We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

The Great Wall Hike (James Private Tour)
Bangkok Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Went for a day hike with Ellen - one of the best experiences ever.
A slightly challenging walk, but so memorable...not a soul apart from our group of four.
Highly recommended - we have travelled to some fantastic places, and this is perhaps the best.
Cannot recommend James and Ellen enough

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolynann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    8
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A day out”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a day out with James at the Jiankou section of the Great Wall in March. Hardly anyone there on the day and James was a great guide. Thoroughly recommend him for a private tour and a memorable experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a great family experience”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We did the 1.5 day hike with 2 kids (aged 7 and 4). James was an excellent guide and very well organized. He was very understanding and helpful with the kids and also flexible. Some of the walk is quite a steep scramble but James was very good at keeping the kids safe. He was happy to change route a little to avoid a particularly steep section.
We would recommend doing the hike as well as a more touristy section of the wall.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A Walk on the Wild side of the Wall”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

An absolutely amazing day hiking the Great Wall out in the countryside with no one around except us! I can't recommend James' trip highly enough. We arranged it all on email and it was delivered to us perfectly- just what we wanted. At all times our safety was James' priority & he was encouraging and helpful to us as we climbed up some steep & a little scary sections of the Wall to have views that will last us a lifetime. A knowledgable & trustworthy guide. James' even took some wonderful photos of us climbing that he sent to us the next day. After our hike we went to the Public section of the Wall to go up by cable car & down by toboggan, also a good experience but obviously nothing like the Wild hike. If you have time to have a day out with James & get to hike on the Wild part of the Wall it will be a wonderful experience. We did the switch walk, the weather was perfect & for reasonable fitness levels it was fine. Wear good grip trainers or hiking boots & take enough water as it does get dry. A full and fun day out. I'd go again.....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank discovery204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central District, null, Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adventure of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have traveled all over the world and the trip with James was one of the best adventures I have ever had. I couldn't recommend a better way to see the Great Wall. Avoid all tourist spots and book a trip with James. We saw only a handful of people along the way and were essentially on our own for the entire 1.5 trip. The scenery was stunningly beautiful - far from the other tourists spots in and around Beijing. James is not only a fantastic guide (caring and professional) but also an interesting, genuine person. We had so much fun getting to know him and it made an already amazing experience hard to beat. I couldn't have been more thankful for this recommendation and I do not say that lightly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Wall Hike (James Private Tour) also viewed

 

Been to The Great Wall Hike (James Private Tour)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing