We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My third time there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tianchu Miaoxiang Vegetarian

Tianchu Miaoxiang Vegetarian
Ranked #465 of 12,567 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Description: As a 7 years old and popular vegetarian restaurant in town, we are distinguished by our FREE Open Kitchen policy (customer is encouraged to visit our clean kitchen & inventory) and FREE vegetarian cooking training salon.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“My third time there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great little place, though it's hard to find as it's on the second floor of a half-empty office-building/shopping mall. This was my third time there. It's been consistently clean, with great service and wonderful food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdinaLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't knock it..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Its on the 2nd Floor! So like most things for non manderine speaker hard to find! A lot of faux meats, but done quite well and not too expensive... Worth a visit for sure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suraj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good vegetarian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Our favorite vegetarian restaurant in Beijing. The menu selection is very wide and the food is tasty. The good thing is its without MSG and the place does not permit smoking. Price is very reasonable and you get to cumulate reward points to if you finish your food each time, as they do not encourage food wastage. A relaxing place with the cozy atmosphere and healthy eating.

Helpful?
Thank SPAFAN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Vegetarian restaurant near Tsinghua University”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Despite difficulty finding the restaurant (literally next to the Google building) and a wait to be seated, I'd still give this place an excellent rating. While waiting, they offer tea, fresh fruit, ginko beans, and more. They've got a varied menu including faux meat as well as loads of mushroom dishes, tofu dishes, and even offer different rice preparations. Plus, there were very good tea options. My 2 year old son who, can be picky at times, not only drank the tea but ate the woodear mushrooms - he'd never done that before. Overall, excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank islandstylenumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modi'in
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious food, and extraordinary service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was in Beijing for five days, and ate at this restaurant four times. The fact that it was next door to my hotel was certainly a plus, but the excellent food and overwhelmingly warm and helpful service were the real reasons I returned. There were many interesting items on the menu, and I tried several of them each meal, always with a great deal of pleasure and satisfaction.

Note that the restaurant can be very crowded at lunchtime and at night. You might well need to wait a while to get a table.

To avoid the line, I decided to order take out on one occasion. It still took quite a while to prepare my meal, because the restaurant was so busy. But the staff were amazingly nice to me, pouring me cup after cup of tea, and bringing me plates of watermelon to snack on until my food was ready.

I don't know what it was called, but there was a smoky plum tea with citrus fruits that was out of this world.

The staff doesn't speak much English, but the menu has beautiful pictures and descriptions (usually) in English. Between that, the tiny bit of Mandarin that I learned before my trip, and good will all around, I ate very well and had a great experience.

Maybe it's just me, but it took a while for me to find the restaurant. It's often described as being next door to Beijing's Google headquarters, and that's true -- but it's on the ground floor of an office tower, and can be a bit hard to see if you don't know to look for it.

I look forward to returning to Beijing, and to eating once again at Tianchu Mioxiang.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReuvenLerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tianchu Miaoxiang Vegetarian also viewed

 

Been to Tianchu Miaoxiang Vegetarian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing