We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and nice hostel”
Review of Peking Yard Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peking Yard Hostel
Ranked #114 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Peking Yard has the warmest and coziest lobby!! and this is an important quality for a hostel =) The staffs have good english, i mean, compare to other Chinese people you find in the street, they're also helpful and nice. About the room, the private one is so hotel-like, clean, super comfy, and complete facilities, the strongest wifi signal is in the lobby and sometimes didn't reach the room but its still fine. Location is super, only 2 mins away from the nearest subway, what more can you ask ;)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Niantiaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Peking Yard Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 187 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

Staff were excellent, room was very clean, although a little small. Meals were very good and ate in most nights. We had three children with us and they hads no problems with the Hostel. Taxi drivers don't seem to know where Hostel is so take a good map and try to get Chinese directions. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Where to start,
Location - perfect, next to everything that is important in Beijing.
Value - Cheaper than some that are not as good.
Cleanliness - through out the hostel was spotless.
Dorm - clean room, bed comfy and clean sheets.
Food - most day eat in, what more can I say.
Staff - fantastic, could not do enough for you and very helpful.

They have set the bar very high, I'm hoping the hostels I stay at on my world trip are half as good, I'll be happy.

If I'm ever in Beijing again, it will be my first port of call.

Room Tip: Just turn up, you'll not be disappointed in.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jdc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I chose to stay in Peking Yard after reading all the very promising reviews from web. Did not have to be negatively surprised. The place was very nice, service very good- staff members speak excellent English; common room very cosy and great both for working and free-time.
The traditional yard and the whole hutong is well renovated and has a special atmosphere.
The room I stayed had everything to make the stay comfortable, still it was tiny-tiny. Still, next to the room was some kind of generator, which did make a little noise, so that's why
I cannot say sleep quality was perfect.
The place is nearby metro station and main spots in a city are easily approachable. However, arriving late by taxi, the driver still might face some difficulties do find it. At least, it was a case with my taxi driver. I was lucky- 2 nice French people staying in the same place, showed the direction to the hostel!

Though the place is not the cheapest you can find in Beijing, I'd go back there again once I'll fly in to Beijing again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepitap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Peking Yard Hostel for eight nights in January and loved every minute of it. The rooms (we had a double ensuite) were spotless and very comfortable. The setting is great, in a courtyard house down a lane. The staff were excellent, always willing to help, writing down anything we needed, booking anything we wanted and generally making sure we had a good stay. The common area was very relaxing, exactly what you need after a long day in the hustle and bustle of Beijing. It is very low key and quiet, perfect for working or reading a book or just chilling out.

It is only five minutes from a subway line and is a short walk to Ghost Street with all the restaurants you could ever want.

We will definitely be staying here again.
Barry and Sonya

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirhenrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

One of the best hostels I have experienced, and good value to boot. Ok, its not dead centre in beijing, but its only a 20 -30 min saunter, or 10 - 15 min tube ride to main places. Bet of all its in a traditional Hutong, which is so much more atmospheric than a bland hotel complex.
The Yard has a little garden, and a roof terrace, inside there is good backpacking food, although a little steep in price, interenet and a pool table. Plus live music once a week.
The staff are very friendly and helpful with trips out and about, and advice about the local area. Highly recommended. We booked a few nights and ended up staying alot longer, as Beijing needs to explored to get the best out of it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimWoods79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed in Peking Hostel one night. The rooms are clean, and beds are fine.

We love the decoration, and the sofas are extremely comfortable. A good place to work, or relax. You can also play pool. The location is good - the street itself has nothing to offer, but it's nearby the old Beijing hutongs, and other places to go sightseeing.

Another time, we came back to have lunch. We were there at 13:00, but kitchen was closed. There were hardly any other snacks on the menu, and we were not amused by the unfriendly welcome by the staff. So we decided to leave.

We decided to give it another try and have dinner there. Again, there were enough staff members, but no service whatsoever. When we wanted to order, the kitchen appeared to be closed. As it was earlier than indicated on the menu, they decided to open the kitchen after all. We ordered garlic bread, and hamburgers. Both were just OK. We also ordered a bottle of wine (240 RMB). The wine was very good.

Despite the unresponsive waiters, we had a good evening. The food and wine was 450 RMB for two people.

We were, however, unpleasantly surprised when they added 50 RMB for a wine glass we - of course unintentionally - broke (and cleaned all the broken glass ourselves!). When we asked why 1. we need to pay the glass at all (when a bill is quite high for Beijing hostel standards) and 2. a glass is that expensive - the only answer we got was a bored look and "what's your problem?!?!"

Conclusion: nice place, but a lot of work needs to be done on service...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#139 of 6,531 in Beijing
306 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#190 of 6,531 in Beijing
315 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Classic Courtyard
The Classic Courtyard
#151 of 6,531 in Beijing
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ping An Fu Hotel
Ping An Fu Hotel
#3,201 of 6,531 in Beijing
87 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peking Yard Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peking Yard Hostel

Address: No.28A Wangzhima Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng Disctrict, Beijing, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $17 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peking Yard Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peking Yard Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing