We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and very well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sureno

Sureno
Ranked #71 of 12,603 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Description: Sureño is the Mediterranean restaurant located on the lower ground level of The Opposite House—an intriguing urban hotel in the cosmopolitan district of Sanlitun. The warm interiors boast an open kitchen and a wood fired oven that evoke the casual style of the Mediterranean, where guests can also watch the live action while they dine. The menus draw on the freshest ingredients of Southern Europe and are updated quarterly at the turn of seasons.Through the à la carte and tasting menus, the restaurant focuses on seafood, hand made pastas, salads, and tapas, as well as choice cuts of imported meat prepared in the wood fired oven. The style is rustic and typical of the dishes one would expect in Spain, Greece, Southern France and Italy, with an inspiring wine selection for wine pairings.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice and very well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

A trendy spot, very popular w the Beijing "young and beautiful" crowd. The only reason I didn't rate it excellent is due to my arrogant North American bias that makes me expect English proficiency among all the customer facing staff if I'm going to pay top dollars

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Boris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    52
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Everything, from food to service, to environment, to wine. The wood fired pizzas are worth a go and the place is a very relaxing environment

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIGHTON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
216 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“As good as any Italian you will eat in Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Loved the food here, authentic Antipasta plate with delicious cold cuts and cheese. Pizza as thin and delicious as you would get in Napoli. Extensive wine list, gorgeous bread and oils. I could go on but you should really try it for yourself

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food and good lunch value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Opposite House Beijing - Sanlitun district of Beijing, China.

What’s in a name?

Think of something, like say an international five star hotel, and then your mind may well conjure up images of formal lobby’s, brocade curtains perhaps even, heaven forbid, guilt ormolu. Along with stuffy service staff with starched uniforms….now stick with that thought and then consider the complete opposite.

Do this, but in a good way, and you end up with what a hotel should be, somewhere actually interesting and desirable to go to rather than faux formality and possibly an awkward experience. The Opposite House Beijing does more than reversing one’s thinking of what a hotel should be, and creates, and very well at that, a hotel that is enjoyable to be in and offers more that just a place to stay but a place to really “chill out”, dine at and enjoy overall.

The Layout

I recently had the pleasure of dining at the Restaurant known at Sureno; while this dining establishment is located on the lower level, half the fun is in getting there, as the lift takes one to a lower lobby known as the “Egg” it’s an interesting, and cozy entrance to the features of the lower level and leads to the front of the restaurant. This has the added bonus of opening onto an outdoor courtyard, and as the dining area features floor to ceiling glass it offers a nice semi-garden view as well. Note the establishment has the benefit of a high yet angled ceiling, this follows the layout pattern of separate squares that also features in the buildings overall architecture, having been designed by the renowned Japanese architect Kengo Kum.

Sureno features warm wood and leather providing an inviting atmosphere of casual sophistication, and very caring and attentive service from the wait staff. I visited over a recent long weekend, as it was a Monday the Hotel had their weekday lunch special on offer. At RMB 138++ for four courses and 158+ for four courses and a glass of house wine, which in the case was a French red or white from Cotes Du Rhone. The Dining tables are well presented and appointed with large bottles of Olive Oil and Balsamic along with proper, in this case Alesi pepper and salt mills.

The Food

Specialising in Mediterranean cuisine, the lunch special offers a Tapa’s style semi buffet as your choice of first course, offering a very good array of tapa’s style food, bread, olives, salmon and salads. To follow was a served Mushroom soup, and clearly a very well prepared one at that, the taste and texture was superb, and it was quite evident that a range of mushrooms was used to provide full flavor. For the main I ordered the grilled Sea Bass, also fresh and fulsome in flavor, accompanied with grilled al dente vegetables and a light drizzling of pesto oil. While the vegetables were a tad salty overall the dish was excellent. For Desert, I opted for “homemade” red berry ice cream over the other choice of a Profiterole. The ice cream was pleasant enough and a nice palate cleanser for the end of the meal.

The Verdict

This was an excellent meal at very good value; the service and quality of food for the price was outstanding. Other nice touches such as linen napkins and frequently re-filled water glasses sets the establishment apart from others in the area.

Bouquets - Quality and value for really good food
Brick bats - Not the easiest place to find for the initiated
Why you will come back - Come back in the evening to enjoy an alternative ambiance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyHKHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Who would have dreamed an Italian Restaurant in Beijing that is Tops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our concierge suggested we dine for a change in food Italian in Beijing, which seemed interesting And wow, the restaurant was sensational. To start with our table was ready when we arrived, though they were very busy. The decor is exceptional and different of what you might expect..The restaurant is in a lower floor of the very trendy new hotel,called The Opposite" It is indeed cool

As we walked to the table we saw a large Pizza and oven for baking as well and the Chef was from Brazil and as we passed I looked at a few dishes she was preparing. Once we had a drink, the Waitress suggested something very new and erecting interesting on their menu. Baked Sea Bass (Bronzino) in a soufflé type baked copper pan, and it was amazing. The chiffon type crush top is opened at your table and then the sea bass put on played. The taste was amazing and the food served at the perfect temperature. Our other starters as well were fine.

Then we asked if the Chef might be able to come and explain how she created this wonderful dish and she came to the table and explained all We can't wait to try and make this at home

We think this was one of the best experiences we have had in Beijing dining.
We highly recommend Sureno at The Opposite

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank homerun183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sureno also viewed

 
Beijing, China
Beijing, China
 

Been to Sureno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing