We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Great Wall Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,292 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
“Stunning Great Wall Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had the most amazing experience at the Brickyard. The staff were friendly and nice. Everything was organized and easy. The wedding was simply magical as it was in the shadows of the Great Wall of China. The ceremony and reception were perfect. Our room was amazing. We had a great breakfast and a nice relaxing yoga class to top it all off. My only regret is not staying there longer. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: They all have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahittner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    74
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
111
157
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nl
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Rooms are beautiful, very well equipped, very clean. Services are great, very friendly staff.
Super located in very silent natural area and close to the Great Wall. Shuttle services well organized. We were pleasantly suprised.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland N Z
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved this place!. The setting amongst a working communal village is authentic and there are views of the Great wall.We loved seeing people going about their day to day lives just a few metres away.
A lot of care and though has gone into the design of the buildings which are a blend of updated tradition. The bedrooms are comfortable with great beds and cooly modern. The communal area is cosy and attractive and we really enjoyed our simple meal there after a big day walking. Home made biscuits, tea and coffee and fruit are available free at any time which was a nice touch. The garden area is beautifully landscaped and maintained with flowering trees and garden beds.
We had massages from Jake in a lovely purpose built facility and came out feeling amazing.
Best of all are the staff..excellent English, helpful and informative.
The eco principals that underpin the hotel make for a very satisfying stay.
Staff will organise a driver for you if coming from Beijing and the reverse which is recommended. Ask about the walks through the village which take you over community land.

Room Tip: The far end room has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-53-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Pros:
+ The rooms are finished very well and have fantastic views of The Great Wall, on a clear day.
+ Cafe-style food was delicious, if a touch expensive.
+ Staff were always very friendly and polite.
+ A courtesy car is arranged to take you to the entrance of the Wall. You can then get one back to The Brickyard from The Schoolhouse.

Cons:
- I know they show pictures of the room online but, in reality, having the room's toilet without a door and just a couple of metres behind the bed can take the romance away at certain moments.
- Walls are a little thin. We could hear next doors phone vibrating.
- We got the 916 Express Bus from Beijing to Huairou and caught a taxi to the hotel. We were told by The Brickyard that we shouldn't pay more than ¥50 for a taxi so we didn't. When asking them to book a taxi back to Hairou so we could catch the bus, they said they didn't have local taxis but would offer us a private car for ¥100! After explaining that we didn't want to pay double what they told us was the maximum we should pay for the route they eventually arranged a taxi for ¥60 after a previous offer to put us on the local bus to Huairou which we also declined.

Breakfast: Included and a good array of meat, bread, juice, eggs etc.

Would I recommend to friends?: I would...if they can find a special offer. Rooms would be good value at around the £90-£100. per night mark.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liver_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Gorgeous blue skies, delicious food, relaxing yoga and a wonderful overnight
experience at the Great Wall! We just returned from a 24 hour stay - in the
fresh air of Beijing. Who would have thought:) Cannot say enough......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

First of all, I would like to say that we enjoyed the wonderful scenery around Brickyard.

1. Our room was fine with lovely views over the hills but may lack a bit of Chinese characteristic.
2. One of your English-speaking staff sounded so 'dragged out', bored, and unenthusiastic on the phone when I was trying to make a booking. I had to wait for almost 6 days for him to e-mail me the confirmation print-out after giving him my credit card details without any updates. I had to call him 2-3 times in that week!!
3. Bathroom: lack of privacy since there's no door.
4. We arrived there around 2 pm and was asked to wait for check-in at 3 pm due to 'a guest still occupying our room' according to your Chinese male receptionist. The next day, our room door was knocked twice at 12.10 and not too long after that at 12.20 rushing us to leave/check out.
5. I came to one your restaurants (Xiao Lu Mian) with a quite high expectation and left pretty disappointed. On the plus side, I really liked the traditional design of the restaurant despite of the high price tag. Unfortunately, I think that is where the plus side for me ends.
- Food - very average noodles and I went with my boyfriend and had a chance to try two of their noodles selection. The options were pretty standard. I wasn't particularly impressed by any of them.
- The restaurant staff had a relative come over with a baby and served them a bowl of noodle. We had just finished our meal when we saw one of the restaurant staff ('ayi') holding the baby up and let her pee inside the restaurant's outdoor seating area (which was only about 3-4 metres away from where we were seated).
I'm not sure if i would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gandhi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Gandhi P, Thank you for your frank comments. I have looked into the matters you described in your original email after we solicited your feedback and now repeated in your Trip Advisor review. Our intern from the USA who took your booking call has asked me to apologize to you but he had no idea at all he was coming across as bored. We've never had this kind of complaint about the helpfulness and friendliness of our team before but clearly something didn't go right for you and I'm sorry, too. I am the designer of the hotel and am sorry it was not Chinese enough for your taste and that you didn't appreciate the open bathrooms. We do share the layouts and offer images on our website in order to prevent surprising guests with something they're not expecting. You arrive earlier than our chack-in time of 15:00 and had not been promised an early check-in as the hotel was full. In order to prepare the room so guests can check in at 15:00 we ask guests to leave by 12:00 and when you stayed late without advising us and our team needed to clean the room so the next guests wouldn't have to wait we unfortunately had to disturb you. I am sorry that our popular noodle shop Xiaolumian was not to your taste. I looked into the peeing incident and my staff advises that a villager took her baby outside of the property to pee. We try hard to educate our neighbors to adhere to modern standards of sanitation but in the end what you saw is just one of those things you're apt to see in a village in many places around the world. I surely wish you happier travels in your future. With best regards, Jim Spear and the Brickyard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The perfect location from which to explore the Great Wall. Excellent service and unique accommodation. A must for anyone traveling to Beijing who wants to escape the crowds and enjoy part of China's heritage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Huairou Scenic Resort
Home of the Great Wall
Home of the Great Wall
#161 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#16 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,449 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Commune by the Great Wall
#153 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Property: Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,292 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing