We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”
Review of Le Palais Rouge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Palais Rouge
Ranked #2,907 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed here in November 2013 and at first I disliked it. I was in a corner room and could hear what I can only describe as extremely loud shrieking from a woman all night in the next room. I honestly thought someone was giving birth. This kept me awake all night more or less,
The beds are very comfortable and you get complimentary toileteries. However, no free water. Not a big deal though.
Wifi didn't always work too well.
However, the staff are really friendly. They can't speak english too well but they were still polite.
The location is nice and quiet and down a hutong with a lot of nice little shops and places to eat nearby. There is a KFC and a Costa within 2-3 minutes walking distance.
I would stay here again. It got the job done and kept me safe.
My stay here didn't start out too great but after the first night I realised it was a one off bad night. Loved my stay after that. Very cheap and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
13
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Warm, clean and comfortable room. great location, Inside in a hutong, you don't need something more! At the facilities they said they have wash-machine on the rooms and we didn't hav, but we give our clothes to the staff and they cleaned us for free.
Highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giannis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savanna, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was very nice and conveniently located just 2 minutes from the Andingmen subway and Llama Temple. On our first night, we were in a room that opens directly onto the sidewalk, which is not good. Traffic noise from the adjacent ring road and people (and scooters) on the sidewalk right outside the door all night made for a restless night. When we asked for new rooms, we were moved into the interior of the hotel and all the previous issues disappeared. We never did figure out how to get breakfast, so instead went to the Costa Coffee just down the sidewalk. The nearby hutong is not worth all the fuss; over-priced bars and lots of tourists in this rebuilt street.

Room Tip: Any room but the three that face and open directly onto the sidewalk. Insist on a room in the inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Positives: The location is in a hutong and very convenient to subway line 2. Upon my arrival I was impressed with decor. The interior is really cool looking with bright red chinese lamps hanging at different lengths in the main corridor. Overall the hotel is decorated well. Each room is laid out differently which adds to the ambiance. The hotel common areas were clean as was my room. My room was also decorated well. It WAS small but I was comfortable as I was traveling alone. Each room has its own water heater so my showers were always hot.

The negatives: They were not friendly at all. I mean that, not at all. They got their jobs done and thats it. NO internet in the rooms. They always claimed they were fixing it but they never did. In my room, unfortunately I cannot remember the room number, the AC would make a really loud popping noise every hour or so. So much so it woke me up 2x in the night. They also advertise breakfast. I went up in the morning and sat down in the restaurant. They asked if I would like breakfast and I said yes. They went away and I thought I was waiting on a menu but to my surprise they came back with a plate of food (Banana, apple, eggs, toast). I told them I didn't order it and they said this is breakfast. :-)

Overall my feelings are that, for the price, there are better hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Be careful, you sign the creditcard innerorts. Ans so you Pay more than the Yuan Price
Otherwise very tasteful, Not so clean moisy but in a nice area
Not far from Subway breakfast Not so goodxxxx
Cafés Bar Aroms
But be careful with creditcard

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked this hotel through booking.com and only afterwards did I think to look at the reviews on tripadvisor! I was slightly worried but set off for Beijing sure it could not be that bad. On arrival in Beijing, not a single taxi driver seemed to know where this hotel was and the phone number I'd taken from their confirmation email (that THEY had sent!) was out of service. I eventually found the place, with the help of a friendly traffic warden. To be fair, the lane that the hotel is in is very sweet - lots of little shops, bars and cafes and Lama Temple is right at the end. The hotel seems very cute at first, very traditionally Chinese but perhaps it is too traditional - my room did not have the amenities listed on the website (hairdryer, toiletries, English-language TV, tea and coffee-making facilities), nor did it have other amenities, not listed but expected - hot water being the primary one I was concerned about. My booking was also meant to include breakfast but no one told me where to go or when. After a miserable, cold shower, I decided to move hotels and am checking out early tomorrow morning.

Room Tip: Where to stay in Beijing? Somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Grenoble
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is run by a French speaking Chinese "Dan" and he uses his French to give the impression of a warm service and focus towards the French travellers market, but in reality he is a scammer. Upon arrival at the train station (his driver was late, and sent with an assistant to speak with us) we were told that there was an "accident" and the rooms we booked were no longer available, but it was OK as they had found other accomodation for us. In reality the alternative was student type apartements on the outskirts of Beijing. With our flat refusal to accept this our rooms miraculously became available again so we finally went to the Palais Rouge after much time stuck in traffic. Upon arrival at the hotel we were give 2 small rooms that were not capable to hold the 7 of us as we had reserved and it took much negotiating and theats to get a solution (not really acceptable) but workable for everyone to have a bed. The rooms themselves are nicely done and the location is good. Its a shame that this good product is not followed up with any notion of customer service". We spoke with many of the other guest there and nearly all had nightmare stories like ours! AVOID AT ALL COSTS THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#108 of 6,474 in Beijing
451 reviews
Houhai
Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)
Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)
#2,814 of 6,474 in Beijing
155 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#29 of 6,474 in Beijing
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,366 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,856 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais Rouge

Property: Le Palais Rouge
Address: No.24 Zhonglouwan Hutong, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,907 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Palais Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Palais Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing