We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definite Thumbs Up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mosto

Mosto
Ranked #87 of 12,625 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Seattle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Definite Thumbs Up!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We went there for dinner for a special occasion. Everyone enjoyed the experience and the food. Food tasted fresh. Staff was helpful. Decor is nice. Acoustic is also good enough to hold a conversation at the table. Desserts and wine selection were good as well. This is a must try. We've been many times over the years and it hasn't disappointed yet.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BJ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place is a relatively recent addition to the Beijing dining scene (2008) but certainly upped everyone's game. I know for ages diners would complain of overpriced and average European style food in Beijing but when Mosto opened they broke the mold. The best value for money set lunch in Beijing by far - you will spend the same amount of money in other places as here. Dinner is incredible and certainly a place to enjoy yourselves with friends. They have an excellent selection of wines and an active open kitchen. Wish the patio was bigger for those warm autumn nights in Beijing but otherwise this is Beijing's only affordable world-class restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank larryp94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice menu, good cooking and reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Mosto is definitely a safe bet for international cooking at a reasonable price. Simple menu, well executed. I like this place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristopheBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I had an early Saturday evening dinner here with friends and their ten year old. The menu had a wide selection of choices, and there was a special set menu which we ordered off of. The food was excellent, and we were charged Happy Hour prices on wine and drinks before 7:00, with the waitress asking at nearly the exact hour if we would like one more drink. The service was fantastic and the waiters were very friendly. This restaurant is located in the Nali Patio in the Sanlitun area and has inside and outside tables.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“too snobish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have been there last week cause I got it recommended. First bad experience was: we did not find it and called from very near place (Montblanc Shop) to give us direction. The girl on the phone was not able (or willing). After asking other people we (couple) finally got there. The guy at the entrance wanted to be funny: after we arrive and I mentioned that mosto is hard to find, he only said "but we are famous" ! We ordered 2 cocktails as starter (lemon sorbet with champagne) then salad then steak. we were waiting and waiting for the cocktails, finished our bread and then everything came at once. My remarks, that I would like to have my cocktails upfront (as aperitif) and in peace and then eat the dishes was not understood. The let´s say "first waitress" was obviously completely annoyed about "so complicated guests". Finally we got it the way we want. There was no sorbet in the cocktail, the salad was almost "dead" and fully boring with the typical ready made balsamico cream sprayed all over.
Close to fastfood. Steak (Tenderloin) was ma ma hu hu, cut from filet head, not from the middle. Mashed potatoes should get along with leek, I did not see anything. There was no apologize for this strange treatment. No question if we would like to have more bread. The regular waitresses where totally clumsy. they do not speak english and do not seem to be trained as waitress at all. In total I was completely disappointed, looks like they are spoiled by too many expats with big pockets who are eating on company expenses. A week ago I have been in Temple Restaurant and even prices are almost similar there is lightyears of difference.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulStinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosto also viewed

 
Beijing, China
 

Been to Mosto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing