We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Nearby Hotels
$148
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$235
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$208
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$84
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
$78
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$83
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
308
87
31
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
87
31
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig rocksleeping buddhagrandma's placegreat weekendpatty meltcomfort foodthe main hotelshuttle servicechinese sausageshuttle busyogurtnoodlesbeijing airportschoolhousefireplacelodgespear
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 441 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Brickyard in May of 2014 and really loved it. The accomodations were immediatly struck by the artistic feel of the retreat. The staff was eager to help and they took time to explain the areas and how to get around. They even let us know about the areas that are less touristy. They provided a driver to take us to the areas we wanted to go, and their sister property, The School House had a great restaurant we ate at each night. Did I mention the view? I hear that every room has a view of the Great Wall, and I can say that ours was magnificent. Even though the room felt wide open, we felt very private with a small enclosed sitting area. The only draw back was an open bath floor plan seperating the shower, sink and toilet from the bed room with only a 6 foot brick wall. Bring your bathing suite to relax in the hot tub.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with room selection, all are quiet and have great views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear RovingBel, This is Jim Spear, a partner in the Brickyard. Thank you very much for your review. Just in case your travels bring you back to our corner of the world, we do have twin rooms with completely enclosed bathrooms (which still have Great Wall views, though) for guests who aren't sharing the same bed or who prefer more bathroom privacy. And in case guests forget bathing suits we do have reasonably priced ones for sale on site. It is a real adventure for me and our team to host people from all over the world and feedback like yours gives us a lot of encouragement! Wishing you safe and happy Trip Advisor travels... Jim Spear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

surely environment around is pretty nice…but living in the villa outside not really my cup of tea…wake up at 5am because of chicken and dogs in natural area is ok but because of noise from workers of other building work and public radio big no go better stay away if you like to relax wrong place at all!!walk way main entrance currently not existing not nice … 1 day not more

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Bumsii, I am so sorry that the experience we offer was not, as you put it, your cup of tea. I think you stayed in one of our homes set in the middle of the village. At the top of our FAQ is this statement: "Nearly all of our guests seem to appreciate becoming part of our village even if only as short-term visitors. We are in a very quiet community though dogs do bark, cocks do crow, donkeys do bray, and neighbors do sometimes have a family argument. Sometimes the village public address systems broadcast announcements or news and entertainment. Please be tolerant of the sounds of village life which we have no power or right to control." We try to create a set of expectations so guests who don't want this experience will seek somewhere else better suited to their personal requirements. We trust that prospective guests will put your very harsh review into perspective. Still, I see that you rarely give such bad reviews so please be assured you have my full attention. Again, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us and wish you many more happy travels. With best regards, Jim Spear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Nestled in a rural village within sight of the Great Wall and easy access to some pretty cool and nmoderate hikes and walks in the mountains, The Brickyard is truly worth taking a day or two to enjoy. Most tourists will run out to the Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing for a quick day trip, but it is so worth booking a night or two at The Brikcyard to relax and see the wall in an unhyurried fashion. You won't be disappointed. The rooms are pleasant with a hip decor without being over done. The staff is friendly and full of tips for walks. Shuttle buses take you to the wall and to other dinner spots on demand.

The best way to get there from Beijing is simply a taxi, it was less than US$50 for the hour long ride and if possible see if the taxi will come back out and pick up up when you want to live. The car service offered by the hotel to Beijing is expensive aout twice the taxi costs.

I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: See if you can book a roundtriup taxi ride from Beijing; The Hotel car service is fine but twice the cost of a regylar Taxi.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Chuckm2003, Our team is really happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Brickyard and Mutianyu Great Wall. Your comments about how a longer stay at the Great Wall can make for a wonderful experience will surely be helpful to other guests. You are absolutely right that taxis are the least expensive and a reliable way to get out here and I'm glad you've shared your insights so other guests can make even better informed decisions about transfers. Wishing you many happy adventures, Jim Spear, Partner (P.S. I am also the property designer so it was especially pleasing for me that you described the rooms as "hip" -- thank you!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night in May. It was recommended by our travel agent as something different to luxury hotels and as a convenient way to see the Great Wall. It is situated right below the wall.
The staff were wonderful. Really caring and wanting to please. Our room was different to what we had expected and quite open with lots of light. And spectacular views of the mountains and the Wall. The rooms are not luxurious but certainly adequate. And they are unique. And that's what makes this place.
It was my birthday and we were given a complimentary glass of wine which was nice. We dined at the Schoolhouse and the meal was superb. We met the owner, Jim, with whom we had an interesting conversation. Then the staff bought in a small cake and candle no sang happy birthday! It was wonderful.
I would certainly recommend this hotel as something unique, different and as a friendly welcoming establishment. And as a great place to visit the Great Wall from.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dannyg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Dear Dannyg555, This is Jim Spear responding to your lovely, concrete, and detailed review. We're just delighted that you enjoyed your stay! I really enjoyed chatting with you and wish you many happy adventures as you continue your travels. Kind regards, Jim Spear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Loved our one night stay here, wish it had been longer, as the rain was torrential and we would have loved to have more time to explore the wall. The accommodation and staff were wonderful, made us feel so welcome. The village is beautiful and it is wonderful to stay somewhere that did not seem touristy, where villagers were going about their business. Walks were scenic and beautiful in the area. Breakfast was delicious and we wish we had time to eat dinner there also. (We will highly recommend this place to our friends). The bed and room were so relaxing and it was amazing to be able to see the great wall from the bed.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the great wall would be wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peggyleelupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear peggyleelupton, Our whole team appreciates your wonderful review. Our aim is to deliver a great experience that matches our setting near the Great Wall and feedback like yours gives us a lot of encouragement. I'm sorry the rain was so heavy during part of your stay but I have to tell you, we needed it badly to get spring sprung after a dry winter. Wishing you many more happy adventures in your travels, Jim Spear, Partner (and designer of the Brickyard)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews