We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Oriental Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New Oriental Suites
Ranked #523 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and comfortable accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great location, room cleaned twice a week, a convenience store within a minute of leaving your room, felt safe with security at the entrance of the compound, whenever there were any issues e.g there was a powercut in the local area, Nathan, the landlord kept me informed and upto date of what was going on. All in all, I stayed for just under 3 months and for an individual looking for a safe, clean, comfortable apartment, I couldn't reccomend this place enough!

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JackBeijing2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
13
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

I've stayed in New Oriental Suites for about a month, service is extremely good. The room is newly furnished and I love the scenery from my room. If you need any hair dryer, ironing board, or even DVD player, let them know and they will be more than happy to provide for you. Really fantastic service and they provide weekly cleaning! I don't even need to bother to clean up the room. =) There's free Wifi and kitchen is quite well equipped. If you need an extra cutlery or utensil, let them know and they will provide for you. Communication is pretty easy as they have a foreigner as their staff.

It is in a very convenient location, near subway stations, shopping centres, and bus interchange. For those who intend to cook, they are located near to a market where you can get fresh food and fruits! Or you can actually head down to April Gourmet where they sell expat type of food and they do delivery the items you bought. Not sure whether is there a charge but feel free to check April Gourmet out!

New Oriental Suites is also located near to the various embassies, San Li Tun, and restaurants. Walking distance to San Li Tun, I would say. Even if you hail a cab, it should not cost more than 15yuan if there is no traffic congestion, disclaimer, based on my experience.

The only drawback is that if you would want to use the facilities, you would have to pay for them and it's quite costly.

Nonetheless, I had a great experience with New Oriental Suites. Would booked the rooms if I'm going back Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minnoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Hi,
I am an American who travels to this specific area in China every year to study taiji. I can tell you everything that others have already said here about the location and area, but there is no need to repeat that.

I will say I like this area very much and spent a lot of time and energy looking for a place just like this. I had many of my friends here in the USA and some in China try to help me too. I found this place online and met a very helpful and friendly young man named Nathan there. What a relief!!! As I said I have been to the Beijing many times this was my 7th trip.

Before my arrival I was very worried since I speak very little Chinese. As soon as I got off the plane I had to put everything in Nathans hands. I am so glad I did! He and his wonderful super assistant did more for me than could be expected. They went above and beyond the call of duty. They helped me to do so many things, even some things that a 5* hotel would never do. I feel I made some very nice new friends there.

As for the apartment...it was more than I had expected. Very clean, no bugs, a great view and 3-5 blocks from everything one needs. Even the guards at the gate where friendly. I have recommended this place to many others. Though it was a bit more expensive than I planned to spend I felt it was well worth it and I will stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taichicenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dali, Yunnan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed at the New Oriental Suites for around a week while waiting for my visa to be processed. I previously lived in Beijing for 7 years for work so I personally prefer staying a service styled hotel / apartment over anything else offered.

The rooms are newly renovated with modern facilities (free wifi!), spotless, with comfortable beds and a kitchenette. Private security guards are stationed at each of the entrances and every building / gate requires a key card so safety isn't a problem.

While most tourists tend to stay in the CBD (Business / Tourist area) where it's one giant, 24hr traffic jam the New Oriental Suites is located a couple of blocks from the Embassy District where the expat night life and most good restaurants are located. San Li Tun bar / shopping area is within walking distance as well as the Dong Zhi Men subway terminal that can whisk you off to any tourist spots your heart desires.

Basically if your not into overpriced 5 star hotels that tout the faux China experience or the backpacker hovels that cater to dirty hippies and their suicide inducing drum circles then the New Oriental Suites could be your cup of tea.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoulitudeDali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed at New Oriental Suites for about 1.5 months, from August to September. Its located in a very convenient location, next to subway stations and bus interchange, and had lots of great shopping areas and restaurants located around it. Its also located in an expat area hence the security is quite tight. Its within walking distance to the Sanlitun shopping and bar district which was really convenient. The apartment was fairly new and the hotel staff was great, adding things to the room if we asked, as long as it was reasonable. They had a foreigner as their staff so communication was easy since he spoke English. They provided weekly cleaning, which was great as we did not have to bother about cleaning it. The kitchen was fairly well equipped if you like to cook your own meals and theres a great market located very near the apartment if you want to get the freshest ingredients! Only drawback is that they do not provide certain essentials like toilet paper so you would have to get your own. The staff are also not around 24 hours as most of the time theres only 1 or 2 of them, would think its a great choice as a serviced apartment but not if you need hotel-like services 24 hours. They have fitness facilities but its on a per use basis, hence may be quite costly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nateq314, Owner at New Oriental Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Bathrooms are equipped with full roll of toilet paper at time of check-in. Starting from this month (October) going forward, we are replenishing it on a twice-weekly basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Oriental Garden Hotel
Oriental Garden Hotel
#168 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Haisheng International Apartment...
#1,308 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Seasons Park Ruizhi Service Apartment
Seasons Park Ruizhi Service Apar...
#2,681 of 6,445 in Beijing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ascott Raffles City Beijing
Ascott Raffles City Beijing
#119 of 6,445 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Oriental Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Oriental Suites

Property: New Oriental Suites
Address: No.36B Dongzhimenwai Main Street, Beijing 100000, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #523 of 6,445 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Oriental Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are currently all 1-bed suites including kitchen and bathroom. Conveniently located in the Dongzhimen district of Beijing with close access by subway or taxi to many popular business and tourist sites in Beijing, including CBD (Guomao), Tiananmen, the Sanlitun bar district and the Yonghegong temple, as well as Beijing Capital International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your New Oriental Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing