We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart's Desire at the Great Wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,409 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent three nights over Christmas at the Heart's Desire farmhouse. It was wonderfully relaxing, warm and very atmospheric. The wood and stone of the farmhouse made for a very pleasing setting. You could see the Great Wall from the farmhouse and it was inconspicuously situated within a functioning village. There are some terrific walks both to the Great Wall itself and surrounding villages. We were looking forward to experiencing a heated kang but were told on arrival that it did not work, however we enjoyed sitting by the fireplace instead. We thoroughly recommend the Schoolhouse/Brickyard experience and will certainly go again ourselves.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 414 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

When our son announced plans to visit us in China for Christmas and asked to visit the Great Wall, the Brickyard looked to be a good location. It exceeded expectations! The rooms are simple, but stylish, warm , clean, have great bathrooms and views directly onto the wall. An evening massage (extra -but worth it) dinner at the sister restaurant The Schoolhouse and a super breakfast followed by a walk on the Great Wall on Christmas Day. Truly memorable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Having now stayed at the Brickyard two times, I can absolutely say it is a little 'gem'. Simply in the buildings exterior and some of the interior there is a refreshing attention to detail, and many things to appreciate. It seems like a magnificent mix of east and west, unique, and made by someone who cares. The service and friendliness is also excellent, so really a little oasis. Can be a bit tricky to find if you drive yourself, and there is no public transport to this location as far as I know. The view to the great wall is splendid. Walking there and back takes some effort, though. The local Chinese restaurant in the village looks a bit stark, but serves excellent food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A excellent adress, with all services expected from a best in class adress near the wall. A natural environment, buildings respectful of Chinese tradition but renovated with talent, tasty green food. The employees are dedicated to help you and provide support to get to the Great Wall and from it, although you can also reach it by foot from the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed in the Sleeping Buddha suite. Was absolutely beautiful with a huge picture window which looked out over the mountains. Everything was high-spec, warm and comfortable and the only thing to complain about is that the menu at the Brickyard (and also the Schoolhouse restaurant) is basically Western with just a couple of stock Chinese items on them. There's no getting away from this as the local cafe is bloody horrible. However, that's a minor quibble.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed a The Brickyard for 3 nights in October and loved it ! It is very quiet and wonderful to be in a rural atmosphere and see the Great Wall at a distance from our room. The food was OK for dinner - not too many choices but Loved the breakfast ! We especially loved the Date Nut bread they served and the fact you could go in the cozy lodge and have Tea,Coffee or Soda and fruit or cookies at anytime ! Made us feel really at home ! Also loved the little fireplace area where you could have a cocktail or read a book !
Our favorite day was using a map they provided to us we walked up a trail from the Schoolhouse to the "Wild Wall" (trail #7 I think ) and experiencing the Wild Wall was fabulous but a bit rough !
Make sure you have good shoes on as one you climb on to the wall from the hilly trail it is a bit overgrown with bushes and trees and a steep drop down ! We walked over to the Toboggan at watchtower #5 I think and came down and walked back to the Schoolhouse. It was great to have the shuttle to and from the schoolhouse to eat and hike etc.
The next day we did the typical tourist part of the wall going up the gondola and down the Toboggan once again !
I would highly recommend staying at the Brickyard to experience the Great Wall !

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the wall !
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank IdahoLady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in the Chairman's Suite for 3 nights and loved the whole experience. The staff were fantastic, particularly Gina and Danna who were both very friendly and helpful. Went for a massage with Jake and he is truly gifted. The resort is beautiful and perfectly positioned.

The Chairman's Suite has 2 wood burning fireplaces which were wonderful considering the cold weather at night. It also has a small kitchenette and a great fresh coffee grinder / brewer in the suite, a mini bar and all the general utensils, cutlery and crockery.

The other reviews pretty much say it all. The only suggestion would be to perhaps have a slightly bigger menu at the Brickyard.

Room Tip: The Chairman's suite is not essential but it does have 2 wood burning fire places :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DEK649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Huairou Scenic Resort
Home of the Great Wall
Home of the Great Wall
#196 of 6,551 in Beijing
27 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,551 in Beijing
1,512 reviews
Commune by the Great Wall
#197 of 6,551 in Beijing
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#5 of 6,551 in Beijing
779 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,551 in Beijing
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,409 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $168 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing