We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel and a great way to see the Great Wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Ranked #1 of 1,292 Beijing B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and a great way to see the Great Wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were recommended this hotel by a friend for our trip to see the Great Wall of China - so pleased we decided to stay. We were in the Chairman Suite (the only room they had free on the date when we booked) for one night. The whole hotel is lovely - really nicely decorated big rooms (quite indulgent in fact - admittedly we were in the Chairman Suite but the other rooms looked on par), lovely staff, well run - and has a fantastic 'feel' about it. The 'eco' elements are evident but certainly do not get in the way of this being a remarkably high standard hotel. We ate in their nearby 'Schoolyard' sister hotel (they can arrange free transfers between them) which was also very good food. Location wise they arranged a transfer for us from Beijing airport and then back to Beijing city the following afternoon- very efficient and they are very responsive and helpful over email. Whilst you are there they can arrange for free shuttles to the Wall (around 5-10min drive) or you can walk if you choose.

Highly recommended. Stay here if you plan on visiting the Great Wall, or just for a relaxing/romantic break. Ambiance, rooms, views, staff, food, amenities etc are all top drawer and will exceed expectations. We will definitely be returning if we have a spare day next time we're around Beijing!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely, the Chairman Suite is ridiculously indulgent....in a good way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimbaDawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    73
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
110
157
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Longtime Beijing expat residents, we enjoyed our first-ever overnight at the Brickyard on August 25-26, staying in the Chairman's Suite and Sleeping Buddha rooms (connected by a courtyard). We reveled in the understatedly luxurious surroundings that emphasized integration with the natural environment. My windows framed a chestnut orchard with the nuts almost ready to drop, and the mountain skyline with Great Wall crenellations was JUST visible through the clouds.

We sampled all of the Schoolhouse's menu options, enjoying a great and ample breakfast at the Lodge (the superb date bread worth a special note), lunch at the Xiaoluomen noodle house (noodles and dumplings, all freshly made with local vegetables and oils as garnishes), and the Canteen at the Schoolhouse for a lovely courtyard dinner. Did not expect to get a truly great hamburger there but it outdid my expectations. The walnut-studded brownie was worth the calories too. Prices on the menu are high for China, but in my view correctly reflective of both the quality and freshness of the ingredients - not to be taken for granted in this country - as well as the efforts of the partners to continually reinvest in developing the villages in the area. I was happy at the value for money equation and to support these good efforts.

Being veterans of Chinese efforts at Western service we were pleasantly surprised by the level of English of the staff, comprised of local villagers who do not enjoy the quality of schools that urban Chinese do. Their proactive service attitude of helpfulness, without intrusiveness, shows the impact of intensive training with attention to detail.

I have recommended many visitors and corporate groups to the Schoolhouse and Brickyard and none have been disappointed. I was very glad to finally experience its charms for myself and the overall impression exceeded my high expectations. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
302 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel and although we stayed at one of the rental houses, we saw the hotel and its rooms and both are very nice. Everything is very well appointed and clean, and I must say it is divine to have real air conditioning in this country. The staff is wonderful and the food is great in the restaurant.

One are for improvement: when we arrived we were taken in the hotel bus to our house, and deposited on the street, at least 300 feet downhill from the house. The road up to the house was narrow but absolutely navigable, but the driver refused to take us up the hill. This is absolutely unacceptable in a $350 per night establishment (and that was after a Sunday discount). We hired a driver to take us to the airport the next day, and he had no trouble going up the hill in the same size van. The hotel representative, who accompanied us with the van driver the first day, was embarrassed and agreed with our frustration, but she wouldn't say anything to the driver, perhaps because he is more senior than she was? Who knows but it was ridiculous for my family to have to drag six enormous suitcases up a very very steep cobblestone road. I hope to hear the hotel promise not to let this happen again, because I would recommend no one to stay here if they have heavy baggage if they stay in one of the houses.

But let me end on a good note. This is a gorgeous place and an incredibly oasis of peace and serenity not far from Beijing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcmjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great facilities and attention to detail. The staff was very friendly, courteous and speaks good English. The food was delicious and the atmoshere made for an “oasis” feel in the middle of China. (I particularly liked the nachos. They were better than most Mexican restaurants in the US.) We will definitely come back and spend some more time here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Great Wall. Our room had big windows, comfortable patio and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtoups89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have stayed at Grandma's Place as well as this time, staying at the Brickyard and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet setting of Jim Spear's eco design. The staff are bilingual, nonintrusive and polite. I had gone to the spa this time and the massage was excellent.

What I like the most about coming out here is that the retreat makes itself a part of the surrounding village and its holistic approach to being a part of the local community. There's a Slow Food Saturday every year, which people can find out more about on their website and is worth checking out, if you're interested in the local food, neighborhood and people around this part of the Great Wall.

There are no swimming pools on the premises, not yet anyway.

Room Tip: Most rooms are for 2 people only, with a Queen size bed. If you have a child, a cot can be provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yumbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Spend a weekend at the Brickyard to escape Beijing to relax. The retreat is a little peaceful oasis and well maintained property with attention to detail wherever you look at. The rooms are great, too and quite minimalistic compared to "normal" hotel rooms. No TVs in the room gives you more time to look out of the big windows and enjoy the view to the mountains and the great wall. Bring your ipod as there is radios with docks. I also liked the private outdoor patio which came with the deluxe room. The food menu is short but has some tasty more western-oriented choices. For more extensive dining you can go to the nearby "Schoolhouse". I will be back!

Room Tip: Book the deluxe room - great view!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank mildenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent two nights at this lovely little retreat in late May. The room was beautiful - open design with a quiet, private patio. The staff was courteous and helpful. All spoke English well, and we were given good recommendations for dining and hiking. We spent most of one day hiking up a back trail to the Wall, hiking along the Wall, ending with the toboggan ride back down. The staff also arranged transportation for us both from the airport and back to Beijing. I highly recommend the Brickyard for a quiet break from Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsiemn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Huairou Scenic Resort
Home of the Great Wall
Home of the Great Wall
#168 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,450 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Commune by the Great Wall
#153 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall

Property: Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall
Address: Yingbeigou Village, Beijing 101405, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,292 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brickyard is a lush and private eco-retreat that incorporates the kilns and other buildings of a traditional glazed tile factory in a design which is "green" from the ground up. The 16 queen rooms all have private terraces and story-and-a-half window walls with spectacular views of the Great Wall. Wireless internet but no TVs. Complimentary breakfast buffet and coffee, soft drinks, and homemade cookies all day the Lodge, where casual meals and bar service are also offered. The Activity Center is fully-equipped for conferences. The Brickyard Spa is set in our four-season garden with lotus pond and yoga platform. Enjoy complimentary use of the Exercise Room and the Outdoor Jacuzzi (available May). Try a Chinese massage or relax in the Spa's Gold Suite with Great Wall view sauna, private bath, treatment room, and courtyard with outdoor shower and cold plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brickyard Retreat at Mutianyu Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brickyard Eco Retreat At Mutianyu Great Wall Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing