We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unable to book because of children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,292 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unable to book because of children”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel has a very akward policy towards children. They seem to insist that even small children sleep in a separate room, so if you don't want your 4-year old to sleep in a room alone with your five-year old, that you and your spouse sleep in separate rooms...Very state-owned Chinese enterprise attitude to "regulations", when I tried to point out that this would not work well.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SophSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimatmutianyu, Owner at Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest, The Brickyard welcomes families with children in the context of reasonable policies on occupancy limits for different categories of rooms. Our queen rooms have only one queen bed and not enough space to add a rollaway bed. My team reports that you were offered a premium twin room with a rollaway which would have been comfortable for your family and consistent with our occupancy guidelines. I'm sorry that you elected not to come and sorry that you felt compelled to write a bad review of our family-owned hotel. I am confident that had you actually stayed with us you would have had a wonderful visit and we welcome you in the future. In any case, wishing you and your family happy and safe travels. Jim Spear, Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    73
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
110
157
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

A very welcoming place. The staff were very welcoming and keen to make your stay a good one. We arrived on the Friday evening and were shown to a well equipped room which, although perhaps a little minimal for some, was very much in keeping with the overall setting and it had a great view of the Great Wall which was running along the ridge of the hill above the village. In the morning the Brickyard arranged for a bus transfer down to the cable car and the driver kindly showed us how to buy the right combination of tickets, making getting up to the wall an easy task. We had a great day walking the wall. The food and service at the lodge was excellent. The Brickyard arranged for us to be picked up from our hotel in Beijing, and also for us to be taken to the airport at the end of our stay. The Brickyard might be viewed as expensive by some, but you get a high quality no stress product in China which is exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is changing the way we think of hotels. We usually stay in main-stream hotels, but this was such a refreshing place that we will start looking for more like it.

Every room has a view of the Great Wall. The service is fantastic, the food is very good. The hot breakfast was included and it was plenty.

In the morning, we took a quiet walk through the village up to the foot of the mountain and it was so peaceful. I will recommend to anyone I know going to the Mutianyu section of the wall to stay the night and make your trip very special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghaisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed a weekend at the Brickyard with children. All family loved the experience.
Beautiful and spacious room with warm decoration, 2 fireplaces , huge windows with view on The Great Wall ! Private garden beautifully arranged.
This place is a beautiful mix of architecture, decoration and landscaping.
The staff is really friendly and helpful
Plenty of activities for adults and children in the surroundings and Brikyard Shoolhouse. We saw craftmen making class work: the children were full of admiration .
It's walking distance to the Great Wall even with children !
We liked this hotel a lot, and will recommend it to our friends!

One recommendation would be to extend the food menu with more options.

Room Tip: The Chairman Suite is beautiful and so spacious with private garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maud N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed in one of the house for the weekend.
The houses are nice enough ... but:

1. A long way -- literally miles -- from the hotel to the houses
2. Dark rooms with insufficient light
3. Worst -- no hot water, and this was in winter
4. Nobody answering the "emergency" phone line at night to help us
5. Restaurant who brought all dishes (starters and mains) at the same time

Really not as good as it should be for the money. Stay at the Kommune instead.

Room Tip: ask for one near the hotel. not miles away
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sax121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

A true peaceful and relaxing place to enjoy an air fresh break, out of crowded Beijiing. Looking at the Great Wall and the stars from your bed is a unique experience you can enjoy here!
I stayed 3 days/nights with my wife and 3 kids in Brickyard end of September. We were in the Charman's suite combining with the Sleeping Buddha room. Both are nicely decorated and very clean. The Charman's suite is very spacious, equipped with a fridge and microwave, convenient for the early morning baby bottle... Free WiFi access is provided. Tea, coffee and cookies available along the day is very welcome. Staff is always kind, helpful and smiling. Gardens are very nice too, although it lacks a larger space for playing with kids (football, badminton, ...) The surroundings are pleasant but walks are not well marked. Maybe the hotel could improve this by providing a more detailed and specific plan (useful for non chinese speaking person...). Access to the Great Wall is quick (about 15 minutes by shuttle kindly provided by the hotel; note to book it in advance). For food, we tried Bryckyard as well as School House a few kilometers away. The menu choice is limited but the food very good. I recommend the nachos at Bryckyard. Outstanding! And note it is best to book in advance if you want a table on the terrace at School House. Finally, a must go around Beijing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed on aThe Brickyard after the Slow Food Saturday festivities, and thought it was fabulous. I enjoyed my stay immensely. I stayed in a superior room, and the view of the Great Wall was amazing. The hot water ran out after about 10 minutes, but when I brought it up with the staff they were extremely prompt in getting someone to look at it, and it turned out I was the problem and it was fine the rest of my stay. The service was excellent, but I do wish they'd have a schedule for trips to the Great Wall (a shuttle was supposed to be included, but when I asked, I got several different answers about times depending on who I spoke to, and so passed on going to Mutianyu Great Wall because it seemed like a hassle to organise and I had to be back to return to Beijing.)

The nachos are fabulous, same with the spinach and mushroom dip with toast! I wish there were more vegetarian salad options on the menu, but what I did sample was great. The coffee and cookies (available all the time) is a perk, too. I think the return trip driver is an excellent inclusion as well, as I don't drive. The iPhone dock was also a nice inclusion, as well as free wireless.

I also highly recommend the yoga - perfect way to start a Sunday morning, and I'm not a regular. The instructor, Linda, was the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Huairou Scenic Resort
Home of the Great Wall
Home of the Great Wall
#170 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Commune by the Great Wall
#154 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Property: Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,292 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing