We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views of Mutianyu Great Wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,406 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having been to various sections of the Great Wall we wanted to experience something different so decided to stay close by for the evening. The Mutianyu section of the Great Wall is very nice for photos but personally we prefer some of the less touristy sections of the Wall, however the Brickyard was simply amazing!

From wherever we were in our room we could see the Great Wall through the large seemingly double-height windows. We took a look at the Spa and the jacuzzi, which both looked very tempting but decided to save these for next time. Our room was very nicely appointed, very clean and it felt truly 5 star. Great heating (it was the end of winter) and a fireplace with wood to keep it burning plus a very nice rain shower in the bathroom.

The staff were polite, accommodating and spoke more than enough English. The breakfast and lunch that we had at the Brickyard were very nice, simple food simply well done. We also dined at the sister restaurant, the School House, for lunch on the day we arrived and this was also very good. Being part of the one organisation meant we were transferred by minivan from the School House to the Brickyard by their own driver.

We will be back, and perhaps with a group of friends as it would be a fun place to enjoy some dinner and drinks together while loooking up the mountain to the Great Wall of China.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeijingJolphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 411 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Quality accommodation in quiet village with close proximity to the Great Wall. Sensational views of the wall from the rooms.

Strongly recommend overseas travellers take time to stay out of Beijing in the accommodation provided by the Brickyard instead of the rush from Beijing to walk the Wall and then return to Beijing.

The rooms are good quality, food caters for western palates (but local options also available and very good), the staff are very helpful and the out door spa a great welcome after hiking on the wall or many of the hikes around the village.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallaby_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I cannot say enough about this little jewel. It's worth the drive, people. There is just magic here- in the view, in the FOOD, in the staff. We ate breakfast (included in room rate) at the Lodge in the morning and it was divine. The smoked trout especially really put a smile on my face. Everything here is sourced locally (including that trout.) Each room has glassware in it that's handmade at the local glassworks. It's gorgeous and one of a kind, and I ended up taking mine with me- one of the best purchases I made in China. Tip: Don't fret about which room you're in- they all have stellar views of the wall- and that's why you come here. Also, do know that the rooms don't have televisions, so come with something to read or cards or the like. (There is a cozy communal TV room with DVD's if you're die-hard.) Don't miss going to The Schoolhouse for dinner- the best tofu I've ever had.
Thank you, Jim and crew!

Room Tip: Honestly, it depends on what you want to spend. Even the least expensive are beyond expectation.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for one night at The Brickyard Chairman's Suite in early March 2013. We've had the pleasure of staying in some of the smaller rooms before but this was our first time to staying in the hotel's premier suite. Its an impressively large space with floor to ceiling windows and two generous fireplaces. You enter the suite through a private courtyard and into the dinning room/living room area. The large open space is complemented by a comfortable open kitchenette in the back. Through the living room is the spacious bedroom and open bathroom. The bathroom is a fun, airy rain shower with a large plunge tub behind.

Exposed brick and colorful mosaic tiling harmoniously integrate the room with the surrounding buildings and landscape. From every room in the suite you have sweeping views of the Great Wall while maintaining an exceptional level of privacy.

Our favorite part of the room were the two prepared fireplaces. With one in the living room and one in the bedroom we could enjoy the cozy warmth of the fireplace from anywhere in the suite. At the end of the evening we found ourselves tucked in bed, reading our respective books, while enjoying the warmth and glow of the fire at the foot of our comfy bed.

For activities, we enjoyed games, wine and dinner in front of the fireplace in the main room. We also watched a movie from the excellent film collection in the movie room. The hotel has several intimate activity rooms (movies, games, etc) that are large converted local brick ovens which allowed us the chance to kick back in a unique piece of local history.

After a full day of relaxing and enjoying the great facilities, we decided to use the next day to be a bit more active. The Wall is very close, which allowed us to walk to the base and explore the local shops. We followed this by a scrumptious lunch at The Schoolhouse, another local project run by the same family who manages the The Brickyard.

The Brickyard also has an impressive jacuzzi, spa and gym which we peeked in on while we were there. Unfortunately we discovered this a bit too late into our trip to take advantage of. We are already looking for an excuse to plan our next trip out to we can try these facilities out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syg205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We visited the Brickyard as part of a business trip in China. The experience was excellent. The personnel were friendly & helpful. The meals were great.....and so was the house red wine. The view of the Great Wall was great too. We hiked up to the Great Wall, walked on the Wall and took the tobaggon down......a great experience too. I highly recommend staying at the Brickyard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 377JimK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 22 wedding anniversary with friends at this most amazing place in Beijing. You would never imagine that such a place existed. It is great to know that the owners are so passionate about their environment. The food, ambiance and service was outstanding. The hotels and private homes had decor of China meets the west. What a spectacular combination of architectural designs.
Dreaming to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited here last June for two nights. I really enjoyed my stay here, find it difficult to fault anything about it! We ate dinner here on the first night which was nice. Breakfast in the morning also had a good variety. The restaurant area was great to sit with a glass of wine. The spa facilities seemed really good too. After climbing the Great Wall the following day, the jacuzzi was perfect to relax and soothe your burning legs! We went to the schoolhouse for dinner that evening which had a lovely terrace to have our meal. They provide taxis for you to get around which was very handy. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way for you. The rooms were fantastic, very nice to wake up to the sight of the Great Wall! The town is also nice to have a little wander round and see some of rural Chinese life! Overall, the brickyard was an amazing place to stay and I would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenmck91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,478 reviews
Huairou Scenic Resort
Home of the Great Wall
Home of the Great Wall
#196 of 6,531 in Beijing
27 reviews
Commune by the Great Wall
#193 of 6,531 in Beijing
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
769 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,531 in Beijing
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,406 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $172 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing