Yard Hostel. Had the double room with private bath for 400RMB/night. The hostel and rooms were clean, and I enjoyed my stay here. They just started serving free breakfast with your stay, so that helped offset the high cost. Something they could, and should, provide with the price of your room is soap and shampoo. This isn't too much to ask for considering the price of US$65 per night. There are also no drawers or shelves in the rooms for your belongings so you have to make do the best you can. Also, the rooms can get a bit stuffy and humid. The showers have quite a bit of mildew which can disgust some folks - like my girlfriend. (Hey staff, a little bleach/water spray does wonders.)
Again, I liked the place. The lounge is fantastic, and I loved the neighborhood. Close to the subway, and lots of restaurants to choose from. They say NO OUTSIDE FOOD OR DRINK allowed which is ridiculous. It's 4RMB for a giant beer down the alley, and a minimum price of 10RMB for a 12oz Tsingtao in the hostel. Guess what, I broke that rule multiple times.
Anyway, it is a nice place and friendly staff (except the girl in the red hoodie who can be a bit rude). I would stay there again despite the shortcomings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Hi, stayed here at the end of September for 5 nights, it was my first ever mixed dorm experience and ihave to say it was a pleasure. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with private bathroom and it was very clean, spacious enough, own locker and very quiet. There is a great roof terrace and the lounge is very cool too. Front desk is very helpful and the only thing that stops me giving the hostel full marks is the coffee and breakfasts are very expensive. Actually breakfast is ridiculously expensive so eat local or go to Macdonalds down the road.

Great location, good value dorms, clean, tidy friendly and a nice crowd in the hostel - thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveyG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I booked a private room (double), costed me 400RMB a night, not a cheap price, actually you can book a 3 stars hotel room in Beijing already.

But they have good location, only a 5 minute walk from the subway. The road is clean and nearby residential area. however, if you go back in midnight, a bit silent and recommend girl to be accompanied if you would afraid.

you cant expect it as a hotel. no wardrobe, no bath tube, no fancy interior
all you have are a clean and comfortable bed, a desk (with no drawer or anything), a chair, 2 lamps, and then a toilet with shower and installed hair dryer (vy important to ladies!)
my room is all about 3X4M, including the bedroom and toilet

generally clean, and they make room everyday. however i have once found a bit stink in the toilet. well, it is a traditional and so old building, so the pipe are not very good........ they also ask you not to throw toilet paper in the toilet.....so i guess thats the reason. but luckily, it is not a serious problem in my room

they have a lovely common room, vy relaxing with free wifi, and they offer quite good breakfast. you can also find a lot of good and cheap food around! go to main road and turn right there is a 24 hour convenience store, you can buy stuff and beer there, hostel sell beer and drink at a relatively high price.

for wifi, my room is close to the common room so i can receive the free wifi in my room, so i guess, it depends on your luck~

a kind reminder, subway is terrible in peak hour, you have to FIGHT! so ..... avoid using it in peak hours......

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indigo_Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Peking Yard Hostel is a great find for budget lodging in Beijing. I am a frequent visitor and have stayed in average Chinese hotels, Motel 168/Home Inn style budget rooms, and this was the best thus far.

The hostel is about a 5 minute walk from the nearest metro station and nestled up a typical hutong alleyway. For the duration of our stay (4 days, a group of 10), the front desk staff was great, with good-enough English and information for whatever questions you might have. They can help book transport (airport, train station), private drivers (for Great Wall trips) and have smaller group tours on offer.

The rooms themselves were very clean, with functioning air-con, clean and modern bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. The courtyard remains quiet (no noise after 10pm) and most of the activities are held in the common area, which is a gorgeous little living room in the lobby, with wooden ceilings, long hardwood tables, stereo system and projection TV. There's a billiards table, lots of magazines and books and snacks/beverages/alcohol available for purchase in the coolers near the entrance. Meals and coffee are also available for a good price.

The atmosphere was great. On our 2 week tour of China, my relatives visiting from the US noted this as their favorite lodging. We had a couple twenty-somethings and a couple aunts and uncles in their 60s and 70s. To say that even they were satisfied is a good indication of the quality of the place. It's not a typical in-and-out cheapo hostel. It has the feel of a hip B&B. Highly recommended if you're in town.

Room Tip: If you can request a room away from the street, it could make a difference. Although during our sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil_Yeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a peaceful hostel for resting, to meet fellow travellers and get your energies back before immerse yourself in the crazy busy Beijing!
Stayed there 4 nights in August 2011 and had a great time. Centrally located, in the hutong district. Plenty of nice restaurants in walking distance. The 6bed dorm was spotless, beds are comfy and nights are quite. The chilling area is one of my favourite in China, so relaxing, with plants, a little fountain and comfy sofas and armchairs. Staff is very helpful and nice, they also run walking tour to the Great Wall. Would definitely recommend this place for your stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#125 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Houhai
CU National Youth Hostel
CU National Youth Hostel
#132 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#172 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#124 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peking Yard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking Yard Hostel

Property: Peking Yard Hostel
Address: No.28A Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng Disctrict, Beijing, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Peking Yard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peking Yard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing