We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peking Yard Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$148
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$235
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$222
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$84
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
$78
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$83
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
73
83
26
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
83
26
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomrooftop terracewalking distance from the centerspeak excellentmetro stationlocation is greatcomfortable bedscouple of nightsrooms are smallsitting areahutongwifilobbywallchinaenglishalleyway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 191 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Just got back from Beijing and stayed at the Peking Yard Hostel. Had the double room with private bath for 400RMB/night. The hostel and rooms were clean, and I enjoyed my stay here. They just started serving free breakfast with your stay, so that helped offset the high cost. Something they could, and should, provide with the price of your room is soap and shampoo. This isn't too much to ask for considering the price of US$65 per night. There are also no drawers or shelves in the rooms for your belongings so you have to make do the best you can. Also, the rooms can get a bit stuffy and humid. The showers have quite a bit of mildew which can disgust some folks - like my girlfriend. (Hey staff, a little bleach/water spray does wonders.)
Again, I liked the place. The lounge is fantastic, and I loved the neighborhood. Close to the subway, and lots of restaurants to choose from. They say NO OUTSIDE FOOD OR DRINK allowed which is ridiculous. It's 4RMB for a giant beer down the alley, and a minimum price of 10RMB for a 12oz Tsingtao in the hostel. Guess what, I broke that rule multiple times.
Anyway, it is a nice place and friendly staff (except the girl in the red hoodie who can be a bit rude). I would stay there again despite the shortcomings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Hi, stayed here at the end of September for 5 nights, it was my first ever mixed dorm experience and ihave to say it was a pleasure. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with private bathroom and it was very clean, spacious enough, own locker and very quiet. There is a great roof terrace and the lounge is very cool too. Front desk is very helpful and the only thing that stops me giving the hostel full marks is the coffee and breakfasts are very expensive. Actually breakfast is ridiculously expensive so eat local or go to Macdonalds down the road.

Great location, good value dorms, clean, tidy friendly and a nice crowd in the hostel - thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveyG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I booked a private room (double), costed me 400RMB a night, not a cheap price, actually you can book a 3 stars hotel room in Beijing already.

But they have good location, only a 5 minute walk from the subway. The road is clean and nearby residential area. however, if you go back in midnight, a bit silent and recommend girl to be accompanied if you would afraid.

you cant expect it as a hotel. no wardrobe, no bath tube, no fancy interior
all you have are a clean and comfortable bed, a desk (with no drawer or anything), a chair, 2 lamps, and then a toilet with shower and installed hair dryer (vy important to ladies!)
my room is all about 3X4M, including the bedroom and toilet

generally clean, and they make room everyday. however i have once found a bit stink in the toilet. well, it is a traditional and so old building, so the pipe are not very good........ they also ask you not to throw toilet paper in the toilet.....so i guess thats the reason. but luckily, it is not a serious problem in my room

they have a lovely common room, vy relaxing with free wifi, and they offer quite good breakfast. you can also find a lot of good and cheap food around! go to main road and turn right there is a 24 hour convenience store, you can buy stuff and beer there, hostel sell beer and drink at a relatively high price.

for wifi, my room is close to the common room so i can receive the free wifi in my room, so i guess, it depends on your luck~

a kind reminder, subway is terrible in peak hour, you have to FIGHT! so ..... avoid using it in peak hours......

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indigo_Pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Peking Yard Hostel is a great find for budget lodging in Beijing. I am a frequent visitor and have stayed in average Chinese hotels, Motel 168/Home Inn style budget rooms, and this was the best thus far.

The hostel is about a 5 minute walk from the nearest metro station and nestled up a typical hutong alleyway. For the duration of our stay (4 days, a group of 10), the front desk staff was great, with good-enough English and information for whatever questions you might have. They can help book transport (airport, train station), private drivers (for Great Wall trips) and have smaller group tours on offer.

The rooms themselves were very clean, with functioning air-con, clean and modern bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. The courtyard remains quiet (no noise after 10pm) and most of the activities are held in the common area, which is a gorgeous little living room in the lobby, with wooden ceilings, long hardwood tables, stereo system and projection TV. There's a billiards table, lots of magazines and books and snacks/beverages/alcohol available for purchase in the coolers near the entrance. Meals and coffee are also available for a good price.

The atmosphere was great. On our 2 week tour of China, my relatives visiting from the US noted this as their favorite lodging. We had a couple twenty-somethings and a couple aunts and uncles in their 60s and 70s. To say that even they were satisfied is a good indication of the quality of the place. It's not a typical in-and-out cheapo hostel. It has the feel of a hip B&B. Highly recommended if you're in town.

Room Tip: If you can request a room away from the street, it could make a difference. Although during our stay, it was always quiet and peaceful. Just a thought.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil_Yeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a peaceful hostel for resting, to meet fellow travellers and get your energies back before immerse yourself in the crazy busy Beijing!
Stayed there 4 nights in August 2011 and had a great time. Centrally located, in the hutong district. Plenty of nice restaurants in walking distance. The 6bed dorm was spotless, beds are comfy and nights are quite. The chilling area is one of my favourite in China, so relaxing, with plants, a little fountain and comfy sofas and armchairs. Staff is very helpful and nice, they also run walking tour to the Great Wall. Would definitely recommend this place for your stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews