We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quanzi International Youth Hostel
Ranked #45 of 932 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Rather disappointed”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband & I decided to book our 3 nights in Beijing at this hotel based on the glowing recommendations below. Whilst I would agree with the comments on the exceptional level of service, good location and adequate accommodation (small clean room & bedding, clean bathroom with hot & cold shower, aircon & free wifi), we were highly disappointed after not being able to sleep a wink on our first night from all the noise and loud chatter coming from the enclosed courtyard. Each room faces onto the small courtyard so there are no ‘quiet’ rooms. At 380 RMB per night we also questioned whether this was really very good value-for-money and therefore checked out after the first night after finding something much better & actually cheaper! So my final comment on this hotel would be, if you’re able to sleep through lots of noise or happy to use earplugs, then this place will be adequate.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichAndMelHeslop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
15
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 12 days in april/march throughout the chinese part of our round-the-world trip. I can honestly say it was a stay i will never forget. It was not the cheapest or fanciest place, but it really shaped our stay in beijing and our experience of the chinese people. The warmth of the employees and their interest in making our stay in beijing something special was second to none!
We spent several nights with the owner, bing, at his favorite restaurant round the corner. Eating local dishes with his family drinking a lot of local beer, and communicating solely with laughs and bodylanguage, is an experience well never forget. The english speaking staff gave us insight in the chinese people that you could not get from professional guides. Being greeted by the hotel dog, maomao, after a long day really felt like like a coming home. I truly felt sad when i gave the receptionist, william, a big hug when we had to leave. A place like this is hard to come by and i can honestly say that the great recommendations here on tripadvisor reflects what you can expect to get. I miss these guys and this place...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JesperLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

My wife, four year old son, and I had an enjoyable time in our stay at
the Qingfeng-Xisi Hutong Guest House in the spring of 2011. We were in
Beijing visiting her family. In 1998 and 2005 we had stayed in her
father's court yard house near the bell and drum towers. However this
house was being rented. So my wife read about this guest house and it
turned out to be a great substitute. As one of the interesting things
about Beijing is being around the day-to-day life in the smaller
neighborhoods. The neighborhood the guest house was in wasn't
'touristy' or built up at all, but it is well-located as it is inside
the 2nd ring road and you can get around via subway, bus and taxi. The
guest house staff was young, friendly and very helpful. One night they
invited guests to make/eat dumplings. This was fun and we met guests
from France, Vietnam, England, U.S., and Kazakhstan. They do a good job keeping
the two computers in the desk in the back room working. So, great
place... my only caveat is that you need to be just a bit on the
adventurous side if you don't speak Chinese or know Beijing already.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mparker84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here in a dorm room in February 2010 (double room too expensive!) and thought the hostel was fantastic. The location was brilliant, we felt like we were seeing the real city by being in a hutong and it was perfect for exploring Old Beijing and the sites. The staff here were great (especially the manager William, super friendly and helpful. The owner, Bing, even shared his keg of German beer with us one night that he'd been given as a gift. They also had a free dumpling evening and made a special effort to run out and buy extra ingredients for just me and I am vegtarian! I'd highly reccommend staying here to any travellers. The only downside was that the dorm showers were in a cold outhouse and there was no window in the dorm room.

Really glad we stayed here as it was a great introduction to China.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Electr0nica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This hostel was an additive experience to my stay in Beijing. Although I arrived the first morning before 7am and clearly woke up the people who manage the hostel, they were still so nice and accommodating. Not only was their spoken English so welcome, but their demeanor and helpfulness made me feel so much better after having just arrived in this new place. This continued throughout my stay. I would definitely stay here again if I find myself back in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Very cozy hostel set in a tradtional chinese hutong. Close to subway station which means you have access to everywhere in the city. Western toilets are a huge plus (if you hate the 'squatter' style) and are always clean. The plumbing is in order and hot water is plentiful. Rooms come with heaters and air conditioners which are needed in winter and summer respectively.

Staff here is the best that you can get. Everyone is friendly, outgoing, helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foggi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This is hostel heaven and the people are saints! Come here to experience the huge hearts and warmth of Beijing. I wish I had more than 5 stars for the quality of my stay at this wonderful hutong. As it was winter, I was given a free upgrade to this deluxe hostel instead of the Temple Lilian I originally booked. The Temple Lilian looks great for summer though.

The accommodation was spacious and interestingly decorated. The wifi worked well and the rooms were nice. The beds were a little hard, but this is true of most places in china - Westerners used to cushy beds have to adjust.

I love these people, and they redefine 'eager to please'! The employees are so incredibly friendly and will do anything with a smile to ensure a great stay. A few examples:

I booked a ticket to the Beijing opera with them, and guess what, Bing drove me there, INSISTED on waiting in the car during the performance, and drove me home. Who does that? The next night, I booked a last minute ticket to the kung fu show. He drove me, but because he was throwing a party for friends, gave me full cab fare back to the hostel. The man is a gift from the heavens. Now, I don't know if you should expect the same thing in summer in high season, but this just shows you the quality of people you're dealing with.

They'll do what they can, and with a smile. Book all your tours with them as well, as they offer better prices than most anywhere else. You'll never stay at a friendlier place. The neigbourhood is a very functional,safe, workaday part of the city, full of hutongs and restaurants. Stay here to see how people in Beijing really live. The subway and buses are close so its very easy to get around anywhere. I will definitely stay with them next time I'm in Beijing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimblenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Peking International Youth Hostel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,366 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,576 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,474 in Beijing
737 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quanzi International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quanzi International Youth Hostel

Property: Quanzi International Youth Hostel
Address: No.58 Xisi North Wutiao Hutong, Xicheng District, Beijing 100034, China (Formerly Qingfeng-Xisi Hutong Guest House)
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 932 Specialty Lodging in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quanzi International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guest house has been newly decorated in 2010 and is ready to welcome guests from all over the world. BackHome Beijing Guest house is a small 10 room Hutong Guest house located at No.58 Xisi bei wu tiao Hutong(No.58 Xisi North 5th Alley)XiCheng District in North West Beijing, not far from the Beijing North train station. This is a traditional hutong house with a courtyard. The house itself was built at the beginning of the Qing Dynasty and once was the residence of a Prime Minister in feudal times. It is about 700 years history.It also has a great courtyard outside of the rooms where one can sit and read and meet other guests. It is not far away from the famous Bai Ta Temple. The guest house is located in one of the nicest hutong areas of Beijing. Hutongs are traditional areas of the city where people still live very much as in a village. You can safely walk the small streets of the Hutong and see how people still live and work as they did hundreds of years ago. Visit the hutong markets and see the small shops offering a huge variety of things. Inside the beautiful sunny courtyard, there is a central air-conditioning, so you can enjoy the sunshine as well as cool air even in hot summer, and you can feel warm even it is snowy outside. The yard consists of Chinese and Western Leisure parts, Wi-Fi covers all over the yard. Elegant rooms are equipped with cold & warm air-conditioning.It is close to the subway stations of Line 4 and Line 2 which allow you to get around Beijing easily and quickly. The house is 20 minutes away from Tiananmen Square, 2 kms from the Northern Railway station, 4 kms from the West Railway station, and 28 kms from the airport, which cost you about 100 RMB by taxi.You can walk around Fu Cheng Men Street which is a main shopping street. The experience of living at Qingfeng xisi hutong guest house will give you a great understanding of the real China, far from the huge, modern glass buildings of downtown Beijing. You will find peace and friendliness here after a day of visiting the sights of Beijing. The friendly English speaking staff will make you feel you are living in a Chinese family. Want to learn Mandarin; this is the place to stay. Long term rates available. Contact us, we would to see you and see you back again. It is getting colder and colder in Beijing! We will offer you a warmer room Our guest house is a traditional style courtyard house. All rooms have air-conditioning and heating.Meanwhile, lower prices will be offered online since 1st of November until the end of March in the next year! Come and get your beds before they are fully booked.* FREE 24-hour hot shower* FREE towels* FREE books to borrow * FREE air ticket booking* FREE travel information* FREE hostel booking in China* The Great Wall ( Jinshanling to Simatai hiking, Mutianyu,etc;ba da ling) and lunch included* Show tickets with discount (kungfu, Peking opera, acrobatic show) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quanzi International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing